We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just your everyday B & B”
Review of Casa Roca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Roca Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Mambajao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taguig City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“More than just your everyday B & B”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

First off, I'd like to confirm all the positive reviews here about the Casa Roca. There really is no need to announce this place to the world as the personal satisfaction of those who've been there would already tell you how amazing this establishment is. I could very well say that this is the cheapest piece of haven that you can find anywhere in the country. It doesn't strike a loud appeal to your eyes when you are outside its gates, but don't let that fool you. Inside is a place that just invites you to sit back and wait for the sunset while leaving all the stress behind. Reading from the previous posts I may sound like a broken record, but this place is just absolutely perfect in every way you see it.

If there is any criteria that stands out among the superlatives that I can give to this humble paradise, it is the food. We had a seafood pasta and beef croquet on our dinner for our first night there, I never thought such tiny and simple kitchen could produce that kind of flavor. Everything is fresh and is cooked right in front of you, and the smell fills up the whole area while you wait for your treat. The breakfast was unbelievable considering its just part of our accomodation. For 1000, you get a clean cozy room + 2 king sized breakfast, and yeah, there is bacon in it, now top that!

The view is also spectacular. You can go as far below the lobby as that mini shed they put right on top of the huge rocks by the sea, which was perfect to cool down and relax while witnessing the sunset.

On the alcohol side of things, the place is not bad either. Jim is the part owner together with his wife Eve, and he mans the bar. The guy's just cool and the type that can't run out of topic to talk about. This I think is the biggest thing this mini hotel should be bragging about, their very sincere and friendly attention they give to their guests. When you go there, there is no way you'd feel left out, or bored, miss something or not have a great time. You'd really feel at home, it's not like a hotel where there is strict check in/out, tight security, and all that. Everything is just relaxed and laid back.

I highly recommend this place. If not for the comfortable stay, try to not miss their big breakfast, or the amazingly cheap but perfect dinner, or the jug of mango margarita! Will definitely go back here when we have a part 2 of our Camiguin trip.

@Jim, sorry for the keys. Not that I blame you but you might want to put a bigger keysign/chain on those for people like me. Some chunk of wood or something like that. Lol

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19Nikolas89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
65
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CDO
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed two nights at Casa Roca. We we lucky enough to have booked the Veranda Room (1500 PhP/night) which was just majestic. It had an L-shaped balcony which provided a 180 degree view of the ocean.

Casa Roca is the perfect to just unwind and get away from it all. The Veranda Room is best for catching up with a friend or for intimate conversations with a loved one since there's no TV in the room. At night you will sleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks below. There's no a/c in the room but that not a let down since the ocean breeze will cool you off the whole day through.

The place is also just near the major sights in the island. Would you believed we just walked to the Sunken Cemetery? It's a long walk of a little over 4km but, come on, might as well stretch your legs while you're at it.

The only downside I can think of is that right below our room is our kitchen and one just couldn't resist the mouth watering scents that come out from it. But hey, this is a get away so might as well leave your diet behind too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We remember!!!! Yes, we remember the day you guys walked to the Old Volcano and we were so impressed! You guys are amazing!
Thank you so much for staying with us and enjoying our little island and also our little Inn. We can only hope you will join us again and wish you well in the future.
Thank you for the amazing review and happy travels,
Jim and Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Well, the cat is definitely out of the bag, better late than never and all that.

Confession. We did it. We thought if we said nothing about our beloved Casa

Roca, impossibly great Jim and Evelyn, we would somehow have the beautiful

house, impossibly beautiful view, splendid walk through the adjacent forest,

the gardens, the arbors, the best food on Caminguin and possibly in the Philippines,

all to ourselves, all would be secret, all would be ours, beautiful Evelyn cooking away, her

happy yet somehow wisely touched laughter, Jim's effervescent good cheer

and ever present readiness to engage in wonderful chatting about everything

under the sun, but sadly for us, gladly for Jim, Evelyn and Casa Roca,

the world is onto them.

In a word, there is no other place on Caminguin. Jim and Evelyn and Casa

Roca are the be all and end all of that isle. If we ever went back to Caminguin,

it would only be to stay at Casa Roca, and we probably would not move from there.

All is so very comfortable in a gentle way, clean, completely clean, yet in way

interfering, quiet, yet often with much laughter. We have a parting image of Jim

and Evelyn as we walk down the road. They have been to town for food supplies

so that Evelyn can weave her magic. They come round a bend, Jim driving his

beloved Yamaha and Evelyn behind. He calls out a cheering greeting, that great big

grin of his, and Evelyn leans back as they pass, her long, lithe figure stretched as she

she raises her arm in a weaving embrace.

If you ever find yourself going to Caminguin, save yourself a lot of trouble. Sleep here. Eat here.

You will love it.

Room Tip: They are all fine, but the large double is of course quite grand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It was amazing and truly gets to the heart of what we are doing in such a beautiful way!
You guys were amazing guests and we can't thank you enough for staying with us. As you know it can be difficult at times to try to connect with our guests, but we certainly connected with you and we can only hope you will visit again.
Cheers and safe travels,
Jim and Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Having just returned from the beautiful island of Camiguin I had to share with you all my experience at Casa Roca. The rooms are lovely, simple but with gorgeous views of the sea. The food was awesome, Evelyn makes chicken with herbs and mango that is absolutely delicious. The staff were extremely helpful, kind and attentive to all of our needs. The island itself is fantastic, trips to the hot springs, and nearby waterfalls were fantastic. Having this wonderful inn to come back to after a great day in the sun was just perfect. Can't wait to re-visit!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Robert, thank you so much for staying with us and also for the wonderful review.
Evelyn sends her regards and wants you to know we put coat hooks in the rooms! (A bonus) Of course she is still working her magic in the kitchen and we have also added some new staff to increase the service side of things. Slowly Slowly.
We look forward to your next visit and again thank you for the great review...it motivates us to keep going and do better.
Cheers and safe travels,
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mambajao, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We are a couple from Italy and we lived in Camiguin throughout 2012. We went many times at Casa Roca, eating, drinking and laughing with Evelyne and JIm. What can we say about this paradise?! Well… if you are looking for exellent food, relax, fun, great music, nature, wonderful view on the sea, meet people from all around the world, clean and comfortable room to sleep, quiet atmosphere and....positive vibrations.....so this is the right place to go. We miss the island for many things and Casa Roca is one of these.
The place by itself is so amazing, just on the sea (don' t loose the sunset from there) and surrounded by nature, but what makes the difference is the hosts!!! Jim and Evelyne, with their infectious laugh, are the right people to run this place. Evelyne cooks just in front of you, so you can watch her making delicious dishes in a beautiful and very clean kitchen. She loves to cook and makes it with passion, so food is excellent!!
Don' t miss Casa Roca if you are in Camiguin, you must go there!!!
Marta and Matteo

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Marta, Teo!!!!! Thank you so much for your review and trust me when I say you are surly missed on the Island. Thank you so much for the Pasta lessons which Evelyn has put to use many times and the customers enjoy the super fresh pasta. Especially the Ravioli!!!!
We hope you will return someday and in the mean time we also hope that someday we can join you in Italy.
Cheers and thanks so much
Jim and Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were due to stay at Casa Roca for 2 nights but because the ferry from Bohol was cancelled we couldn't make it. We did finally get to Camiguin 2 days later so we thought we would drop in for some food, and boy are we glad we did!

The Inn is in a lovely little spot overlooking the sea near the old volcano and although it was dark when we arrived we could tell it was a beautiful place. There are lots of seats outside to choose and we had a lovely romantic spot near the sea that was a little bit away from the rest of the restaurant. We shared a jug of mango margarita and my quesadillas were absolutely delicious.

Evelyn and Jim were great hosts and couldn't have been more hospitable. They provide very good value for food as well as rooms and I hope they keep going as they have a lovely place.

You must visit even if only to see the amazing toilet!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hey!!!!! Thank you so much for the wonderful review guys. You guys are amazing and yes...it was too bad the weather went bad. In fact after you left the seas turned ugly again and some other guests also couldn't make it. But we are so glad you did find us and that you enjoyed your time with us at the Inn and also Camiguin. It's really a great little island and we love it so much.

We continue to have nights of spontaneous music and I have added a third guitar to the "stable" for guests to enjoy!

Evelyn sends her regards and we both hope that you can return and visit us again.

Cheers,
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Best inn! We always do extensive preperations/research on where we will be staying, ambience, food, people and services offered are a big point for us, and casa roca is on top of it! A great place, wonderful food, friendly people and a very very great view of the ocean! And the place is great!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Algene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Jenny, thank you so much for the wonderful review. You didn't miss a thing and thank you for that. I remember you were going to be continuing your travels and Evelyn and I only hope you are enjoying your journey and hopefully found other places similar to Casa Roca for you to enjoy and relax.
We are so grateful for meeting you and also that you enjoyed what we are doing here and can only hope to see you again.
Cheers and safe travels,
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mambajao
4.4 mi away
Camiguin Highland Resort
Camiguin Highland Resort
#7 of 10 in Camiguin
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort
2.1 mi away
Balai sa Baibai
Balai sa Baibai
#1 of 9 in Mambajao
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SomeWhere Else Boutique Resort
1.4 mi away
Paras Beach Resort
Paras Beach Resort
#6 of 9 in Mambajao
169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Camiguin Island Golden Sunset Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Roca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Roca Inn

Property: Casa Roca Inn
Address: National Highway | Naasag, Mambajao, Mindanao 9100, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Camiguin > Mambajao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mambajao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Roca Inn is a wonderful and unique "full service" Inn located on beautiful Camiguin Island, Philippines. We offer cost conscious travelers a fantastic and affordable alternative to the typical resorts. Our renowned restaurant offers our famous breakfasts, "market fresh" meals, daily "specials" menu for lunch and dinner and a full service bar for the best Island beverages. Relax in our very own natural cold spring pool overlooking the sea, or enjoy a relaxing massage in our spa. We offer Airport & Port transfers Motor bike rentals (at the real rates), Island tours and of course our renowned excellent service. Casa Roca Inn..."Escape from Ordinary"!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Casa Roca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Roca Inn Camiguin/Mambajao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing