We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Headland Tropicana Resort
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Headland Tropicana during September school holidays. The resort grounds were immaculate, the rooms clean spacious and well stocked with equipment. The managers Doug and Mandy were friendly, helpful and very informative with lots of local knowledge on activities, where to eat, surf or just relax. It was only a short stroll to the beach, restaurants and shopping and value for money is great. All in all we couldn't be happier and will definitely be back next year. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Speak with the resort direct and let them know what's important to you the management are very h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Norris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    17
    8
    0
See reviews for
41
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I took my family there for a last minute weekend away. I found the managers to be extremely friendly and where helpful with our stay. The hotel was clean and our unit was to. We found the unit to be value for money and would go back again.

Room Tip: we where in the middle of the complex so our unit overlooked the ocean. Room 32
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skystorm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here recently and had nothing but trouble the oven was broken holes in the wall beds are horrible no privacy what so ever and don't even expect a view of the beach and when we spoke to mandy (manager) about our problems she was extremely rude and arrogant and didn't offer to help us at all.... will go elsewhere from now on was absolutely horrified at the service provided!!! Don't waste your money a caravan would have been better than this place

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank totaltrip2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicana274, Manager at Headland Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Our apologies to you for not having your complaints dealt with during your stay. All staff, including management, strive to be nothing but friendly and personable with all guests, including unhappy ones, and we always address maintenance issues as a priority. We do not have any recollection of your complaints, and have twice tried to contact you to find out which apartment you stayed in and when, although you have chosen to remain anonymous.

Most importantly, all of our ovens are in working order and we do not have any holes in any walls. We would also never advertise views of the beach, as we are up on the top of a headland where we enjoy panoramic ocean views from our front apartments and water views from many more that are set back into the resort. Please feel free to call us any time to point out which apartment these issues relate to?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed with a friend in one of the one bedroom apartments and found it to be large, spacious and very clean. The linens provided were of a high quality and overall we found it exceptional value for money.
As with many 3 1/2 star rated properties, the apartment was a little older in places but renovations had been done to the main living area and kitchen and the bed itself also appeared to be new.
The complex itself is very cute and we loved the stream running down front into a waterfall. The sauna, spa and indoor pool very very user friendly. The BBQ area looked fantastic and we saw many people taking advantage of it. It was still a little too cold for the outdoor pool but I imagine this would be amazing in summer and it appeared to be immaculatly kept for the season.
Thank you Mandy and Doug for your hospitality. We hope to return again someday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family (husband and 2 children- aged 3 and 1) stayed here at the beginning of July for 6 nights. I communicated with management via the website contact and found them to be very prompt in their responses. They also gave us the option of a discounted rate for the unrenovated apartment which we took up. I was impressed with this option as I have stayed at other apartments (like mantra heritage in cairns) who charge the same rate regardless of the state of the room. Thanks to management for being so transparent with their costs and the types of accommodations on offer. The 'unrenovated' apartment suited our needs. We were after space for a budget so it worked out well to have a discounted rate on a spacious 3 bedroom. To give you an idea of what 'unrenovated' meant, the bathrooms are very dated ( I would estimate early 80s given the mission brown colours) and the furniture is older wicker type. In terms of the living space, oven, tv, washer and dryer I found them to be quite up-to-date and better than expected. My only disappointment with this room was the bed in the main bedroom, it was quite small and soft. Also there is a very strong light that comes through the gap in the blinds from the stairwell. The single beds in the other rooms were a lot more comfortable and because of a bad back my husband ended up in one of those after a couple of nights. This apartment can be noisy, we were on the 1st floor and could hear those above and below us a few times, but hey they are apartments and you are living close to each other so it is to be expected. The carpark is great and spacious (better than others we have used that struggle to fit a full sized car), but a little annoying using the key each time, a keypad with a code or swipe card would be easier. As it was July we didn't use the outdoor pool but it looked lovely. We did use the indoor pool and it was a great area that the whole family loved. The games room is average, just full of games you mainly need to pay for. We also used the BBQ area which was kept immaculately clean! My daughter enjoyed playing with some other kids that were there at the same time, everyone we encountered was lovely, we met a man who returns every year from NSW and was great to talk about local restaurants etc... My only other suggestion would be to put fly screens on windows and security flyscreen on the door which opens to the balcony. We loved opening this door for air but were concerned abut our young children on the balcony, unfortunately there is only the glass door we could lock to keep them in. That obviously is just applicable for people with young kids. I did notice that the ground floor apartments had screen doors so not sure why the whole complex doesn't?? The only other thing to consider is there is no lift in the building and you need to go down stairs to get to the pool and carpark. Not an issue for us but if you have mobility issues its good to know.
We had a car but really didn't need it, even though the property is technically in Alex headlands, it is really close to both Mooloolaba and Alex so we enjoyed walking out the front everyday and deciding which direction to head to today. We were very luck with weather and really enjoyed our walks on the beautiful paths along the beach each day. I highly recommend going down to the fish markets, restaurants and fish & chip shops at the very end of Parkyn parade, once we discovered this we ate fresh seafood every day. There is also a great park there for the kids. Overall I would highly recommend this place and if we are ever back on Sunshine coast we would go there again.

Room Tip: ask for different rates on renovated and unrenovated rooms and make a choice to suit your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I (and our kids when they were younger) have been staying at Headland Tropicana every year for the last 19 years and we love it. We stay 3 weeks at a time and get a really good price for the unit of our choice. The facilities at the resort are fantastic providing for all kinds of activities and weather conditions. The managers Mandy and Doug are wonderful and will try to meet your every need. I cannot imagine going anywhere else for a relaxing holiday each year. We have recommended Tropicana to many friends who now make it their annual holiday destination too...!

Room Tip: talk to the managers about your needs and they will recommend a room for you.....we find the rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosanna, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed here, always feels good. Units depend on the actual owner this one even better than last time. Heated pool is a great incentive to stay here. Great location near Mooloolaba, buses right outside, friendly staff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelMelMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.9 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
#3 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra on the Pacific
Alexandra on the Pacific
#6 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headland Tropicana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headland Tropicana Resort

Property: Headland Tropicana Resort
Address: Tropicana 274 Alexandra Pde, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Headland Tropicana Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Headland Tropicana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Tropicana Resort Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing