We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zip lining in the jungle”

Tour Samana with Terry
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Los Haitises National Park and Cayo Levantado Island Day Trip from Samana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: LEGENDARY TOURS EVERYDAY. Tour Samana with Terry offers the HIGHEST rated tours and excursions to all corners of the Samana Peninsula. From Horseback to Quads to Zip Line to Whale tours enjoy their unmatched attention to detail and love of this beautiful natural wonderland. Activities for all ages. Welcome families!!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cardiff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Zip lining in the jungle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were picked up promptly from our dock staying at cayo levantado. There were only two other people on our zip line/culture tour so it was very personal and relaxed. Our tour guide "lobo" was entertaining and informative. When traveling through the various districts of samana province in an open safari jeep we were informed about the area and the people, getting an insight into the daily life and culture of the area. We were offered ice cold beers, water and soft drinks throughout the journey to and from the zip line. The walk the plank zip line was very professional and we felt like we were in good hands, with lobo joining us every step of the way (even carrying our bags for us!) There are 12 lines in total and the views of jungle/waterfall below are absolutely beautiful as you zip along above the trees. The zip line attendants/guides were very nice and professional with safety being the main priority. I believe the walk the plank zip line is the only zip line in the region to have integrated braking system which Is great for first timers such as ourselves, nothing to worry about so you just ride the line. After the zip line we went to the lulu waterfalls which were beautiful to swim in to cool off. We then had an enjoyable stroll through the beautiful jungle to a small house/shop surrounded by trees and plants showcasing the local fruits and products harvested. Lobo then gave us a presentation of fruits and beans etc along with tasters, all fresh and delicious. There is then a stall set up to purchase items that you have just tasted with no pressure to buy anything. We then returned to the jeep to drive to a huge, deserted beach which was stunning. We had it all to ourselves and paddled in the surf whilst our lunch was prepared. We had a traditional meal of fish, chicken, rice, plantain and salad all served up fresh and clean. After talking history of the DR with lobo over delicious food we returned to the jeep to be driven back to our port to catch the ferry back to the hotel. All in all a very safe, informative, fun and great value for money trip. If you're in the area we would definitely recommend using tour samana with terry for any excursions! Thanks for a great day out!

Paul and sophie

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sophakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    20
    8
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect Adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This zip line tour is an all encompassing tour of the real DR. Terry is fun, professional, and really takes care of the group and their safety. The zip lines are safe and insured by US insurance. My only complaint is the girls forcing themselves on you to walk you from the creek out on the path even if you say no thank you...I'm an agile 28 year old and it was annoying. Still gave them $ so I guess that is why they do it! The lunch on a secluded beach was delicious and the tour of the local home/foods was interesting. Beers and rum included! Absolutely encouraged to do this with Terry! He waited for us when we were very very late due to tendering!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kiralandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Excursion Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Terry runs a high quality, professional, and personal tour service! We thoroughly enjoyed our zipline adventure, the wonderful cultural experience and the local food. Terry thinks of everything! We gained a sense of his love for the land and people of the Dominican Republic through our visit. Bring cash to pay for the tour (no deposit was required) and to hand out as tips to the locals who help Terry throughout the tour. Local women helped us along the rough path from the waterfall to our safari truck so we tipped them. Don't be nervous about booking any tour with Terry. You won't be disappointed!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtl
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tour #11”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were a little mislead by reviews on Trip advisor. Unfortunately, the morning of our tour it rained.
We were on the first tender off our cruise ship to arrive at the meeting point. We waited close to one and half hours before the safari bus left the meeting point were the tenders arrive to go on a 10-15 minute ride to pay for the tour at their office and then back to the meeting point were the tenders arrive to pick up a guide. After about two hours of waiting we were finally on our way. This process seemed a bit disorganized. This was a simply a rough ride to the zip line area, not a guided tour. Our guide did not understand or speak English so communication was very poor. Our group was split into two groups. Our group was left off at an area to wait about 20 minutes with no explanation as to what was happening. Finally, we were put back on a safari bus and were taken to the zip line. This was the highlight of the tour. The zip lining was awesome. However, because of the rain we were covered by mud and grease from the cables. Please wear old clothes because this grease does not come off. We ruined two pairs of shorts and two t-shirts. At the end of your zip line adventure, there are locals that help you down the path and escort you back to your bus. Please have change for tips as there is no where were you can 'break' large bills. The waterfalls at the end of the zip line are deceiving, theses are small falls and not worth the swim in our opinion. The water is very muddy and murky. There was an interesting presentation of local fruit and drink. Then we were on our way to the beach for lunch and by this time it had stopped raining. Local food was available such as rice, chicken, fish and veggies. It was nice to experience local food. We took a quick dip in the water. A longer stay here would have been appreciated. There are very rustic washroom facilities, please use the facilities at the office at the beginning of the tour. The whole time from the beginning to the end of the tour cold drinks were available; water, coke, beer, fruit juice and rum and coke. Terry is a very personable fellow. We returned to the original meeting place to take our tender back to the ship.
Overall it was a pleasant experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alliekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Maarten
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beach Excursion #2 in Samana,DR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I truly enjoyed this excursion. Our guide was charming and a great guy. The beach was clean and the water was great. We had drinks and the lunch was spectacular. I highly recommend this excursion.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMojitoLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour Samana with Terry also viewed

Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
 
Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
 

Been to Tour Samana with Terry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing