We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Palais Beachside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

we stayed at the Grand Palais Beachside resort for Christmas new year break and had the best time I give Grand Palais @ Alexander Headland QLS Australis 110% for everything and we would Defiantly stay at Grand Palais again ........ i recommend you all the stay there ......BIG THANK YOU to Ross and Karen for making our stay so wonderful

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyw2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello Sandyw2012,

Thanks for taking time to tell other people about your stay - it's really appreciated.

Merry Christmas! I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us over the holiday period, it was a pleasure.

I hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    96
    28
    8
    15
See reviews for
121
138
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Would recommend friendly staff and great location very spacious.
The location was great centered in the middle of mdore and mooloolaba .
Great cafes and specialty shops right across from a lovely beach.
Mornings are full of people going for early morning walks and surf.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello Relva1,

Thanks for the great review - especially the 5 stars!

Great to hear that you enjoyed the cafes and shops around the area. The location is pretty great and I'm glad you were able to enjoy it.

Thanks also for your kind words re: friendly staff - glad we could help!

Kind regards,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We enjoyed a great family holiday at the Grand Palais Resort. We have stayed here once before and each time love the location. The apartments are always clean and the rates are always great. There is a bit of road noise but you can't be across from the beach without that and if you close the doors you cannot hear it. Our kids love the heated pool and we love not having to use our car with everything so close.

Room Tip: Splurge on a rooftop apartment as these have there own BBQ area on the rooftop!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi Judy H,

Thanks for another lovely review!

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday and found us once again to be great value and in such a handy location. Great to hear your kids had fun in the pool - it gets a real workout this time of year!

Thanks again and kind regards,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The location is great across from the beach and surf club, the pool and lobby are clean and inviting but....the apartments are tired, not cleaned well at all and ours absolutely stunk like dirty drain! The managers were very helpful and tried to make the situation better but the only thing that could help was a complete over haul of the unit..the road is very noisy so we couldn't have the doors open but the air con had the dirty drain smell in it, plus we couldn't open one of the doors to our bedroom as it would fall off and actually landed on my partners foot and cut it! We had booked for seven nights but only lasted five until we couldn't stand the smell any longer and came home so we could get some sleep in a clean room! We were waling zombies!!!! House keeping came once, ran in and quickly changed sheets and that was it, no cleaning was done while we stayed there and for the huge amount we paid we were very disappointed!

As mentioned the managers were very helpful but we don't feel like we've had a break at all :(

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hi Jo C

Thanks for the review.

Great to hear you enjoyed the location and the pool facilities.

Thanks for letting us know about the smell - as you know, we resolved this immediately. Thanks for letting us also know about the broken door - that was fixed asap too.

I’m sorry to hear you found your apartment dirty - the cleaning staff have been informed of your feedback and we’ll be working hard to ensure it doesn’t happen again. We aim to maintain the highest possible standards of cleanliness and I’m very sorry to hear we did not succeed in this instance.

Thanks again and all the best for 2013.

Kind regards,

Karen, Ross and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked a week at the Grand Palais staying just after christmas till 3rd January. Upon arriving the managers were very helpful & pleasant. Location is good with the beach across the road. That's the good part of the review. Both apartments 53 & 54 are situated facing the back of the property with no ocean views. The apartments were extremely tired and dirty we couldn't stay there or even let our kids sit on the disgusting lounge. At that time we were traveling with another family which could not stay in one of these apartment Either. We left shortly after arrival. Unfortunately payment was made in full on arrival & we ended up losing money, but the managers helped us out. We were advised by them to call next time when booking, not to rely solely on the Internet . My advice is, to let guests know the standard of the apartments you will be receiving especially at the exorbitant prices charged. Drove up the road and found apartments that were clean & pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sools15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hi Sools15,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate the feedback.

I'm glad to hear you found our team so friendly and helpful, and the location so good.

We work hard at maintaining the units and our staff have been informed of the feedback. We assess how we're doing in terms of cleanliness as this is of prime importance and I was disappointed to hear your concerns.

We'll be doubling our efforts on the areas you specified to ensure it doesn't happen again. I've had a chat with our cleaning staff and we're implementing a different way we do our quality assurance of the apartments after a clean.

We are updating our older apartments on an ongoing basis.

As you booked via a 3rd party booking site, we can't control the info they choose to display or the info they provide, so their are some challenges getting consistent information out there.

As you know, we were able to refund part of your stay - hope this helped.
Thanks again for the feedback.

Kind regards,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Palais for a couple of nights in September. We booked it because of high rating on TA. Although comfortable and pleasant, we were disappointed that our, and all, studios were located on ground level only. We were walled in with no sea view or outlook whatsoever. Although spacious layout and adequately equipped, the bed was a little on the old side and road traffic noise very loud. The bbq facility at the pool was excellent, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would like to have been on an upper level with an outlook though!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hi evglen,

Thanks for the review. We aim to be fantastic value and know that it's feedback such as yours that makes us get better and better.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the pool and BBQ facilities and found the staff to be so helpful.

Thanks for the feedback regarding being on the ground level. As you know, some holiday periods are rather busy and occupancy is often 100%. We'll be sure to let guests know where their rooms are located in future.

I will also have a look into the bed in your studio apartment and see what we can do there.

Thanks again for the feedback and happy travels.

Best Regards

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a week at the Grand Palais in early September. Had a wonderful holiday and enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We did however get the room on the ground floor next to the surf shop and if we went back again (which we would definitly stay here again) we would pay more and get a one bedroom apartment. Having said that the room was clean and tidy and it didn't spoil our holiday. They have a lovely pool which we used every day. Alexander heads is in a great location as we could walk to Mooloolaba and Cotton tree point.

Room Tip: Gound floor room was noisy and no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi sandyjh,

Thanks for the review.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us in September. Great to hear you found your room so clean and tidy, and the pool and location so good for your stay.

Thanks for the feedback on your room regarding noise - we'll see what we can do.

See you next time,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.6 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
#3 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premie...
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palais Beachside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palais Beachside Resort

Property: Grand Palais Beachside Resort
Address: 188 Alexandra Pde, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palais Beachside Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Palais Beachside Resort holiday accommodation apartments are your perfect choice in affordable luxury on the Sunshine Coast. Will full amenities, a great location and amazing views, we have it all here at Grand Palais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Palais Beachside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palais Beachside Hotel Alexandra Headland
Grand Palais Beachside Resort Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing