We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ATV TOUR” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tour Samana with Terry

Tour Samana with Terry
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Los Haitises National Park and Cayo Levantado Island Day Trip from Samana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: LEGENDARY TOURS EVERYDAY. Tour Samana with Terry offers the HIGHEST rated tours and excursions to all corners of the Samana Peninsula. From Horseback to Quads to Zip Line to Whale tours enjoy their unmatched attention to detail and love of this beautiful natural wonderland. Activities for all ages. Welcome families!!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Green Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ATV TOUR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

On our previous visit to Semana we had used the shore excursions prepared by the cruise line.No a bad experience, but my wife and I love to explore and experience the locality.
We could not have made a better choice than to have Terry and his crew expose all this to us with the time we were allotted. We were met on the docks and rode the provided ATV's directly to the destination.It was by far the best port trip of the cruise,and was exactly what we were looking for.
Anyone booking with Terry will not be disappointed.He responds to Emails promptly, is friendly and honest.I will definitely do another trip with him and heartily recommend Tour Semana with Terry!
This is a five srar act!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrugburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    20
    8
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greeneville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Zipline Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Did Terry's tour #11 which goes to Walk the Plank Zipline and to Playa El Valle. Terry's folks met the cruise ship tenders right at the dock and took good care of us. Mario was our tour leader and did a great job explaining things and introducing us to this beautiful area. Rode in a safari truck to the zip line area; part of the trip is on a very rough road.

The zip line facility is very modern with excellent equipment and plenty of staff to help you. The ziplines are pretty tame, but the early ones are pretty high.

After navigating all the zip lines, you visit the waterfall for an optional swim and then drive to Playa El Valle. This is a gorgeous undeveloped beach along the northern side of the peninsula. We enjoyed a traditional buffet lunch that included fish, chicken, and rice. Delicious.

Mario and his driver got us back to the port in plenty of time to catch a tender back to the ship.

Overall, this was one of the highlights of our cruise. It was great to see some of the countryside and the people. I would highly recommend Tour Samana with Terry.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 698bobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Low Impact Jeep Tour (Sep 26, 2012)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was the third tour we have done with Terry and his group and as always, it was a great experience. You can read about the tour on the website, but what made this tour good for us was/is:

You get a better appreciation of what life is like for the people who live in this area.
You get a chance to pick up some souvenirs that are truly Dominican (chocolate for example) and to buy them from people who really need the business.
You get a great chance to give out gifts or school supplies if you brought some.
Chance to have an authentic Dominican meal

As with all Terry's tours, it was hassle free and customizable. As we had a 3 year old with us, we opted to change up some of the scheduled items and our guide (Eliseo...who was great with helping keep the 3 year old entertained) was very accommodating.

It’s been said time and again in these reviews and in the forums, but I can't emphasize it enough, if you want to take a tour with a dependable group that you can trust and that will charge a fair price for the service, you can't beat these guys.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ShogunRonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourSamanaWithTerry, Owner at Tour Samana with Terry, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We just wanted to thank you again for going on tour with us (like every time you come to Samana!) and sharing your thoughts with others. We especially applaud your generosity for bringing baseball gloves, balls, etc on more than one occasion. We always look forward to your visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I cannot say enough wonderful things about our experience with Terry and Eliseo at Tour Samana with Terry.

I coordinated transportation to and from Samana and tour to El Limon Waterfall with Terry. I started planning these months in advance for our group of 7. Terry was very responsive, always answering my emails and many questions. He coordinated everything perfectly!

Eliseo was fantastic! He picked us up on time at SDQ, got us beer for the road (just ask when you get in the van and he will stop and get ice cold Presidente – Yumm!), and stopped to let us take pictures along the way. It’s a beautiful 2 hour drive from SDQ to Samana. Eliseo was friendly, funny, and we just love our transportation and excursion with him! The excursion to the El Limon Waterfall was by far one of the most amazing adventures I've ever been on. I call it an adventure because of the terrain to and from the waterfall. You have to take horses up some very steep trails. But do not let that stop you from taking this tour! The handlers are very good and horses well trained. A few of the people on the excursion had never been on a horse and they made it safely, although it was a bit scary at times. Also, just a FYI, there are at least a 100 steps to get down to the bottom of the waterfall, and then you have to go back up. But again, it was an amazing experience and I would do it all over again! The food after was delicious! I asked if they had coconut water after receiving the fresh coconut for desert. Eliseo talked with them and a guy actually climbed the tree and brought down a bunch of coconuts and opened them for us. After we drank the water, Eliseo then opened the coconuts fully so we could eat the meat. He went above and beyond for us!!!!!!


I highly recommend Tour Samana will Terry!!! They made our vacation that much better.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JStenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent tour....Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our custom tour (ATV, ZipLine and Beach), with Terry as our guide, was the most memorable part of our 1 week stay in Samana...Terry communicated with us promptly prior to arrival, treated us well during the tour, and provided us terrific commentary on the history and culture of the DR and the wonderful people there. This experience was a great value for our group of four and we heartily recommend Tour Samana With Terry. Real folks and real nice people too!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank yrtneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour Samana with Terry also viewed

Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
 
Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
 

Been to Tour Samana with Terry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing