We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again - despite the proximity to the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Palais Beachside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2008

I stayed at the Grand Palais and it was horrible. The decor was dated, and the bedding was lumpy and tired. The kitchen cupboards were smelly, which in my opinion isn't acceptable for the price.

We had a couple of maintainance issues and we were dealt with flippantly, it was if we were wasting their time and had caused the problem ourselves.

There are plenty of other condos on the beach to stay at in this area, and next time we will be checking them out.

Wouldn't recommend it and won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IheartWaikiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Hello IheartWaikiki

Thanks for this feedback way back in 2008.

As the new manager here at Grand Palais I've been reviewing past feedback and have been reassuring guests that our all new team is absolutely committed to ensuring everyone has a great stay.

We're now all very friendly and here to help.

You might take a look at our most recent Trip Advisor reviews to see some wonderful reviews reflective of our efforts. We also have a web site blog where people can comment, along with a Facebook page.

Thanks again for the feedback.

Kind regards

Karen
Manager - Grand Palais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 370 of 370 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2007

From the moment we pulled up to this place it was fantastic!! After the midnight horror flight with a 2 yr old, we were dying for a decent rest and to relax and start our holiday. When we arrived the people in the room the night before did not turn up so we got straight in there with lots of helpful advice from the man behind the counter on what to see and do. The 2 bedroom unit we had was absolutely perfect, no silly little trinkets for our little man to break, and fabulous views over to the water, Two large bedrooms a spa which was well used by us, and another bathroom, only little fault, the second bedroom let quite alot of light in as there were hallway lights that were on all night. Everything about the place was exactly as they explained it. It was a great start to our holiday and we have now got the inlaws going there next year!! If we were to go back we would probably not stay here for the only reason was that when our little man went to sleep in the afternoon one of us couldn't go look at shops or anything like that so we would stay down closer to the mooloolaba end.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank espgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Hello espgirl,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review.

First of all, apologies for the slow reply. We took over the management of Grand Palais in 2011, so it was a little while after your stay.

Regardless, we're thrilled to hear you had such a great stay. So pleased you enjoyed the apartment and spa - even more so to hear you found Grand Palais very child friendly.

Thanks again and kind regards,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2006

Staff excellent. Friendly, obliging & helpful.
Room (2Bedroom) superb. Spacious, spotless & on 3rd floor, uninterrupted ocean views through 180deg, big spa in main B/R & each B/r has own amenities. Directly opposite patrolled beach & resort pool is really well maintained, as is the bbq.
Stayed a week & the only drawback is it is right on the beach road which has its fair share of late night car revving, tyre screaming idiots. The 'Outrigger' at Mooloolaba is similarly appointed and much quieter but with a slightly higher price. The noise doesnt go all night and the views almost make you forget it

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank fuzzyrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Hi fuzzyrhino,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and apologies for the late response - we took over as managers in the middle of 2011.

We're thrilled to hear you had such a great stay. Particularly glad to hear you enjoyed the apartments, beautiful views, beach and the resort pool and BBQ.

We're very sorry to hear you had to put up with the late night car noise - all I can really say in this respect is that it hasn't been an issue since we took over the resort and no guests have mentioned this in their reviews, so it appears to have resolved itself.

Thanks again for the kind review,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Tatyana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Owner at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.6 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 16 in Mooloolaba
293 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
#3 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premie...
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palais Beachside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palais Beachside Resort

Address: 188 Alexandra Pde, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Alexandra Headland
Price Range: $118 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palais Beachside Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Palais Beachside Resort holiday accommodation apartments are your perfect choice in affordable luxury on the Sunshine Coast. Will full amenities, a great location and amazing views, we have it all here at Grand Palais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Palais Beachside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palais Beachside Hotel Alexandra Headland
Grand Palais Beachside Resort Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing