We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food & Service”
Review of Thai Street Restaurant - CLOSED

Thai Street Restaurant
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Food & Service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at Grande Palais which is above Thai Street & ate from here twice including once with our friends. We found the service efficient & the food great. Would definitely recommend it to others.
It was busy every night which tells us that we were not the only ones that found it great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    31
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Warning do not eat here”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Never have I experienced such bad service and even worse food. Could not eat either of the soups when canceling mains did not bother to ask why just took my offer to pay for the uneaten soups!
Run by amatures. Horrified people like this are allowed to open restaurants

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Messimeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eudlo, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Service was lacking as was the décor and ambience”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Three of us went to this restaurant mid week. On entering we had to wait some time before we were attended to although at the time the restaurant only had 4 other diners. Once seated we were given our menu's and then had to wait for 35mins before one of the staff came across to take our orders. When we complained, in a courteous manner, as to having to wait so long before our orders where taken, the young wait staff told us that she thought that the manger was going to take our order. She did not apologise to us about our long wait. Maybe management and the wait staff need to have a far better system in place in regards to whom is going to wait on which tables so that there is no confusion.

The food was somewhat tasty, but nothing special, and the size of our meals were so large that 2 of us to ask for doggy bags, which the our waitress was only to happy to provide.

Both the décor and ambience of this restaurant are certainly nothing to write home about.

Even on leaving this restaurant we received no apology from any of the staff on us having to had waited so long before having our orders taken and because of this lack of common courtesy to the customer we would probably not wish to dine at this restaurant again. Would we recommend this restaurant to our friends? sorry to have to say, No.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hinterlandboyz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Loved this place. They do great food, are based in a great location and their food is really well priced. Recommended! Try the Karre Curry!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdt3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmwoods, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Absolute beautiful food, great service”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We are just so thrilled to have discovered this amazing Thai restaurant. Food so flavoursome,fresh and cooked to perfection. Service was very efficient and friendly. Superb location with beautiful ocean views and breeze. Will definitely return with and recommend to family and friends.Love it!!

Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Street Restaurant also viewed

Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast
 
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 
Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast
Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing