We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Northland, Northland, New Zealand
1 review
“Friendly place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at your resort; significantly helped by the fantastic weather!!! Our 1 bdrm apt was rather small but adequate for our 7 night stay, kitchen very small but fairly well equipped. Lovely view from our balcony overlooking the pool and spa area but unfortunately, being in the 'glenelg' section, our balconies missed the sun. The spa was way to strong in chlorine - rediculously so but we mentioned this to reception on our departure, yes we realise we should have mentioned this straight away. All in all, a fabulous location and pretty good value for money.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 'glenelg' if you enjoy sun on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Diana M,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the weather was great for you. (which it normally is)

Thank you for your comments regarding the spa chemical, this since been addressed with the replacement of all automatic systems.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.



Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    304
    144
    29
    14
See reviews for
391
206
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had a great stay here, furnishings a little dated but wasn't expecting 5 star! A great location directly opposite Surf Club, good walk to shops and restaurants. In contrast to previous review, we enjoyed the heated pools and spa - which were spotlessly clean. Good facilities and friendly staff. Ample off street secure parking

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Deborah W

Thank you for your great review.

We are pleased to read you had a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed the nearby shops and restaurants.

We hope to see you return in the near future


Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed with the whole resort, rooms very dated in need if complete refurbishment.
Corridors, lifts and pool surrounds are in need of a good clean.
Pool very impressive but it has algae on the bottom and sides and ducks swimming in it
Spa pool water is unpleasant
Nice location across from the beach but will leaving early and not returning

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caroelliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Caroelliot,

Thank you for your review.

We regret your disappointment with our resort and facilities and would be happy to discuss further, if given the opportunity.

We endeavour to provide and maintain the resort to the highest standards and are sorry you will not be returning.


Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The rooms are a suitable size for a short stay and the 150m resort pool is a beautiful site to look out on. The interior of rooms are a little past their prime, with obvious wear and tear and cheap furnishings. Despite this it is a nice warm, family friendly resort.
The short walk across the road to beautiful Alexandra Heads and the beach is what this resort sells itself on though. The views are amazing and the area in general is so laid back that you feel right at home with the locals. The staff at the resort are also very friendly and helpful.
Perfect for a long weekend stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Kevin B

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us.

We note your comments regarding the room interior and are due to begin our refurbishment program in the near future and hope to provide more details as we get closer.

It is always rewarding to receive positive comments regarding our staff and please be assured this is recognised with each team member personally.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights recently and was impressed with the staff helpfulness. We were travelling with another family so they managed to get us next-door to each other. Also allowed us a late checkout due to baby sleeping. Understand this probably wouldn't be possible in high season but made our holiday so much easier.
The resort overall is good. A bit run down (the louvered doors from the main bedroom needed a bit of care so they weren't so noisy and didn't fall off tracks and one slat was missing so light would go through into room).
Excellent balcony allowed outside time when it rained without feeling cramped and easy access to pool.
Smaller heated pool and spa and waterslide were great. Larger pool would be fantastic in warmer weather.
Great beach across rd (hotel provided bucket and spade for kids) and good walk to mooloolaba.
Made it so easy having dishwasher, dryer, washing machine etc in the room.
Would stay again with kids.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H0lz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear H0lz0,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such feedback on your recent stay and especially regarding the comments relating to our staff and service.

We are happy to hear you are impressed with the proximity of our properties location and facilities, including the lagoon pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Creek
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in a studio room on the top floor, overlooking the pool. The room was small, but it was clean and had everything 2 people would need for a few days. (However, if we return I would book a 1 bedroom apartment for the extra space). The bath and shower were large and the bed was very comfortable. The room had a lovely little balcony that faced the Alexandra Headland Surf Club, with a view to the ocean. The resort pool is terrific for families and looks lovely at night as it features coloured lighting. The "swim up rooms" looked like a great option for families. Good barbeque facilities are provided for guests to use and there is a small gym available too. There are lots of places close by to choose from if you are looking for somewhere to eat. (take away and restaurants)
The only negative comment I would make is that the studio rooms on the top floor do not have a totally covered roof on the balcony. They have slats with large spaces between them, so when it rained we could not sit outside or even open the sliding door as the rain was blowing inside. (The top floor rooms that are not studios do have fully covered balconies though). Overall though, it provided a relaxing place to spend a few days. (and we got a fantastic deal on a holiday website - only $80 per night for the room!!).

Room Tip: The studios are probably only good for a couple of days - any longer and the small space may get har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenMountainCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear KarenMountainCreek

Thank you for your 4 star review and overall good comments regarding the resort and facilities.

We are pleased you were able to enjoy your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your comments.

We look forward to you returning to BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort and hope you will be able to stay a little longer next time.


Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at breakfree for 3 nights in April 2013. It rained the entire time which of course is not the resorts fault but when forced to stay indoors more you certainly notice how uncomfortable the rooms are.
We got the accommodation through a deal with entertainment book and departure Lounge. I would not pay full price for this resort. The large pool and spa is very impressive and families seemed to enjoy it. I think if we had been able to use these outdoor facilities more we would have rated the resort better but we found the weather really cold and the pools freezing - although the spa was nice even in the rain - except hardly any shelter around the pool so our towels got drenched. Pool was also very dirty.
The lift stank, the floor wasn't properly lined and it was sludgy from wet bodies from the pool.
We had a one bedroom apartment and it was very small with very dated furniture. Just a tiny two seater cane chair to sit in.
All we had for a self contained unit was a stovetop and a microwave so made cooking difficult.
Also for a one bedroom unit the bedroom was only seperated from the loungeroom with a sliding slatted door so did not keep any noise out, this proved difficult as we put our 2 year old to sleep in the bedroom but had to watch the tv on mute with subtitles because she kept waking up.
The electrical checks for the hair dryer and microwave were a year out of date and when staff were notified they didn't care.
What was good was the staff were otherwise friendly. The shower had great water pressure and the bath tub was lovely and big. It was a great location despite the weather and I imagine if we weren't in the room so much we wouldn't have been so easily annoyed by the room but it certainly proved to be very small and uncomfortable in the evenings when trying to relax after our daughter went to sleep.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nezzta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Nezzta,

We were sorry to hear about the poor weather during your stay.
While we are pleased you found the large pool and spa very impressive, unfortunately we may have missed the mark in some other areas.

Regarding the room size, a two bedroom with a separate room may have been more suitable however we regret we did not have the opportunity to offer any alternatives during your stay with us.

Regarding the lifts, we in the process of replacing all 4 lifts and offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience throughout the process. This should be completed by mid August.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.8 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
#3 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
0.3 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
18.6 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort

Property: Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Address: Crn Alexandra Pde & Pacific Terrace, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just across the road from the beach and designed around a 150m tropical lagoon pool, BreakFree Alexandra Beach offers a great location for great value in the heart of the Sunshine Coast. BreakFree Alexandra Beach has a range of accommodation options for you to choose from including Studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments, all with air conditioning, balcony or terrace, cable TV, hair dryer and laundry (an extra person rate applies for use of the sofa bed). If pool views are what you are after, then spend a little more and book a 1 or 2 Bedroom Pool View Apartment or even a 3 Bedroom Penthouse. This resort offers a great position along with onsite facilities to keep you and the kids entertained. With two heated pools and spas, a waterslide, gymnasium, childrens playground and BBQ facilities, you will always have plenty to do. Alexandra Headland, known by the locals as 'Alex', is a small coastal community complemented by the soothing rolling surf and inviting beaches. This Sunshine Coast town is also fringed by Mooloolaba, Buderim and Maroochydore with a superb coastal sweep to the north and bush setting foothills to the west. BreakFree Alexandra Beach is the right choice for your next Sunshine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Hotel Alexandra Headland
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing