We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awesome family holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I just spent four days at the Mirage with my 2 year old and wife and I'll definitely be going back. We loved the pools, I usually don't like resort pools with so many people but there was a lap pool, a kids pool with a waterfall, a big pool (that was nice and warm) & a spa so there was plenty of room - perfect for my boy and his pregnant mum! I will add that the big pool has a big area of shallow water which was great for my son to play on and I wasn't worried about him. We were surprised at the size of the apartment and the view was nice even from level 1, it looked over the pool and lagoon, we could watch the ducks and swans from our balcony (quiet romantic really).
No busy roads, a short walk to the beach and shops, just a pleasant place to stay really.
I'd recommend it for everyone, especially families. Happy holidayers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emeralders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

It has been a little while since I have read your review (yes, sorry to take so long to reply) but it reminded me that I wanted to say a great big THANK YOU for sharing how amazing the Mirage is for family holidays. Having the range of pools makes all the difference, we also have staff committed to maintaining our reputation of having the best resort pools on the coast! So, looks like we will be welcoming you back with a larger family next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 310 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

We so loved our stay at the Mirage .This is the second time that we have stayed here ,and are getting ready to book to come back again ,Beautiful Apartments,made to feel very welcome and would recommend the Mirage for a holiday.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 15 this time in first block and everything was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

We can't ask for a better recommendation than your return visits - thank you for both returning to the Mirage and sharing your feedback with others. Just so others know Unit 14 is one of our standard apartments on level 2 - like many of these lower level apartments you have a large apartment with a beautiful view of the lagoon and park and some ocean glimpses at an amazing price! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Mirage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night stay in a 2 bed apartment. We were on level 1 so ocean views were non existent. The apartment was good size, clean and have everything you need for an extended stay. Beds were not the most comfortable but have slept on worse. Location is good being just a short walk to the beach and the few shops.

Just some minor things that i think a paying guest should get in anything above 3 star accommodation. Pool towels would be nice, paying $5 to hire them was a bit harsh. And also toilet paper, we had 2 rolls between 5 of us for 3 nights? Not sure if any known human would find that enough! These are only minor things, but when travelling on a plane from Sydney the lighter we can travel the better and just assumed these would all be included.
Note: maybe just put rates up an extra $5 and have all this included free of charge.

Pools were good, gym was ok as well as the sauna. Did not get time to use another other facilities.

From the accommodation available in Sunshine Coast it does seem this is one of the better options, but as said a few things could make guests feel a little better about a stay.

Room Tip: Try get a higher floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

How time flies, apologies for taking so long to reply to your feedback from your stay in October. Thank you for recommending us to others as a good place to stay on the Sunshine Coast. We did check the beds after you left and have put an additional topper on all the mattresses to ensure they are extra comfortable for future guests. We would also like to reassure you that there is always an additional roll of loo paper in the bathroom cupboard! We agree with your recommendation for a higher floor if you love an ocean view. Fortunately all our rooms have an outlook but higher is definitely more expansive. Don't forget to call direct when next booking for your return guest discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We looked forward to our visit as it all looked so fabulous on the Internet but once we opened the door to our room we were very disappointed. They claimed it was a 4 1/2 star room but my estimation was 3 star ( my husband says 2 ). It felt very dated and dark. The room was narrow with large glass sliding doors onto the balcony. The outlook was nice and the pools and outside area were lovely.
Although we were disappointed with our room once we saw our friends room we felt lucky to have been given the better room upstairs. Theirs was frightening. The walls were painted hideous colours and god knows what had gone on with the carpet! I think CSI may have been called in.
Management explained that the units are privately owned and they have no power to make sure the units are up to scratch. Therefore how can they claim 41/2 star rating???? Not fair for unit owners who have spent money renovating theirs.
Overall very expensive for what it was and would never darken their door again !!! Would advise you not to either. We saved for this holiday and felt sick we wasted our money.

Room Tip: Don't bother !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loretta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed the view from your level three apartment and the incredible facilities at The Mirage. We have checked the apartment you stayed in and are satisfied this is a 4 1/2 star apartment - we are more than happy to forward photographs to any prospective guests of this exact apartment.

You mention an apartment your friends stayed in being painted in 'hideous' colours - what a simple world it would be if everyone liked the same decor! There certainly was a stain on the carpet as you mention and for this we do offer our apologies, as can sometimes happen a spillage occurred the previous day and was unable to be removed immediately. This carpet has now been cleaned.

A suggestion for future bookings, should you stay somewhere and you find your apartment not satisfactory it would be better to let management know early. This gives them the opportunity to find solutions, giving the feedback on or post checkout does not allow this opportunity. We trust you enjoyed your time together as a group and had a relaxing break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just spent a week with 2 other families at this accommodation and although the grounds around the venue look great the grotty state of the rooms was a real disappointment.

We had the better room of the group and faced out onto the lagoon. The others were more like caves or places occupied by squatters.

Don't expect any smiles or greetings from the front desk staff as you walk past them each day as they quickly put their head down and hope that you don't engage them in a conversation in case it's yet another complaint about the state of the rooms. The information book in each room that outlines all of the charges you are likely to incur is a must read and threaten with extra charges for odours, noise complaints and a host of other fines that they will impose.

Watch out for the grazing of knuckles as you open the doors to the foyer with the keys, it happened to all of us.

These rooms and customer service really are a let down on what looks like a great venue from outside.

I maintain my own travel blog so checkout my review for a more detailed report.

Room Tip: Look at other options and keep clear of this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Br0wndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

On first reading this review from 'browndog' I thought about not posting a response at all as it was going to be so obvious from the last year of reviews and our current trip advisor ranking that this comment was ridiculous. When the second response came in from 'watchdog' I began to wonder whether this person gets some pleasure from posting untrue comments.

If you are reading this review I would like you to know this guest was staying in an ocean view 3BR, fully self contained apartment in the school holidays for $230 per night, any additional charges are optional hire equipment charges. All beach toys, foam boards, pool toys are free for our guests to use, we are also the only resort on the Sunshine Coast that offers free WiFi.

We work hard to maintain a standard at The Mirage and as past responses will show we encourage genuine feedback and will apologise when appropriate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our family of three were welcomed like no other place we've stayed at before. The Leonard's were warm and friendly an walked us through the resort on arrival. The rooms were excellent and the location to the beach and cafes was excellent. The car had a holiday! We intend to return to this lovely place and have subsequently cancelled our next trip to the gold coast in preference to staying at the mirage Alexandra headland. BRING your weary body, and be rejuvenated on your departure. The mirage and the staff will ensure your stay is second to none. Our stay was for one week during the school holidays and yet we were able to blend in without the hassles of finding car parks at the beach and crowds......very sad to leave BUT ALREADY LOOKING FORWARD TO A RETURN VISIT AND DOING IT REGULAR.

Room Tip: Speak to the Leonard's prior to booking and tell them about your group and your wishes and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnadams8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your holiday review of The Mirage. It is great when we just do what we do and it is so appreciated! We have hardly caught our breath these holidays with so many happy holidayers flocking to the coast. It is great that you are already planning your return visit - some of our guests have been coming for ten years, they plan to change when the children grow up but can't find another location they like better - it's fantastic! Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.2 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
579 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 16 in Mooloolaba
376 reviews
9.7 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
0.3 mi away
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premie...
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mirage Alexandra Headland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mirage Alexandra Headland

Address: 6 Mari St, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Alexandra Headland
Price Range: $127 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Mirage Alexandra Headland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mirage Alex Resort on Alexandra Headland, the luxury four and a half star resort on Sunshine Coast. Set just 50 meters from the main road The Mirage offers stunning views without the traffic noise, and is just a short walk away from either Mooloolaba or Maroochydore! Our balconies are all east-facing and have a view of our beautiful pool and gardens, the lagoon, park and/or ocean. Opposite the resort's location is the picturesque Lake Nelson Park, home to many water birds, including our beloved swans. Come at the right time of year and watch the baby cygnets or maybe some ducklings with their parents. We offer spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments with full size kitchens, large living and dining areas, separate laundry and east facing balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mirage Alexandra Headland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mirage Alexandra Headland Hotel Alexandra Headland
Mirage Hotel Alexandra Headland
The Mirage Alexandra Headland Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing