We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ants and Mosquitos”
Review of Caves Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caves Dive Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mambajao
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Caves is a great place if you go there for R/R or the scuba diving but if you bring your spear gun don't plan on using it as there is a policy against spear guns. The room we stayed in was loaded with ants and mosquito's. The first night we got bitten by ants in the bed and the crafty mosquito's found the hole in the mosquito net. The next night was better due to the ant killer we bought from the local store. The restaurant is nice with friendly staff but the food is expensive, 250 pesos for a American or Filipino breakfast. I have to say the first night was the worst I have had in any hotel due to the ants and mosquito's but the rest of the resort was fair to very good.

Room Tip: Bring mosquito repellent and insecticide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skychasen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Hi, we have been very concerned with your problems with ants and mosquitos. We checked the mosquito nets and we did not find any holes at all. So, probably, it was not tucked in properly, the most probable reason why mosquitos did managed to get inside.We sincerely apologize for this. As with ants, we do not have this in the room unless guests brings in food items especially the ones that are not sealed. Like in your case, our housekeeping did find your barbeque loaded with ants. But for now, we are addressing this problem and we are encouraging our guests to eat at the restaurant and we discourage bringing in food items inside the room as to avoid attracting ants. Thank you so much for staying at Caves and we hope you'd consider us in your next visit.

Best regards,

Mae Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 29 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

In 2004 we arrived here for the first time. Last year we checked back in . The place had not changed. Except the shoreline came closer due to the storms. We like the place very much.You can have your own bungalow. Eat in the restaurent in the main building up the stairs.
From here you can go to white island but also to Bohol can be organised.
Next time we go back we shurely will return. It is like a paradie within the paradise island.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejrobberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I always stayed in caves resort everytime i go to camiguin, they have a friendly and helpful staff the resort is clean, the rooms are neat but the downside is the bathrooms because it's quite old and needs some renovation i guess and not much water coming out from the shower. If you need some time in peace and be in a quiet place to relax and sleep, i would recommend this resort. They have a restaurant serving good food but a bit pricey. What's also nice in this place is that they have an easy access if you want to go to white island.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docmarika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here a couple of days ago with my friend. Just an overnight stay since we need to go back to Cagayan De Oro the next day.

The Good.

1. Reasonable Prices
2. Friendly Staffs
3. Delicious Food (although a bit pricey)
4. Has their Own boat for Diving and White Island Tour
5. Clean Rooms, Native Feel
6. Accepts Credit Cards (VISA/MASTERCARD/AMEX)
7. Hot and Cold Shower
8. Resort Staff are good in English, Tagalog, and Cebuano
9. Wifi is available
10. They have tours and dive services
11. Great for Backpackers
12. Spacious Rooms

Not So good...

1. Low Water pressure in the shower
2. Toiletries. Only Soap was provided, nothing else
3. The towels were not that absorbent
4. Long Waiting time for the food to be served
5. Beach. Not white sand and very deep
6. Limited Electricity outlets for charging.
7. No Pool

Overall, Clean, Simple, Comfortable. Just don't expect luxury and tons of Amenities.

Dencio

Room Tip: The fan rooms/cottage are ok during the night... but during high noon, you'll wish you got the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank dencio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Caves Dive Resort is one place I know very well since moving to CAMIGUIN. They have a nice and attentive staff. Mae Ann who runs the place is a sweet hardworking filipina who aims to please. We go there regularly in Caves Resort because we enjoy sailing and our sailboat is stored near by. And oh, by the way they have the best beach of any resort in CAMIGUIN!!! And WHITE ISLAND is only a stones throw away.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billT428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We visited this resort as a couple for the second time this summer. Unlike last time, we decided to try one of the cottages, which were more expensive. Since our last visit the resort had also improved their lot by paving the yard and repairing some aging walls.

What was good:
+ Nice, flexible service.
+ Good food.
+ Clean cottages and general resort vicinity.
+ Boats to the White Island (which you don't want to miss).
+ No disturbances or feeling of unsafety.
+ Easy access to the town thanks to the frequent motorellas.

What needs improving:
* Only cold water showers.
* Flaky TV-signal.
* Very slow Internet.
* Air conditioning as a baseline in all, except the cheapest rooms.

What was bad:
- Some meals were good for one, others for two, which made estimating the prices difficult. Either state how large the meals are in the menu or size them all for one.
- The meal prices had almost doubled since 2010, bringing the price to five times as much as you would get from the town.
- Hidden expenses: a 10% service fee to all meal prices. The prices in the meals should be final and hiding some of the price only irritates.
- Aircon cottage costs 3,500 whereas as a luxury room in Paras Beach resort is 2,800. Therefore you can get a more luxurious experience for a cheaper price elsewhere. Both european prices, though, which is a rip-off by pilippino standards.

Overall, I think Caves Dive Resort is a good place to stay, but overpriced for the value they gives. E.g. best comparison: Kingston Lodge. AC included, private room, good access, safe and clean, 1050php/night. Meals in a nearby mall 60php/person. Therefore I would first check out other nearby places for a better price/quality deal.

Room Tip: The climate is hot and humid. Air conditioning makes a big difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 10,110,001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I was totally surprised how strategically located Caves is to the "tourist spots" of Camiguin and was more surprised how spacious and relaxing our accommodation is in the resort. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The place is great for family vacations since they have a child friendly environment, you feel safe and secure while enjoying your R and R.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kennystan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mambajao
0 mi away
No photo provided
Cabua-An Beach Resort
#8 of 8 in Mambajao
9 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camiguin Highland Resort
Camiguin Highland Resort
#7 of 9 in Camiguin
83 reviews
2.1 mi away
Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Paras Beach Resort
Paras Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Mambajao
173 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa Paraiso Resort & Apartelle
0 mi away
Balai sa Baibai
Balai sa Baibai
#1 of 8 in Mambajao
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caves Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caves Dive Resort

Address: Agoho, Mambajao, Mindanao 9100, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Camiguin > Mambajao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mambajao
Price Range: $16 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caves Dive Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Caves Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caves Dive Resort Camiguin/Mambajao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing