We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great self-contained apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alex Seaside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

A family of 3, we stayed in a 2 bedroom 1 bathroom apartment.

The apartment looked to have been recently refurbished and was clean, fresh, bright and very comfortable. The lounge/dining area was a little smaller than we had been expecting but it was still well-set out and enough for our needs, with a small lounge area with a big TV (with Foxtel) and a 6-seat dining table.

The airconditioning in the unit is centrally controlled, so you can't change the temperature in each room, but it's great air-con and we didn't find this a problem at all.

We had great views - out the front, to the Alex Beach and out the back to a lovely lake and park area. The balconies weren't huge, but were enough for the three of us to sit and look at the lovely views. We were on the northern side of the building, so we didn't face the bright morning sun - it was perfect!

The unit is well-appointed - the kitchen was a good size, with welcome (and unexpected) items such as a large electric frypan, non-stick Tefal cookware, plenty of crockery and cutlery and other bits and pieces, and sharp knives! It is a very thoughtfully put-together kitchen.

The bedrooms are a good size and the bed was very comfortable. We had rented a portacot from the resort for our stay and it was fairly new and clean and for $5 a night was much easier than lugging a portacot around with us.

The bathroom is very big, with a large shower and a separate spa bath; it was a two-way bathroom. There was also a washer and dryer in the unit which was very handy, as well as a big laundry tub.

There's plenty of 'storage space' in the unit - big pantry, lots of cupboard space in the kitchen/dining area - but the wardrobes were a little small, but still quite user-friendly.

There is under-cover lockup carparking in the basement - the car parks are VERY tight, so it took a few three-point turns to get in and out of the park, but it wasn't a big drama and it was nice to have secure parking for our vehicle.

The pool isn't huge, but it's very well maintained and has a spa too. We were unfortunate to strike a group of people who drank and smoked quite heavily by the pool, but luckily they weren't there for more than a day so we only had to avoid the pool once! The rest of the guests were really lovely and we had nice chats with all of them!

The resort is just across the road from the Alex Surf Club, the patrolled beach and lots of nice little cafes and dining spots (highly recommend The Attic for a coffee and Capones for a pizza!). It is only a 2-3 minute drive to the big Sunshine Plaza and if you're up for a good walk, you can stroll to Mooloolaba in 20-30 minutes. Despite being on the main drag, there is VERY little road noise - we were pleasantly surprised!

All in all, perfect spot for a family vacation - great unit, great position, friendly operators, great price, great views. I wouldn't go anywhere else on the Sunshine Coast!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north end don't face the morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you PR for your very comprehensive review - it was greatly appreciated and we were delighted with the 5/5 mark you gave us as well! So glad you all had an enjoyable stay. We are sure your positive comments will help anyone considering staying with us at Alex Seaside Resort in the future. Once again thank you for taking the time to write and we are pleased to hear you will be back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 213 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have stayed here many times and look forward to it twice a year. The one bedrooms are very spacious and roomy. There is a huge spa bath in a large sized bathroom.
All kitchen facilities are provided for all your needs.
The position is brilliant, right across the road from the surf club. The room provides sensational and extensive ocean views, with amazing sunrises and sunsets across the water. What more could you ask for?
It is an extremely relaxing place to stay in between Mooloolaba and Maroochydore, with great access to shops if needed. The bus service is extremely efficient and stops nearly outside your door.
We just love everything about this place!

Room Tip: Great one bedroom apartments overlooking the ocean with north facing sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

What more could WE ask for!! Thank you Marg for your amazing review - it says it all and describes our Resort, Alexandra Headland and what we have to offer here perfectly. We are very pleased that you keep coming back and look forward to the next time. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

From the moment we were greeted with a welcoming smile from Diana, we anticipated that we had made the right choice for our summer getaway. We opened the door to our fresh and exceptionally clean and comfortable luxury apartment to find the replicate of the outlook that had been portayed on the website. Our bed sheets were crisp and our pillows plump, our showers sparkling and the surf was supurb. We knew we had made the right decision. The time we spent lounging in the apartment was not disturbed by traffic below and our units were exceptionally quiet; we heard no noise from neighbouring units. We loved that Mooloolaba was an easy stroll from the apartments, yet we could still escape from the bustle of Mooloolaba. Our time at Alex Seaside Resort gave us a little slice of paradise that we will carry with us until we return again very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paffinators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review of your recent stay at Alex Seaside Resort! And of course the 5 out of 5 mark you awarded us! We were delighted to hear you all had such a great time. Alex is such a great spot for a holiday it's hard not to enjoy!! You and your family were lovely guests and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Had a great holiday here with my family. The unit was very comfortable with beautiful views. The air-conditioning really helped keep the unit cool on the very hot days we had. The swimming pool and spa were lovely and we spent many an hour there cooling off. The patrolled beach was just across the road which meant safe swimming for our boys. We can certainly recommend Alex Seaside Resort to anyone wanting a lovely, relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you Sue for taking the time to write such a great review and for recommending Alex Seaside Resort. We were pleased to hear you all had a fabulous relaxing holiday with us. ASR is a great spot for families with the beach,the surf club and cafes all within easy reach. We hope you will return for another visit in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Alex Seaside resort on the Sunshine Coast was one of the most relaxing, comfortable and resonably priced places I have ever stayed in. I would high recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing break.

The staff at the resort were extremely helpful and made our stay that much more delightful.

Room Tip: they are all really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I booked Alex Seaside Resort because of its great reviews on Tripadvisor and now I'd like to add to them. We had a lovely 9 days here over the busiest time of the year - just after Christmas and over the New Year period. Diana was always friendly to deal with and made us feel very welcome.
The resort had lots of families staying and my daughter made a friend in another unit - they used to visit each other for play dates. The pool was always full of children, which is great for parents. We always felt safe there and they even had a security guard around on New Year's Eve. Our unit had 2 balconies - front and back - but never in the full sun which made sitting on the verandah enjoying the sea breeze with friends very enjoyable. The units have everything you need and ours was clean and spacious. We ate at the Alex Surf Club across the road a few times but also enjoyed the excellent Indian restaurant next door (also rated highly on Tripadvisor) courtesy of a Shop-a-docket deal. Our only minor concern was that the road noise was constant but the highway runs right in front of the resort and beyond that is the beach so the sound of the surf usually drowned it out.

Room Tip: Ours was 5th floor so we had a great view over the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MedSec48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay and the hosts were very friendly and unobtrusive. The apartments, grounds, pool/spa and complex are clean and well maintained. The kitchen is well equipped and I made most of my evening meals in the unit. The local supermarkets are expensive but if you are just after a few things - the convenience outweighs the cost. You can walk everywhere but there is a bus outside the door to Marchydoore and Mooloolaba which is very handy. I had a car so I went to Aldi's up the road for grocery supplies. It was very relaxing, nice and quiet. I will definitely go there again.

Room Tip: The room I had on 2nd floor was just above the pool and so it could get a bit noisy. But there were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peta7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for the positive feedback. It is a perfect location we think - close to the beach, shops,Surf Club etc.We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon - in the meantime have a great Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.3 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#3 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
537 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
8.7 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 16 in Mooloolaba
286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
365 reviews
9.7 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Seaside Resort

Address: 146 Alexandra Pde, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Alexandra Headland
Price Range: $84 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alex Seaside Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex Seaside Resort is the perfect holiday spot on the Sunshine Coast! Situated between Mooloolaba & Maroochydore you will find the picturesque Alexandra Headland with it's beautiful white sandy beach. Alex Seaside Resort has plenty on offer from Studios for a couple wanting a quiet weekend break to Deluxe 2brm x 2bthrm apartments great for a family looking for top quality accommodation close to all amenities. As we are beachfront all the apartments have beautiful ocean views, stylish decor and excellent facilities. Conveniently located opposite Alex Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alex Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Seaside Hotel
Alex Seaside Resort Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing