We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool, shame about the rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pool, shame about the rest”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We are staying here over Christmas and have really enjoyed the fabulous lagoon pool and proximity to beach and surf club.

With much disappointment I would have to say I'm glad we have family nearby and don't have to stay in our cramped 3 bedroom apartment whose facilities are less than average.

It's the height of summer and our air con doesn't work. The tiny kitchen is only just adequate. The lack of a coffee filter has been a sore point, particularly when everything is closed over Christmas. We couldn't even serve up a salad as the kitchen has basics... Certainly not a salad bowl. The unit sleeps 6 but the tiny living room only has enough lounge seating for two? The 2 seater sofa feels cheap too.
The bathrooms smell of stale drains and we had to fill up our bath for our 3 year old using the shower as the switcher wouldn't work.
I've read other reviews about the uncomfortable beds and concur. My husband, who keeps himself fit, has had to resort to long floor stretches each morning to straighten his back.
Lastly, the sunny terrace was unbearable... No shade (even a cheap umbrella would have been better than nothing) and no privacy from guests up on the two balconies above us.
What a disappointment. The pool is enough to draw me back but only with reassurance that there have been upgrades to the rooms.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TMaccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear TMaccy,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us, we always appreciate your feedback as this helps us to maintain and improve our standards.

We thank you for bringing the maintenance issues you experienced in your room to our attention. Unfortunately, we are regretful that we did not have the opportunity to discuss or rectify during your stay with us.

Once again we do apologise for any inconvenience caused and are glad to hear to may return.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    367
    168
    35
    17
See reviews for
478
234
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London- SW
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights with our little bub.
The pools were great. 2 quiet pools that were heated & had shading half the day and a long long lagoon resort style pool. Heaps of people staying here and the pools never seemed crowded.
Heaps of shaded car parking.
We found the staff friendly & helpful.
Our room, top 4th floor overlooking the pool, and a view of the sea! There's a lift.

Great one bedroom (440). Every convenience, comfy bed and plenty of space for the 3 of us.
A nice surprise to find a washing machine, dryer and full sized fridge and all cooking utensils and pans etc. Wish we had known this earlier as we would have booked our trip for longer (perhaps could be better advertised online?)

Admittedly, some parts of the room were dated, but it's a kid friendly, family beach hotel in Qld Sunshine coast, not a city 5 star executive hotel.
It was clean, functional and perfect for families. I am happy with the decor for the price I paid.

All these people complaining about decor, I wonder if they would pay the extra money it would cost to update hundreds of rooms??

Great food spots - the surf club was great for food and the kiosk out front great for coffee.
TIP: Avoid the Sri Lankan/Eastern restaurant, over priced, poor poor quality food.

As soon as school hols are over we'll be back! Thankyou...

Room Tip: We chose top floor, pool facing room, there's a lift and the noise levels were low. Personally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viksta_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Viksta_1,

“Great place, perfect for sunny family break, value for money!” and 5 Stars – Thank you.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive comments and we appreciate you taking the time to share your stay with us.

We look forward to you returning when next on the Sunshine Coast.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager

PS. Thank you for your tip regarding the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our room (3 Bedroom - Ocean views) was dated, old and uncomfortable. Ironically, the beds in the kids room were actually comfy.

Pros:
Pool is amazing.
Has kids play area
Has a very small gym.
Has BBQ's and a restaurant and close (walking distance) to corner convenience shops and Surf Club.
Location (close to the surf club and not far from everything in Maroochydoore).
Kitchen had everything you could possibly need.
Have a second bathroom was a nice treat/bonus.

Cons:
My biggest gripe with these hotels is beds. Why in heck, do they charge us $200 for beds that I wouldn't ask someone I didn't like to sleep in. I could honestly feel the springs in my bed. My wife felt like she was going to fall off the side of her slalom side of the bed. How hard is it for hotels to buy a new bed every couple of years? Sheesh!
Customer service was satisfactory but nothing to write home about.
The room was/is dated, and desperately needs updating.

I would give this hotel 3.5 stars. If they fixed up their customer service and fixed their beds, they'd get 4 stars. If they updated and modernised their rooms, they'd deserve 4.5 stars. This hotel would be the best on the Sunshine Coast with some clever renovations.

Here's some ideas for management:

Buy a coffee machine and offer each guest a free coffee for their stay.
Modernise your rooms and invest in comfortable beds. Go and stay (or pay someone to do so) in every single room (as management) and fix all the things that need fixing.
Put a kids games room somewhere in the hotel.
Have someone responsible and available to help guests. We'd have loved some ideas on good places to go, great places to eat, etc..but staff always seemed too busy to care.

We would stay here every six months if we heard that it was going to be renovated, but as it stands right now, we can't wait to get out of the place.

Room Tip: We had a good room on the third floor. I would not recommend staying in a room by the pool. I mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Daren36,

Thank you for a detailed review, in particular regarding the pool, kids play area, gym and the BBQ area.

We have noted your feedback for future upgrades and are pleased to say we will be reviewing the option of coffee machines in the new year.

Merry Christmas I do appreciate your time in posting this review.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Had a great few days at the Alex Apartments, great pool, and just across the road was the beach and Surf Club. As we were new guests we received lots of nice goodies for our first morning, including bread, milk, bacon and eggs! Mooloolaba is only a 20 minute walk so everything we wanted was close by. My only negative comment would be that maybe the rooms could do with a bit of a makeover ie grouting in tiles in kitchen and bathroom could do with cleaning, and the kitchen workspace was rather cramped. It would have been nice to have an oven and grill, and would prefer that over the washing machine and drier. However, everywhere else was nice and clean. I would mention however that I ended up washing dishes as the dishwasher didn't get anything clean.

Room Tip: Higher floors and a wing away from the pool if you don't have little children such as the Glenel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaL177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear PatriciaL177

Thank you for the 5 Star review and excellent comment regarding the nearby facilities and amenities.

It is a great time of the year to travel and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to you returning.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

PROS -
Large and spacious one bedroom (incl laundry)
Excellent kids outdoor spa/pool area including waterside
Across the road from the Beach
Free onsite car parking

CONS -
Room was out dated, just a few simple things like artwork and lamps would make such a difference
Shower over bath
Odd kitchen design, potential for something great

TIP -
A lot of hotels on the Sunshie Coast have a minimum stay and this didn't also offering good pricing

Take beach towels, these are available for hire through the hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alabuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Alabuck,

Thank you for your review of the highlights, and lowlights of your stay.

We receive many great comments and are always grateful when our guests take the time to share their experiences with us and fellow travellers.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Friendly staff and good apartments. Was very happy staying here. Had two girls and they were in the pool non stop. Too cold for me though. Tv in the bedroom would of been a bonus so the kids can watch one and the adult can watch the other. Kitchen fantastic. clean. No issues with the resort at all. Great Value for the $. Close to takeaway.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Free15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Free15

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased you were able to make the most of the resort and facilities and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from 9 nights at the Breakfree Alex Beach and highly recommend it. I was traveling with my husband, 3yo, 9 month old and my parents. We stayed in a Deluxe 3 bedroom apartment and it was very spacious. Originally we planned for the kids to share a room but the master bedroom was so huge that we put the baby in a portacot in the walk in robe (and still had room for all our stuff in there!). The living and dining rooms were large and the kitchen was well equipped. The apartment was a bit dated but very clean, so I'd definitely prefer it to a newer shoebox apartment.
The pool was amazing! Absolutely gigantic with a huge lagoon section (not heated but tolerable in late October), two large slightly heated sections and two warm spas. Lots of steps and shallow sloped areas for the kids. Plus the two slides!
Beach across the road, playground and BBQs on site, easy access to restaurants, supermarkets (we had a car)... Couldn't have asked for more! Especially at a very reasonable price.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneRachH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear MelbourneRachH,

Thank you for the 5 star Review, two in a row.

It is always encouraging to receive such positive comments and I will be sure to share with the staff.

We trust you were able to take time to laze around the pool and that you were able to enjoy the facilities as listed.

We look forward to you returning to Breakfree Alexandra Beach Resort.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.9 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
493 reviews
9.5 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 15 in Mooloolaba
272 reviews
9.5 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort

Property: Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Address: Crn Alexandra Pde & Pacific Terrace, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just across the road from the beach and designed around a 150m tropical lagoon pool, BreakFree Alexandra Beach offers a great location for great value in the heart of the Sunshine Coast. BreakFree Alexandra Beach has a range of accommodation options for you to choose from including Studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments, all with air conditioning, balcony or terrace, cable TV, hair dryer and laundry (an extra person rate applies for use of the sofa bed). If pool views are what you are after, then spend a little more and book a 1 or 2 Bedroom Pool View Apartment or even a 3 Bedroom Penthouse. This resort offers a great position along with onsite facilities to keep you and the kids entertained. With two heated pools and spas, a waterslide, gymnasium, childrens playground and BBQ facilities, you will always have plenty to do. Alexandra Headland, known by the locals as 'Alex', is a small coastal community complemented by the soothing rolling surf and inviting beaches. This Sunshine Coast town is also fringed by Mooloolaba, Buderim and Maroochydore with a superb coastal sweep to the north and bush setting foothills to the west. BreakFree Alexandra Beach is the right choice for your next Sunshine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Hotel Alexandra Headland
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing