We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday Position - will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Palais Beachside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our family flew in from Auckland to Brisbane and drove to this Resort. We had a beach view from our apartment. The apartment was well set up, perfect for self catering, comforatble with fantastic views. We would recomend the Alexandra Heads Surf club across the road for eating - very family friendly and reasonably priced. This resort is right in between Mooloolaba and Maroochydore so is quieter but easy walking distance to shops and reasturants if you wish. Easy driving inland for short afternoon trips, with a great beach and nice sized swiming pool. Ross and Karen and Jodie all very helpful and nice to deal with.

Room Tip: Beachside if you want sun in the morning - west side of complex if you want sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Hi Tony d,

Thanks for the review - great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I'm pleased to hear you like your room and especially glad you found the staff to be so helpful - great to know we could give you a hand.

Great that you found the location so spot on and enjoyed the facilities at the resort.

Safe travels and kind regards,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 351 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have just come back from a week at the Grand Palais. Really fantastic location - right over the street from the beach and close to all the local eateries with an inhouse thai restaurant. Lovely people at reception who were very helpful. Kids made good use of the heated pool.
We would definately stay again. Out of interest we checked out units on other floors but to be honest we loved the aspect we had on the 2nd floor with a beach frontage. And to top it off, we saw heaps of whales - breaching and playing - better than we saw on a whale watching trip we went on a few years back - they were right in close just past the nets.

Room Tip: Although our room had street frontage, apart from the first night which was a public holiday and foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Hi Michelle b,

Thanks for the review, your support is really appreciated.

We get so much positive feedback about the location - particularly the beach - so it's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed it as well.

Thanks also for your kind words regarding staff - we work hard to help as much as possible - it's great to hear you found us lovely!

Great timing with the whales! It's always lovely to be able to see them.

Kind regards,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The staff were very helpful and friendly, and we really have no complaints at all. Alexandra Headlands is situated between Maroochydore and Mooloolaba so we did quite a lot of walking (along the beach though!) but as we were there purely for R & R, it was good for us to do some exercise. The Thai restaurant near the main entrance is very close and exceptionally tasty too, with a small selection of shops in Alex Headlands itself. The beach is just across the road and ideal- far less people than Maroochydore or Mooloolaba. We got a great package deal (included flights from New Zealand) and it was all very very cheap- for what we paid I expected far less.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jyg255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Hello jyg255118,

Thanks for the review - we appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your stay.

Sounds like everything was spot on for your stay - location, staff, value. It's fantastic to hear and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Safe travels and kind regards,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our family of five had a great stay at the Grand Palais. Great facilities, clean room and friendly staff. We were in a three bedroom apartment with roof top and loved every minute of our stay. We had fantastic views. 10 minute walk to Mooloolaba and 20 minute walk to Maroochydore Maccas for the kids. Only took the car out once to visit Sunshine Plaza. Kids loved the pool as it was heated. Handy shops and takeaway close by and patrolled beach directly opposite. We couldn't have asked for a better vacation and booked our next stay on leaving.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Hello Karen M,

Thanks so much for the fantastic review - especially the 5 stars!

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Great to know you loved your apartment - aren't the views something!

The location is very convenient and it's great to hear you found it so as well. Especially to hear you didn't need to use your car - always a plus!

Thanks again for the great review and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Unit 52 on level 3 is a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom unit with Spacious kitchen dining living area with ocean views . Easy to use electric bbq on the deck . Complex has a great swimming pool. Patrolled beach across the road. Short walk across the road to the surf club with great meals.Great location 10 Minutes walk to Mooloolaba and about 10 minutes drive to Sunshine Plaza mall Maroochdyre.
Public transport outside the door.
We had a wonderful holiday and this unit is very comfortable place to relax and enjoy the view
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwinzkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Hi kiwinzkiwi,

Thanks for the review!

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I'm so pleased the location was convenient and you were able to make the most of the beach and local surrounds.

We get a lot of great comments about the views and pool - I hope you enjoyed them too.

Kind regards and safe travels,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our week with you was great. Everything clean & all the basics there and very friendly staff.Nothing to much trouble.We were on the ground floor and would probably go to level 2 for a better view. Did think the traffic noise would be a concern being right on the road front but was pleased to find that quietened down before bed time and as we were out exploring most of the day so it did not become a problem.
Did find it a bit dodgy getting into the spa bath for a shower was quite high sides to get into, nothing to hang onto (for Oldies)
Very well located with Mooloolaba only 10 mins walk and Maroochydore just 25 mins, bit longer to the Sunshine Plaza.Kawana Shopping centre was great too,just on from Mooloolaba.Not so crowded. Bus stop located right over the road.
Enjoyed the meal deals on offer too. all very handy.
Time went by so quickly so have to come back for more

Cheers Carol & Graham Peters.

Room Tip: a higher floor is needed for the view and to feeling of space, as ground floor felt a wee bit hemmed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Hi Carol P,

Thanks so much for the great review.

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm especially pleased to hear you found the staff so helpful and the location handy. I'm really glad to hear you didn't have any issues with traffic noise - we always tell people it doesn't tend to be an issue, but it sounds much better coming from a happy guest!

Thanks for the comments on the bath - I will look into that today.

Happy travels and kind regards,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Palais recently and had a wonderful holiday. The management and staff are very helpful and friendly. The apartment had (almost) everything you would expect from a self catering apartment and is in a very convenient postion.

My only criticism is that they are now looking old and need some updating. Especially the bathrooms.

Room Tip: The rooms with a roof terrace are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aunty-MacMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Hi Aunty-MacMac,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and let others know about us.

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and I'm thrilled to hear you found the service so helpful and friendly. Pleased also to see the apartment was so conveniently situated.

Thanks also for the feedback regarding the bathrooms, I'll certainly look into it. I noticed also that you said the apartment had almost everything you would expect - feel free to email me at info@grandpalais.com.au with any details.

Kind regards,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.7 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#3 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premie...
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palais Beachside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palais Beachside Resort

Address: 188 Alexandra Pde, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Alexandra Headland
Price Range: $102 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palais Beachside Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Palais Beachside Resort holiday accommodation apartments are your perfect choice in affordable luxury on the Sunshine Coast. Will full amenities, a great location and amazing views, we have it all here at Grand Palais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Palais Beachside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palais Beachside Hotel Alexandra Headland
Grand Palais Beachside Resort Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing