We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Palais Beachside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
wellington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned from a 9 night stay at the Grand Palais. We were very impressed with all the staff we dealt with, always friendly and obliging.
We were also thrilled with our apartment which was upgraded from a standard one bedroomed to a 2 bedroomed rooftop apartment. We enjoyed the full kitchen, 2 bathrooms and the wonderful rooftop facilities with a view of the beach. A wonderful Thai restaurant ( Thai Street) is underneath the resort. A great bonus.
We would love to stay again and will definitely recommend to all our friends :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarwickWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi BarwickWellington,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We trust that you had an enjoyable stay at the Grand Palais Beachside Resort.

Our self-contained rooftop apartments are certainly a treat! We are pleased to hear that you took advantage of our facilities and were able to admire the view of the beach.

We hope to see you (and your friends!) in the near future.

With thanks,
Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    99
    30
    8
    15
See reviews for
121
146
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

unit 35
A very clean unit. A clump of trees got in the way of a perfect view. The reception staff were always there and would willingly get tickets and discount vouchers for you, Thanks for a lovely week.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J6145EDJohnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hi JohnF,

Thank you for your perfect ratings!

Our friendly staff here at Grand Palais Beachside Resort are always happy to help organise tours and activities. We trust that you enjoyed your time here on the Sunshine Coast.

With thanks,
Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Lovely clean room that smelt of vanilla when we walked in, Fantastic ocean view - especially the sunrise over the ocean. We only needed to book our flights and the Receptionist (Robyn) organised our accommodation - Airport transfers - tours and attraction tickets. There is a beautiful rock fishpond in the foyer and you can feed the goldfish. Public transport was great. The bus stop is just out the front of the resort and the busses run every 10 minutes. Supermarket is just a 10 minute walk. The Thai restaurant out the front have beautiful meals at a reasonable price and the Surf Club has great meals too. The beach is flagged so great for families. TenPin Bowling is just a short walk down to road as well. Thank you Karen, Ross and your fantastic team for a memorable time at the Grand Palais. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Call the resort direct and pay the extra for an ocean view unit. It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hi Don S,

Thank you so much for your perfect rating and friendly feedback.

We pride ourselves on our ideal beachside location here at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, being in close proximity to shopping and dining destinations. Thank you for sharing some top tips about the area - many of our guests agree that public transport is a great option and that the supermarket is close enough so that you can cook up a storm in our modern kitchens! We are also pleased to hear that you had the chance to experience our in-house Thai restaurant and local surf club.

Our staff are always happy to organise tours and activities and it's great that you took advantage of this service. We trust that you enjoyed your time here on the Sunshine Coast.

We hope too see you again in the near future.

With thanks,
Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

A lovely modern clean unit. Wonderful sea view an all day sun in the living area. Nice view out to beach and along coast. Loved the Spa bath in the Ensuite. Comfortable beds. Thoroughly enjoyed the location. Hope to visit again soon

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Tracy F,

Thank you for your perfect rating!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our ideal beach side location and took advantage of our spa facilities.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

With thanks,
Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Spent 8 days. Had booked one bedroom apartment was delighted when upgraded to 2 bedroom on 3rd floor. Spa bath included, full kitchen. Good location walked to Moloolaba or Maroochydore most days. Surf beach just across the road. Did a lot of self catering using fish from the Moloolaba Fish Market 30 min walk, (ask for ice, usually have fresh tuna, swordfish and emperor fish available) and Coles in Maloolaba. Recommend gelato place in Maloolaba, they are happy to let you try before you buy. We took a Storey line full day bus tour to the Glass mountains which was a highlight

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have traffic noise but usually drowned out by the waves so no biggy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi Suejan,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our self-contained apartments, with spa bath and kitchen facilities.

With our ideal beachside location, we are in close proximity to shopping and dining destinations - thank you for sharing information about the Moloolaba Fish Market and Glass House Mountains. I may also have to try that gelato place for myself!

We trust that you enjoyed all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer and we hope to see you again in the near future.

With thanks,
Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in this establishment and unfortunately had an apartment which only got half an hour of sun early in the morning, so it was COLD. No heating but the maintenance man Colin went the extra mile and got us one of his own from his home. Full marks Colin - you made our stay! Yes, the .apartment is tired and almost clean and yes, the spa bath was hard to get in and out of without handrails but the bed was comfortable and we weren't uncomfortable, just cold with 4d at night. Loved the pool, thought the entrance garden and pool especially nice and management very helpful. Not sure that we would return unless we were assured of some heat both from heater and sun in the apartment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which gets some sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Joan M,

Thank you for you recent review.

Here at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, we pride ourselves on customer service and are pleased that you recognised this.

Your concerns regarding the apartment will be passed on to the team, as we aim to ensure that all guests receive value for money.

We hope that you were still able to enjoy your time here at Grand Palais Beachside Resort while taking advantage of our other facilities.

With thanks,
Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

recently spent 3 days, ocean view room, yes but at the side , room cold, tatty, needs refurb, bed was comfortable, but glass window had broken blinds and outside light shone through all night, so hard to get any sleep
bathroom had spa bath but shower above, difficult to get in and out of no hand rail, plus air con noise all night, make sure you shut the door!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Jean M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Here at Grand Palais, we have housekeeping services and dedicated staff who aim to maintain our apartments so that you receive value for money. Your concerns regarding the apartment will be passed on to the team.

We are always looking for ways in which we can improve the experience of our guests, so we appreciate you feedback. We hope that you were still able to enjoy all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer.

With thanks,
Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.6 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexandra on the Pacific
Alexandra on the Pacific
#6 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premie...
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palais Beachside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palais Beachside Resort

Property: Grand Palais Beachside Resort
Address: 188 Alexandra Pde, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palais Beachside Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Palais Beachside Resort holiday accommodation apartments are your perfect choice in affordable luxury on the Sunshine Coast. Will full amenities, a great location and amazing views, we have it all here at Grand Palais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Palais Beachside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palais Beachside Hotel Alexandra Headland
Grand Palais Beachside Resort Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing