We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Pool For Children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch NZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Pool For Children”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights and had two units together. We had asked for one unit to be a swim up unit when we booked about 6 weeks ago but were told they couldnt be booked. On arrival we asked again but were told that they were all booked up. When swimming past there were certainly rooms on the ground floor unoccupied so good luck if you manage to secure one of these units. The two units we had were ok. Could have been cleaner and could definitely do with an update. The heat pump on the balcony made a terrible noise and had to be turned off if you wanted to watch the old fashioned square television. Unfortunately when we were there there was a group of young people who wanted to drink their beer in the pool. Although there were signs up saying this was not allowed, there was no supervision from any hotel staff. The best thing was the pool areas. They are amazing and definitely suited to children under 10 years old.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetuniaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear PetuniaNZ,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort.

Regarding swim up units, unfortunately there are only eight units along the pool and are a mixture of room types from studio to three bedrooms. Regarding unoccupied units throughout your stay, several are individually owned and considered as a lock up for personal owner use.

We are constantly reviewing the facilities and service on offer and have noted your comments regarding the rooms and pool supervision.

In the meantime, thank you again for your comments and we look forward to you returning when next on the Sunshine Coast.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    358
    162
    34
    16
See reviews for
464
226
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We recently stayed for a family weekend that is planned all year. We stayed in 3 units, so experienced a range of levels of accommodation. There was only one saving thing, the pool which was absolutely lovely. The units were dirty, shabby, unmaintained and overall the facilities were substandard. The staff handled our complaints well. One example was being checked into 2 units both of which had not been serviced; ie. we let ourselves in to find the mess of the previous guests. This happened twice, by the end of which I just wanted out. The time was late afternoon, so there was no excuse for housekeeping not to be completed. I felt really sorry for the checkin staff who tried very hard to resolve the issue. We definitely won't be back and would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PlasteredDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexabr, Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Plastered Duck,

Thank you for the time in posting your review.

We have noted your group comments in the previous review “Funny how good service can save a crappy rooms.” ( Reviewed 5 February 2012) and again would like to apologise for any inconvenience.

In the meantime, we hope you will allow us to demonstrate the true spirit of BreakFree Resorts hospitality when you next decide to holiday.


Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Although the Resort is an older resort and the rooms need updating, as well the restaurant surrounding the pool area is currently being rebuilt, the pool areas are unbelievable, even though the main beach is directly over the road, the pool areas are well suited for young families or whether you just want to laze around doing nothing. The pool facing rooms are well worth the extra price.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzy26653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexabr, Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Fitzy26653,

Thank you for your “unbelievable” review. It is always encouraging to receive such positive comments.

We trust you were able to laze around the pool as you recommended and that you enjoyed your break with us.

We look forward to you returning to Breakfree Alexandra Beach Resort.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Just returned from 7 nights at the Alexandra Beach Resort in a 1 bedroom apartment. The room was presented quite clean, although as others have said it was a little dated - more noticable in the bathroom than anything else.
It appears that quite a few of these are privately owned, so experience between rooms may vary if privately owned ones are rented out (not sure if they are.)
The dining chairs and lounge couch were a bit dirty, these probably need replacing more than anything else, and the bathroom was quite dark with no light above the vanity, so an extra light here would not go astray and make the bathroom that little bit nicer.
We managed to secure an apartment with direct access to the lagoon pool from the balcony - definitely a highlight of the trip.
Overall - a little work and this hotel would be even better - and it is clear that the management are working hard on this resort. I'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with direct access to the pools!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bt91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexabr, Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear bt91,

There has been a lot of improvements made within the public areas and thank you for taking the time to comment, in the meantime, please be assured I will share these comments with all staff.

We have noted your comments regarding the rooms and are currently looking at addressing such concerns within our next refurbishment.

I do appreciate your time in posting this review.


Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Our combined family booked 3 rooms and we all had problems. we were the first to arrive for late check in at 9pm, arrived at our room to find only 2 single beds for 3 children. promised trundle bed not there. not that it mattered living space and bedroom 2 small to put a trundle in. Went to use the kitchen tap and the whole assembly came off. My son was walking down the hallway and the cover for the fuses ( that was taped up ) fell off and hit him on the head. Went down next morning for proper check in and mentioned it and was first told we will fix it all today. ( i was fine with this ) was then chased down by helpful manager who offered us an upgrade to the 3 bedroom. That room was lovely, clean and had nothing wrong. However....

Next family to arrive was my mother. First room shown to had not been cleaned since last guest. So she trapsed back to reception, got another room and that one hadnt been cleaned either. She was then upgraded after being told "well you did book a budget room'. As my mother said budget still means clean!!!

3rd unit had unpainted patched holes in the wall.

Overall the staff and pool is what made our stay. Everytime something came up they were right there fixing it. And tried their best with the product they had to offer. Would we have next years reunion there? No. But i may head back for a cheap family holiday.

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms will not fit any more than 2 children no matter what staff tell you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexabr, Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Bianca N

We accommodate a large number of family reunions and always appreciate this is a special time for everyone to get together.

Unfortunately your group experienced a number of issues while our system was down and please accept our sincere apologies for any oversight in our housekeeping and maintenance departments throughout your stay.

Regarding any reference to budget rooms, we actually have no difference within each of the room types or budget rooms available, however there are Pool View and non Pool View rooms. Subject to availability, we are happy to upgrade to pool view rooms and I am please we could assist in this instance. Please accept our apologies for any misunderstanding.
In the meantime we look forward to you returning for your next family holiday.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I live on the Sunshine Coast so don't need a hotel but several friends have stayed at the Beach Resort and I was very impressed when I visited. This is not a 5* resort but rather a place you can bring the family or go as a couple and have lots of things to do in the immediate area. Just outside the complex is a row of shops with several restaurants, an icecream shot, the Alex Beach and Alex Surf Club. A number of our friends like this hotel as it is quieter than some directly on the road. If I was visiting Alex this would be my number one choice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shasza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexabr, Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Shasza

Thank you for taking the time for your review and we appreciate your recommendation as a local on the Sunshine Coast.

Cold Rock Ice Cream (just at the front of the Resort) is a hit with all our guests, and not just the kids.

If you are returning over the coming months, you may like to check availability on our Cold Rock Package including free Cookies and ream Cold Rock with smashed M&M’s and Oreo’s.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed here recently and I was a little dissapointed. After seeing glamourous pictures on the internet of this hotel I think I expected more than what we got. The rooms were small and generally tidy but not really a great size for families. And definitely not sound proof. The loud music from the party next door went till late and trying to explain to my young daughter some of the other noises was certainly an experience.

The pool was great for kids and I think with a big upgrade this could be a wonderful place.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda-J80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexabr, Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Amanda,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are constantly reviewing the facilities on offer and have noted your comments.
Following this, we are pleased to advise we have began the initial planning stages of refurbishments and will be able to give more information shortly.

In the meantime, please accept our apologies for your less than ideal stay with us.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.9 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
9.5 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
#3 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort

Property: Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Address: Crn Alexandra Pde & Pacific Terrace, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just across the road from the beach and designed around a 150m tropical lagoon pool, BreakFree Alexandra Beach offers a great location for great value in the heart of the Sunshine Coast. BreakFree Alexandra Beach has a range of accommodation options for you to choose from including Studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments, all with air conditioning, balcony or terrace, cable TV, hair dryer and laundry (an extra person rate applies for use of the sofa bed). If pool views are what you are after, then spend a little more and book a 1 or 2 Bedroom Pool View Apartment or even a 3 Bedroom Penthouse. This resort offers a great position along with onsite facilities to keep you and the kids entertained. With two heated pools and spas, a waterslide, gymnasium, childrens playground and BBQ facilities, you will always have plenty to do. Alexandra Headland, known by the locals as 'Alex', is a small coastal community complemented by the soothing rolling surf and inviting beaches. This Sunshine Coast town is also fringed by Mooloolaba, Buderim and Maroochydore with a superb coastal sweep to the north and bush setting foothills to the west. BreakFree Alexandra Beach is the right choice for your next Sunshine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Hotel Alexandra Headland
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing