We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their Economy Room is terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Paraiso Resort & Apartelle
Ranked #13 of 24 Mambajao B&B and Inns
Cagayan de Oro, Misamis Oriental Province, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Their Economy Room is terrible!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I knew that their economy rooms does not have bathrooms, only a common bathroom. I was not aware that the common bathroom was basically the pool side shower and toilet which is 20 meters away from the room. I think the economy rooms were part of the original staff house that they made into rooms. I would not complain if the poolside shower and toilets were clean and descent but it was not! The toilet was clogged and the showers did not even had locks or hangers. I had to brush my teeth in the shower. If you go to the bathroom and it rains, you will get wet!

SERVICE - I had no complaints. The staff were helpful, no doubt about it.

VALUE - Rooms already includes breakfast for two (food was fine), free use of WiFi in the restaurant or reception area and the use of the pool. They have a power generator but it could not power up the air conditioners. Ample parking space if you brought your own car.

SLEEP QUALITY - The bed was fine. Thought the bed sheets were like thin.

CLEANLINESS - Generally clean except for the poolside shower and toilet. They have to renovate it. The headroom is too low. Was it built for hobbits?

LOCATION - Good if you want to be near the town center of Mambajao but it can be challenging to get there especially at night. It is like the last major building in the area. After that, it is pitch dark at night. If you take a motorela (a motorcycle pedicab), you have to pay extra because it is not part of their route. It is easy to locate the hotel by just remembering Rizal Street. If you are not used to walking, this is not the place for you unless you have a hired vehicle. The hotel is located along the sloping side of Mambajao.

ROOMS - Again do not get their economy room!

Would I go back again to Villa Paraiso? Probably but would not get their economy room anymore.

Room Tip: DO NOT GET THEIR ECONOMY ROOM! It is not worth saving 300 Pesos and be inconvenienced by the lack o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VisitCDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
7
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Very nice place to stay if you plan to visit Camiguin island. Great deal we got for the tour package: overnight stay which includes welcome drinks and 3 plated meals (lunch/dinner/breakfast), tour of the attractions (White island, Sunken cemetery, church ruins, waterfalls, hot & cold springs, etc.), and round trip transfers. By the way, the resort is also near to most of the attractions. The clean room has a queen-sized and a single bed (good for 3 persons), air-conditioning, cable flat-screen tv, hot & cold shower, cabinet and a balcony with chairs and table. The resort's amenities include a pool, tennis court, restaurant, bar, and souvenir shop. I think the resort can also be reserved for conferences and weddings. Though the place is kind of far from the town proper, you can still enjoy drinks and videoke at the sports bar if you want to experience some "night life". Food was really good and the staff are friendly and accomodating. I definitely recommend this place and I will surely come back here in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank XtinaNovember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I heard good stuff about Villa Paraiso from my friend and I am really happy that I stayed there. I was a little worried at first because it was my first trip to Philippines but everything turned out excellent. Prices weren't high, the staff was helpful and very nice. In lot of resorts there is problem with Internet but here Internet connection was fast and there was a wifi signal everywhere in the resort. Another big advantage is food which was delicious. There was also a tennis court and the pool so if you like sports you won't get bored. I sincerely recommend this resort and I'll tell about it all my friend who would like to go to Philippines.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Radek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Villa Paraiso-the best place to go and enjoy vacation!!!The food was delicious,the staffs were very friendly,rooms nice and clean.For sure i be back the next year with my firiends and family :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Villa Paraiso Resort is a great place to stay and great prices. The staff are friendly and so accommodating! The place has an olympic size pool, tennis court, tiki bar, and WIFI. The resort was close to all the main attraction that Camiguin has to offer... the cold and hot springs, the waterfall, White Island!

Did I mention the food? The food is absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

On my 3rd visit to Camiguin my wife and i stayed in this lovely resort for 11 nights. From day one we knew there would be no regrets. The place is very inviting; basic clean rooms, nice restaurant with very tasty dishes, lovely swimming pool and a tennis-court which we used regulary. we were lucky to meet the owners who stayed there during our holiday, and the staff is very friendly and accomodating and helpful, always with a smile.
The room rates are very reasonable and affordable, unlike some more exlusive resorts i visited during my stay, where there's nothing more than a swimming pool...
Dishes are basic, but well prepared and tasty.
The place is perfectly located to explore the island which with did on several occasions, hot springs, cold springs, white island, mantigue island, white beach with the giant clams...
For sure, if i visit Camiguin a 4th time, this will be the place to stay.
Also thanks to Aiza, whom we've known from another resort in the past. A woman with the everlasting smile, helpful, discrete, a pearl in Paraiso. And also the other staffmembers and owners deserve a positive note for their positive attitude !
Bee & Nell (Belgium) May 17-27/2012

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Place is okay. There were 18 of us (14 adults & 4 kids) and we stayed in 2 of their family suite rooms, and 2 of their deluxe rooms. The aircon in our room made a dripping sound that would have made sleeping difficult had I not been dead tired after swimming in ardent spring.

What made the place great is that cooking and eating utensils were provided inside the family rooms and we were able to cook and eat inside one of the rooms. This resulted to big savings for us. Plus, the kitchen agreed to cook some of the fish and squid we bought from the market (which by the way is only a 3 to 5-minute drive from the apartelle), for a minimal fee of P50 per kilo! The meals they prepared for us were really tasty. They even prepared food that I ordered that was not in their menu.

Housekeeping was also fast. They responded to my various requests within 2 minutes of my call.

The apartelle was near camiguin's famous tourist spots like the ardent spring, katibawasan falls, white island, etc. But then again, maybe Camiguin is just so small and traffic is non-existent that's why we were able to reach various places in no time..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank christami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mambajao
0.7 mi away
Camiguin Highland Resort
Camiguin Highland Resort
#7 of 10 in Camiguin
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Cabua-An Beach Resort
#9 of 9 in Mambajao
9 reviews
3.2 mi away
Caves Dive Resort
Caves Dive Resort
#7 of 9 in Mambajao
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Camiguin Island Golden Sunset Beach Club
3.7 mi away
Pabua's Cottages
Pabua's Cottages
#9 of 24 in Mambajao
38 reviews
5.0 mi away
Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Paraiso Resort & Apartelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paraiso Resort & Apartelle

Property: Villa Paraiso Resort & Apartelle
Address: J.P. Rizal St., Mambajao, Mindanao 9100, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Camiguin > Mambajao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mambajao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just as sleek and sophisticated at its locality of the capital town, MAMBAJAO, CAMIGUIN ISLAND. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Villa Paraiso Resort & Apartelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paraiso Resort & Apartelle Camiguin/Mambajao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing