We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice for tours in Samana”

Gregory Tours Samana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Gregory Tours Samana (PLEASE NOTE: RAYMOND is no longer working with us.) BOOK Online Now and Save 10% ! Low Price Excursions & Tours all over Samana. We specialized in small private groups of 4 to 8 persons, but also serve larger groups of up to 50 persons. Discover with us : Los Haitises National Park Tour, Cascada El Limon Waterfall Tour, Zipline El Valle Samana Tour, La Playita Beach Tour, Playa Rincon Beach Tour, Safari Samana Peninsula Tour, ATV Quad Four Wheelers Tour in spectacular and scenic Samana Dominican Republic.
1 review
“Best choice for tours in Samana”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Going on excursions with Raymond and Gregory really made our stay in Samana worthwhile, if it hadn't been for them our vacation would not have been as amazing. The places were beautiful and the food was delicious, also great customer service Gregory always made sure we were satisfied and treated us with a lot of kindness and care. Definitely the best choice when going on tours, amazing quality and good prices.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank scarroyave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    15
    2
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great and marvelous experience with Gregory in Samana”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We (6 of us) recently visited Samana and booked 3 different tours with Raymond and Gregory. The service, and the special care that we had from Gregory was so great that we enjoyed the tours immensely, and in addition to that, the price was so cheap in comparison with the other tour offers. Thanks again Gregory and keep it up.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HCaroE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Private tour and excellent service”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Raymond services were advised by our friends. We decided to try it after our tour operator Thomson / Hotelbeds canceled trip in last minute and we could not be sure that any other trip organised by Thomson / Hotelbeds will be as planed.

Raymond organised great, private trip to Rincon beach with lunch included. We departed early morning by car with air condition (what is very important because of high % of humidity). We could spend there as much time as we wanted and leave at any time we want as driver spent all time with us. Services prices are much lower as Thomson/ hotel beds for the same quality.

I hope we will return to Samana some day again and we will choose Raymond's service for sure instead of Thomson/ Hotelbeds.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilona_De
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“When staying at Cayacoa Hotel, be sure to see Raymond & Gregory Tours”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just spent a two weeks vacation in Samana City at the GBP Cayacoa Hotel.

We attended "the briefing" done by the Hotel about what to do and what to visit during our stay in Samana. We had done our researches on the Internet before coming on our vacation and many times came accross "Raymond & Gregory Tours" in Samana. WOW! What a difference in the prices that the Hotel were asking us (25% to 35% higher prices) to do the very same tours as those two guys are offering.

These two guys are the best! We went to their "open-air office" under the palm trees of the Cayacoa Beach right below our Hotel, right under the bridges of Samana and met them in person. We did the SAFARI tour and the CASCADA LIMON tour with them, and had a lot of fun, a lot of memorable discoveries and really saw Samana up close with the real Dominican life. A must do, do not miss it.

Note that we actually book our tours "ONLINE" upon their advices and SAVE an additional 10%!

Thank you so much Raymond and Gregory, we now have 2 new good friends in Samana... and we will be back next year for another vacation in your beautiful región.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EvaSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Waste of money”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We choose Raymond and Gregory for a tour of Los Haitisis this past week- a decision that we regret. It is a 45 minute boat ride across the ocean to our destination and it was the worst ride of our lives. We (12 of us) were shoved into a "dingy" with a motor attached and sped off into the ocean. The waves were VERY ROUGH and we spent the whole time clinging to the sides afraid we were going to flip. The waves were consistently coming over the sides of the boat or hitting you in the face so you could not even enjoy the view. Even the boat driver commented to the guide that he thought we were going to flip once or twice after we made it to shore. We were hitting waves and coming down very hard over and over causing lots of bumps and bruises. The boat was so low to the water that we Had a difficult time getting in and out as there were no stairs or ladders to the dock and we were forced to lift one another up off and on the boat. The kids, 4 & 2, were absolutely terrified. The tour guide was good, however he got into a verbal argument with the boat driver who said he didn't get paid enough to go where the tour guide wanted to take us. When we brought it up with Gregory, he literally ignored us and walked away. The guide, food, and national park were good- the owners and the transportation were lousy with no apologies at all. For $65/person, we expected a nice ride and boat, not one that terrified the children and even the boat driver. Definitely pay $15 more and go through a hotel service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank River_runner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory-Mejia, Owner at Gregory Tours Samana, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are really sorry about the bad experience you had on the boat crossing the Bay of Samana to get to Los Haitises National Park.

To be really honest, this excursion offently cause us some problems and bad reviews.

We have a 95% high satisfaction rate on all our other 8 excursions that we offer.

The sea of the Bay of Samana can be really rough with very strong waves, and because we do mostly excursions with small groups below 12 persons, we use smaller boats of 18 Foot called YOLAS and with rough seas the crossing of the Bay of Samana can be a very unpleasant experience.

We did advise you about it, but since it was your last day of vacation you did wanted to go anyway.

One again, we feel really sorry about that bad experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gregory Tours Samana also viewed

Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
 
Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
 

Been to Gregory Tours Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing