We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a letdown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Palais Beachside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
1 review
“What a letdown”
Reviewed November 27, 2009

This was the second resort we stayed in and it was a very depressing rundown place.The only saving grace was that we had a very scary spiral staircase that led to the rooftop, where there were chairs, table, shade umbrella and barbecue for us to use. The view was to die for!

Inside the fridge didn't work properly, the air conditioning was so loud that you had to have the volumn on the old tv as high as possble to hear, the lounge suite had holes in the upholstery and the manager didn't care about anything and was very offhand.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninetee_nine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Hi ninetee_nine

Thanks for the review. You stayed a couple of years before we took over as managers (late 2011), but I wanted to write to assure you we've dealt with pretty much everything in your feedback.

Glad you found the view amazing - it is pretty special.

Our all new team is super friendly and totally committed to ensuring guests have a great stay.

Hope you might consider us again if you're ever up this way again.

Thanks

Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    96
    29
    8
    15
See reviews for
121
141
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Timaru
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed there in December with our family, in a three bedroom unit and couldn't fault it. We loved the spaciousness of the apartment, and the beachfront location. The views on the 3rd floor apartment to the sea were great, I am not so sure if the 1st and 2nd level would see over the trees like the 3rd and 4th level do. The bedrooms were all down the quiet Mary st side, so no road noise at night.
The kitchen was equipped better than mine at home, and even had our own BBQ on the deck overlooking the ocean!

We found the management very friendly and efficient. The apartment was clean and well presented.

The Alexandra heads patrolled beach was so close we could see the kids swimming between the flags from the living/kitchen area.

We are going to book for again for next year and hope to get same apartment.

  • Liked — Spacious apartment and closeness to alexandra headland surf beach
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maxandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Hi maxandkids,

Thanks for the great review - we really appreciate the support.

Fabulous to hear you loved the room, views and facilities.

Great also to hear you enjoyed the proximity to the beach - it's one of the things we get the most positive feedback on, so it's fantastic to hear it was great for you as well.

Kind regards and safe travels,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2009

It was not good to stay in a hotel where you find human finger and toe nails on the floor, cupboards hanging on their hinges, a dreadful odour in the bathroom and kitchen, shower didn't work properly, TV had poor reception, and managers had no regard for us as customers, it was so bad we left and we did not get our money back I strongly encourage you not to stay there!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Regulartraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Hello Regulartraveller_9

Sounds like you had a very poor stay at Grand Palais.

I apologise for the slow reply - we're the new managers here at Grand Palais and it has taken a little while to get sorted and work through some issues as you might expect.

Because we're the new managers I can't really comment on the experience you had other than to apologise and confirm our commitment to better service.

Our entire team has changed from Management to Reception to House Keeping and so on with a new sense of service and commitment to ensure everyone has a great stay.

You'll see a big change in the type of feedback we've been receiving on Trip Advisor since taking over.

We've also started a web site blog where people can comment, along with a Facebook page. So we're well and truly open to feedback and listening to our guests.

I do hope you'll reconsider staying at Grand Palais in the future as we're very keen to make amends and show you just how good we are these days.

Thanks again

Karen & Ross
Managers at Grand Palais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

We went with friends (two couples) to the Grand Palais, we had requested an ocean view room. Upon arrival we were checking in and asked the manager if we had an ocean view - he said yes on the balcony and dismissed us. We took our cases up to the room and were facing a wall with a sideways sea view, we went back to reception to see if there were any other rooms available and were told they had none at all but the manager told us he had one with an ocean view but we would have to pay an extra $25 a night this we agreed to do and paid immediately. The room was disgraceful, there was one large bedroom with spa in which in fairness was fairly nice, the other bedroom was terrible, it had two single beds in it (just) and no window at all, it was more like a box room, not wanting to make any more fuss we had no option but to stay. My husband and I had the "box room" bearing in mind we are both in our sixties and the heat in the room was stiffling so we went to put on the air conditioning, when we looked at the vent in the room it was absolutely filthy, full of goodness knows what so putting it on was not an option for us. We were visiting from UK and have to admit this was the worst hotel we were unfortunate enough to have to stay in both from the hygiene/dirt point of view to the dismissive manner of the manager who was only interested in getting extra dollars for a room which he should of paid us to stay in.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallis1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Hello Wallis1326

It sounds like you had a less than satisfactory time at the Grand Palais - as the new managers looking through the old feedback has been worrying for us.

I'd like to assure you that the all new team - from housekeeping to management to our reception team are committed to ensuring everyone enjoys their stay.

You might notice the most recent feedback on Grand Palais has been wonderful and is, I'm hopeful, a reflection on the quality we now provide.

Thanks for your feedback and safe traveling.

Kind Regards

Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

I stayed at the Grand Palais and it was horrible. The decor was dated, and the bedding was lumpy and tired. The kitchen cupboards were smelly, which in my opinion isn't acceptable for the price.

We had a couple of maintainance issues and we were dealt with flippantly, it was if we were wasting their time and had caused the problem ourselves.

There are plenty of other condos on the beach to stay at in this area, and next time we will be checking them out.

Wouldn't recommend it and won't stay there again.

  • Liked — The proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — The appearance of the room and the desk service. It was terrible.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IheartWaikiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Hello IheartWaikiki

Thanks for this feedback way back in 2008.

As the new manager here at Grand Palais I've been reviewing past feedback and have been reassuring guests that our all new team is absolutely committed to ensuring everyone has a great stay.

We're now all very friendly and here to help.

You might take a look at our most recent Trip Advisor reviews to see some wonderful reviews reflective of our efforts. We also have a web site blog where people can comment, along with a Facebook page.

Thanks again for the feedback.

Kind regards

Karen
Manager - Grand Palais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

From the moment we pulled up to this place it was fantastic!! After the midnight horror flight with a 2 yr old, we were dying for a decent rest and to relax and start our holiday. When we arrived the people in the room the night before did not turn up so we got straight in there with lots of helpful advice from the man behind the counter on what to see and do. The 2 bedroom unit we had was absolutely perfect, no silly little trinkets for our little man to break, and fabulous views over to the water, Two large bedrooms a spa which was well used by us, and another bathroom, only little fault, the second bedroom let quite alot of light in as there were hallway lights that were on all night. Everything about the place was exactly as they explained it. It was a great start to our holiday and we have now got the inlaws going there next year!! If we were to go back we would probably not stay here for the only reason was that when our little man went to sleep in the afternoon one of us couldn't go look at shops or anything like that so we would stay down closer to the mooloolaba end.

  • Liked — Views and Spa
  • Disliked — Destance to large range of shops
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank espgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Hello espgirl,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review.

First of all, apologies for the slow reply. We took over the management of Grand Palais in 2011, so it was a little while after your stay.

Regardless, we're thrilled to hear you had such a great stay. So pleased you enjoyed the apartment and spa - even more so to hear you found Grand Palais very child friendly.

Thanks again and kind regards,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2006

Staff excellent. Friendly, obliging & helpful.
Room (2Bedroom) superb. Spacious, spotless & on 3rd floor, uninterrupted ocean views through 180deg, big spa in main B/R & each B/r has own amenities. Directly opposite patrolled beach & resort pool is really well maintained, as is the bbq.
Stayed a week & the only drawback is it is right on the beach road which has its fair share of late night car revving, tyre screaming idiots. The 'Outrigger' at Mooloolaba is similarly appointed and much quieter but with a slightly higher price. The noise doesnt go all night and the views almost make you forget it

  • Liked — Views.
  • Disliked — Road Traffic Noise. 2nd bedroom has no window,
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay on 3rd or 4th floors in a 2 0r 3 bedder.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank fuzzyrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Hi fuzzyrhino,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and apologies for the late response - we took over as managers in the middle of 2011.

We're thrilled to hear you had such a great stay. Particularly glad to hear you enjoyed the apartments, beautiful views, beach and the resort pool and BBQ.

We're very sorry to hear you had to put up with the late night car noise - all I can really say in this respect is that it hasn't been an issue since we took over the resort and no guests have mentioned this in their reviews, so it appears to have resolved itself.

Thanks again for the kind review,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.6 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 15 in Mooloolaba
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
#3 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premie...
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palais Beachside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palais Beachside Resort

Property: Grand Palais Beachside Resort
Address: 188 Alexandra Pde, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palais Beachside Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Palais Beachside Resort holiday accommodation apartments are your perfect choice in affordable luxury on the Sunshine Coast. Will full amenities, a great location and amazing views, we have it all here at Grand Palais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Palais Beachside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palais Beachside Hotel Alexandra Headland
Grand Palais Beachside Resort Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing