We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Vista on Alex
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Ocean Vista on Alex had the cleanest rooms, gardens and facilities we had ever stayed in. The pool in the pic is much smaller than what it actually looks in the photo. The apartment was a great size and had everything you needed. The only negative was the hardness of the bed. The only thing for us, as a family, is that we aren't really into this area of the Sunshine Coast so probably wouldn't go again. If we did need to be there for a reason we would stay at this property again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ally1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 53 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the Ocean Vista with my partner, and sister and bother in law from New Zealand, We had come to QLD for the funeral of my brother. Not exactly a holiday. Maxine at reception went out of her way to make us feel at home and provided great advice re transport from airport. She offered us an excellent room rate for a double bedroom garden unit. The unit was fully self contained and plenty big enough for 2 couples. It was situated just back from the beach and within easy walk of everything. Would certainly recommend the Ocean Vista and hope to get back there for a holiday soon.

Room Tip: Garden unit lovely. Higher floors had lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I recently took my family on a Easter holiday to the Sunshine Coast. We stayed at the Ocean Vista on Alex for 3 nigts and were impressed every minute! To start off, the whole 'getting into the hotel, checking in, parking, luggage' game was a breeze. My family and I were in the apartment, checked in, parked and unpacked within 10 minutes. The room was absolutely spotless, fresh and spacious. Having an in room spa and outside jacuzzi was the whole experience one step better than the rest. My kids and I loved the pool area and night time jacuzzi's on the roof. The barbeque upstairs was clean and ready to eat off straight away. (No messy or fussy cleaning. The way it should be)

The positioning of the unit is perfect. 4 minutes walk and you're at the rock pools. Five minutes later at the mooloolaba beach. The units are quite and just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Mooloolaba traffic but not too far away to make you not feel like your apart from the town. A perfect balance.

Room Tip: Esky is essential so you don't have to keep on going downstairs from your rooftop spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ehl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We recently decided to spend a weekend away with our really good friends in the Sun at the Sunshine Coast. We managed to get a 2 bedroom apartment with our own rooftop spa and BBQ area for a great low price for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday). At this time of the year, most places require a 3 night minimum.

Location is great, only a brisk 5-7 minute walk to the "promenade" of Mooloolaba. Coles is just around the corner and the beach is at the bottom of the road that connects Edwards Street. Great central location for the cost of being another 10 mins walk from the beach !

All apartments are privately owned, but managed by a lovely couple who live on-site. Very efficient and full of great info. They do a wonderful job of looking after the places for the owners and managing the rentals.

As each apartment is different, I can only comments about our unit.

It was spacious, with both bedrooms having their own bathrooms. The main bedroom had a king bed, and the 2nd room had 2 singles which we pushed together. The decore was neutral and comfortable. A large screen TV had local channels as well as some Austar movies and sport. Aircon was adequate, but we were unable to turn the fan off the "Cyclone" setting, which was a bit annoying at night whilst trying to watch TV.

Things you need to know if staying here for more than 1 night.

Bring the following - Extra toilet rolls (only 1 per bedroom supplied), there are no tea towels, there is the minimum of cooking utensils, so if you like to cook in your unit, and not visit the myriad of eateries close by, then bring some platters, cooking dishes etc, you may need them. You will also need to bring garbage bags, as the bin is very very small.

The rooftop spas are excellent. The Website is a little bit deceiving (not on purpose), as you need to exit your unit and walk up 2 flights of stairs (lift only goes up 1 floor) to access the roof and the seperated areas that have a BBQ, table and heated spa. The areas are nominated for each unit for privacy, but the walls are quite low, alllowing anyone heading to their area to look in. Not good if you are considering sunbathing topless or more :) We spent a lovely afternoon with some guests up on the roof and the breeze was fantastic, and the views North to Noosa are excellent.

My only gripe was the terrible pillows in our unit. Easily fixed, we will bring our own next time !
There is also no aircon in the bedrooms, only in the lounge. Ceiling fans are adequate except in a heatwave (which we suffered on night number 1)

We would definitely stay here again. The price is right, the location is awesome, and the units are just great !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tagnbrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

For the second year in a row, spent two glorious weeks at Ocean Vista on Alex .. absolutely love the place. Maxine and Marilyn .. perfect managers, the best. The whole complex is spotless from the apartments, pool, spas, BBQs and the delightful gardens .. immaculate. The 2 bedroom apartments with your own rooftop spa and BBQ are excellent. Bedrooms are spacious, plenty of cupboard space, spa in main bathroom. All modern appliances Secure parking with a lift to apartments. Two minute walk to bus stops. Away from the main thoroughfare, it is lovely and quiet but within walking distance of Mooloolaba and Alexandra Headland beaches. Perfect location. Highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaineyCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed a 2 night stay. Only a short walk or 2 minute drive to Mooloolaba. Great size 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit. Fully self contained with 2 carparks. Roof top spa and BBQ were fantastic. Heated spa was great. Will return for another short break! Modern appliances, in room spa bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We were greeted by Maxine and she was so friendly - a nice way to kick off our 3 night getaway. The 2 bedroom, 3rd level room was very spacious and had a balcony. What we loved most was the private rooftop spa and bbq area where we felt a world away from reality. It also has a small pool area. A lift from the carpark helps you with packing/unpacking but there are a few steps along the paths between rooms and lifts or office.

It's walking distance to the beach, a coles, cafes, bakeries and boutique clothing so all needs are covered. The kitchen is well equipped with crockery, cutlery, pans etc to cook if you desire.

The office sells a few items such as toilet rolls ($1.50) and a small fee for towels ($2.50) and there's a range of brochures available to help you make the most of the area. We did find the spa tub in the main bedroom a little dirty but that's our only fault we could find.

We'd be happy to return!

Room Tip: 3rd level means you're closer to the rooftop spa area as it's only stairs up to that level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacJac82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
1 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premie...
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Headland Tropicana Resort
Headland Tropicana Resort
#5 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
91 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alex Beach Cabins & Tourist Park
Alex Beach Cabins & Tourist Park
#2 of 15 in Alexandra Headland
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Vista on Alex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Vista on Alex

Address: Ocean Vista on Alex 10-12 Edward St, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Alexandra Headland
Price Range: $118 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ocean Vista on Alex 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Vista on Alex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Vista On Alex Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing