We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tourist park!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alex Beach Cabins & Tourist Park
Woombye, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tourist park!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

As a visitor of the Alex Beach Tourist Caravan Park for around 30 years, I would just like to say how well maintained the grounds, buildings and pool are. Over the years they have continually upgraded the the park and I would like to congratulate the managers and staff on their spectacular efforts. We visit a ensuite van site and we find the fees very reasonable and a great way to catch up with friends. The park is situated in Okinja Rd Alexandra Headlands, Sunshine Coast, Qld. Ian and Elaine Wells

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    83
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
79
84
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here for the after boxing day to new year period 2013/2014, the hosts were prompt and friendly and assisted with our questions. The unit was no 12 its your typical ensuite cabin with most kitchen facilities including fire burner stove and grill, fridge and freezer, microwave, most of the plates, saucers, bowls, utensils you are gonna need for a week stay in the cabin. the room featured a sizable LCD TV with only local digital channels only, 3 Beds inc 1 double, 1 single and 1 on the floor on wheels mattress bed, there is a café sized table and high school hall type plastic chairs, there is 2 outside type chairs in the porch area, a key activated wall airconditoner, opening windows from the north and south and in the ensuite keeping room airly. The ensuite featured a step in shower not quite bath tub that had ok water pressure. Cabin located in a quite area set back from the main road, its about 100 meters from the front curve of Okinja Road, ti is 150 meters from a northbound bus stop that has buses stop rarely 1/hr and a southbound that is 170 meters again 1 a hour bus. to catch more buses you must walk 250meters to 300meters to get to Aerodrome road. Consider a few things when staying here the kiddies love the swimming pool and playground there would be always someone playing the well lit up pool and playground area so it does get quite busy, to get to the nearest patrolled beach at Alex beach you must walk 100meters down the drive way and than walk back where the nice huge pond area is located at nelson park there is no back entrance even thou there is a gate it is closed for security purposes even thou any joe can enter from the front of the complex, you must take the keys with you with the advertising tag that is glued to the keyring that means that you cannot have aircond left on and you must leave windows open for air circ and the quite ceiling fan turned on, also advertising tag only says the cabin number and if lost return to alex SLSC be careful when taking these keys to the beach/pool as they can be a security breach of your cabin if stolen or lost. The fish n chip shop on Alex Pde is great and cheap, the supermarket next to it is quite expensive, go down towards to Alex beach there is another much cheaper supermarket there. used the laundry hand wash facilities it was ok. caravan park has varying degree of accom, as we drove along the complex the cabins got bigger and bigger, we were staying at a basic entry ensuite cabin, Alex Tourist park is close to everything and most clubs such as Alex SLSC and Maroochy RSL will pick and drop off from here. Lastly as with all cabins I have stayed at the ants love the joint no ants in the bathroom this time but in the kitchen they love the kitchen top, hosts gave us a can of surface spray to rid the ants they congregated daily.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexBeachCabins, Guest Relations Manager at Alex Beach Cabins & Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your review and comments about the park.

We alleviate the security key issue with having a local Surf Club sponsor our keys. This way, should a guest misplace their key it is not identified as ours, ensuring security for the guest. This has worked for us over the time the Resident Park Managers have ran the park over the past 30 years.

Ants can be an issue in Queensland and unfortunately when it rains they can become a nuisance, we are glad the spray helped.

Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Tessa Steven
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bondi beach
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have been coming to this park for a number of years now simply because we love it so much.The park is clean,tidy,has VERY freindly staff and is close to everything. On this visit my husband had to go to hospital unexpectadley. He was'nt allowed to travel so we had to stay on past our check-out date. Les and Margaret and the staff were fantastic and re-arranged other guests to accommodate our extra time we had to stay there,it made it easier for us. Thanks.
Well worth a visit. Joanne and Melvin Bondi Beach

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meljomolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexBeachCabins, Guest Relations Manager at Alex Beach Cabins & Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi Joanne,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. We were only to happy to help you while Melvin was having his operation and then recovery.

See you next year,

Tessa Steven
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here for a week (2 adults, 3 children - 9yr old, 7yr old, 3yr old) during the September school holidays and loved our stay. Our cabin was great, a/c worked well and the kids loved the bunks. The only thing we wished for was perhaps a large curtain for the kids' bunk area like the one for the queen bed area, so that the adults could have lights on after the kids are in bed. So next time, we would reserve the two bedroom cabin for that reason. The kids loved the pool and swam every day, and a short walk away was a fabulous park (Nelson Park) with a large new fenced playground surrounded by a picturesque lake. The beach and shops and restaurants 5 mins walk away were great, and there are plenty of fast food takeaways within 5min driving distance too. We used Alex Cabins as our base from which to drive around and visit some of the fun attractions on the Sunshine Coast, like Underwater World, Bellingham Maze, The Ginger Factory, Strawberry Fields and Opals Down Under. Our kids are still talking about our amazing Sunshine Coast trip. Thanks Alex Beach Cabins for an affordable excellent holiday break!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmama3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexBeachCabins, Guest Relations Manager at Alex Beach Cabins & Tourist Park, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Hi Jenny,

Thank you for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay and the location we have. We love it too and all the team here put lots of effort in to make our guests stay run smoothly. I will pass on your wonderful review to our team here.

Thank you again and have a lovely Boxing Day!

Tessa Steven
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was an unexpected treasure. We usually stay at a high rise in Maroochydore but decided on a last minute weekend away with a girlfriend. We couldn't have asked for a better location and cabin. We had so much fun from the heated pool to the beach (only one block away). We were able to cook in the shared BBQ area and were treated so well by management. It was really one of the best holidays I have had in a while and the cabins were so much fun. Can't wait to book another trip. It is not for someone expecting a 5 star experience but so much fun for someone wanting to get away and hang out like a surfer.

Room Tip: We had a room that backed on to a park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belindo4President
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexBeachCabins, Guest Relations Manager at Alex Beach Cabins & Tourist Park, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Loving my job at the moment, when we get reviews like yours it makes me smile! Thank you so much for posting your review and for staying with us, see you again real soon. Tessa Steven Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We normally avoid resort style caravan parks because of cost and it was for personal social reasons we relented and stayed here. Given its location, perhaps $37 wasn't too bad for a powered caravan site, and I have to say that this park disappointed on no levels at all. Everything is immaculate, spotless, manicured. The sites are perfectly planned, concrete finished just so, which means the positioning of the vehicle must also be just so. There was a palm tree in the way which made this less than a perfect experience but otherwise what could one say against it all. The location is fabulous, close to the shops and beach or to the city facilities if you need shopping centres and chain stores instead. We would come again if we felt the need to be centrally placed on the Sunshine Coast. But of course this was also hugely enhanced by our reunion with friends on a personal level. Hopefully our rose coloured spectacles did not colour this review!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexBeachCabins, Guest Relations Manager at Alex Beach Cabins & Tourist Park, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at Alex Beach Cabins and Tourist Park, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and your reunion.

Regards,

Tessa Steven
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Was very pleasantly surprised, very affordable, very clean. Have never considered cabins at a tourist park but definitely will now. Staff were very welcoming and were very happy to know we enjoyed our stay. Close to restaurants, bottle shop and surf club along with flagged beach and a lot more. We spent the weekend there and did not need our car. I don't want to share this place for fear that we won't get in next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAKPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.1 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
#3 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premie...
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
900 reviews
6.0 mi away
BIG4 Forest Glen Holiday Resort
0.5 mi away
Grand Palais Beachside Resort
Grand Palais Beachside Resort
#1 of 15 in Alexandra Headland
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex Beach Cabins & Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Beach Cabins & Tourist Park

Property: Alex Beach Cabins & Tourist Park
Address: Alex Beach Caravan Park 21 - 23 Okinja Rd, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alex Beach Cabins & Tourist Park 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex Beach Cabins and Tourist Park offers a superb range of beach accommodation at Alexandra Headland, in the heart of the Sunshine Coast in Queensland, Australia, 120kms north of Brisbane. It features 74 Villas, Holiday Homes, Cabins and 40 Caravan Sites. Alex Beach Cabins and Tourist Park is only 200 metres from the surf and short strolls from the famous Alex Surf Club, and al fresco dining at local Restaurants and Cafes. This Top Tourist Park is quietly situated with no road noise, and is designed to suit your personal, family, group, or Club holiday requirements. You are only an easy walk from long sandy beaches, close to Maroochydore or Mooloolaba, and only minutes' drive from hinterland villages, rainforests and rivers. Surf, sail, ski, fish, golf, bushwalk or go sightseeing on the Sunshine Coast or just relax in the Queensland sunshine at our heated pool. We look forward to welcoming you to your home-away-from-home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Alex Beach Cabins & Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Beach Cabins & Tourist Park Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing