We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view of white island”
Review of Caves Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caves Dive Resort
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mambajao
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best view of white island”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The resort can arrange for the outrigger boats to and from white island. You may go there early in the morning to catch the sunrise. The resort has plenty of space and lounge chairs by the beach. Rooms were clean. Staff can also arrange for transportation to see the rest of camiguin island (motorcycle rental, van rental). We rented a motorcycle and it was delivered to us the moment we got off the ferry from Bohol. I had a good stay at this resort and will definitely be back for diving!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
7
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
QC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here back in January 2012. I found the staff extremely nice and accommodating. The place allows you to rent vehicles that you can use to go around the island; small vans and motorbikes. The food isn't the best but overall it was okay. The best part probably of staying there is that it's so close to the infamous Camiguin sand bar, White Island. The resort will take you there, the trip is just about 10 mins.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie_Borromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Caves is a great place if you go there for R/R or the scuba diving but if you bring your spear gun don't plan on using it as there is a policy against spear guns. The room we stayed in was loaded with ants and mosquito's. The first night we got bitten by ants in the bed and the crafty mosquito's found the hole in the mosquito net. The next night was better due to the ant killer we bought from the local store. The restaurant is nice with friendly staff but the food is expensive, 250 pesos for a American or Filipino breakfast. I have to say the first night was the worst I have had in any hotel due to the ants and mosquito's but the rest of the resort was fair to very good.

Room Tip: Bring mosquito repellent and insecticide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skychasen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Caves Dive Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Hi, we have been very concerned with your problems with ants and mosquitos. We checked the mosquito nets and we did not find any holes at all. So, probably, it was not tucked in properly, the most probable reason why mosquitos did managed to get inside.We sincerely apologize for this. As with ants, we do not have this in the room unless guests brings in food items especially the ones that are not sealed. Like in your case, our housekeeping did find your barbeque loaded with ants. But for now, we are addressing this problem and we are encouraging our guests to eat at the restaurant and we discourage bringing in food items inside the room as to avoid attracting ants. Thank you so much for staying at Caves and we hope you'd consider us in your next visit.

Best regards,

Mae Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mambajao hotels

Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

In 2004 we arrived here for the first time. Last year we checked back in . The place had not changed. Except the shoreline came closer due to the storms. We like the place very much.You can have your own bungalow. Eat in the restaurent in the main building up the stairs.
From here you can go to white island but also to Bohol can be organised.
Next time we go back we shurely will return. It is like a paradie within the paradise island.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejrobberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCR
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I always stayed in caves resort everytime i go to camiguin, they have a friendly and helpful staff the resort is clean, the rooms are neat but the downside is the bathrooms because it's quite old and needs some renovation i guess and not much water coming out from the shower. If you need some time in peace and be in a quiet place to relax and sleep, i would recommend this resort. They have a restaurant serving good food but a bit pricey. What's also nice in this place is that they have an easy access if you want to go to white island.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docmarika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here a couple of days ago with my friend. Just an overnight stay since we need to go back to Cagayan De Oro the next day.

The Good.

1. Reasonable Prices
2. Friendly Staffs
3. Delicious Food (although a bit pricey)
4. Has their Own boat for Diving and White Island Tour
5. Clean Rooms, Native Feel
6. Accepts Credit Cards (VISA/MASTERCARD/AMEX)
7. Hot and Cold Shower
8. Resort Staff are good in English, Tagalog, and Cebuano
9. Wifi is available
10. They have tours and dive services
11. Great for Backpackers
12. Spacious Rooms

Not So good...

1. Low Water pressure in the shower
2. Toiletries. Only Soap was provided, nothing else
3. The towels were not that absorbent
4. Long Waiting time for the food to be served
5. Beach. Not white sand and very deep
6. Limited Electricity outlets for charging.
7. No Pool

Overall, Clean, Simple, Comfortable. Just don't expect luxury and tons of Amenities.

Dencio

Room Tip: The fan rooms/cottage are ok during the night... but during high noon, you'll wish you got the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dencio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camiguin, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Caves Dive Resort is one place I know very well since moving to CAMIGUIN. They have a nice and attentive staff. Mae Ann who runs the place is a sweet hardworking filipina who aims to please. We go there regularly in Caves Resort because we enjoy sailing and our sailboat is stored near by. And oh, by the way they have the best beach of any resort in CAMIGUIN!!! And WHITE ISLAND is only a stones throw away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billT428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mambajao
2.7 mi away
Camiguin Highland Resort
Camiguin Highland Resort
#7 of 10 in Camiguin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
Cabua-An Beach Resort
#9 of 9 in Mambajao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
2.1 mi away
Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pabua's Cottages
Pabua's Cottages
#6 of 24 in Mambajao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.3 mi away
Camiguin Island Golden Sunset Beach Club
0.0 mi away
Balai sa Baibai
Balai sa Baibai
#1 of 9 in Mambajao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caves Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caves Dive Resort

Property: Caves Dive Resort
Address: Agoho, Mambajao, Mindanao 9100, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Camiguin > Mambajao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mambajao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Caves Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caves Dive Resort Camiguin/Mambajao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing