We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Bathroom”
Review of Hotel Canelsa

Hotel Canelsa
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tacloban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Canelsa
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Tacloban
Bacoor, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Dirty Bathroom”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I don't know if it had something to do with the renovation that was on-going when I stayed there, but my oh my, the toilet seat looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a very long time. I hope the renovations do the hotel good.

The shower had those knobs that was to difficult to use. The hot water wasn't steady.

There was an elevator, which is rare in small Philippine hotels, so I guess that's a plus.

I'm sure if given enough time, something I wasn't when I stayed in Tacloban, one can find a way better hotel out there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yjgisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
8
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacloban, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

it is okay place. cheap, good location, but a bit noisy. room service food was a little over priced but good if you dont want to go out. staff was good, place was clean, and other guest were good gihapon.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean1417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2009

This hotel is inexpensive but is much in need of renovation. Room was OK but all furniture/etc is old and in need of updating. The floor was very damp when we entered. I believe this is due to condensation because the walls were wet as well After the Aircon ran for a while the moisture disappeared. The room is inexpensive but do not expect it to be too nice for the cost.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gallo_romantico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tacloban hotels

Topeka, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We stayed in one of the presidential suites on one of the top floors. It was a clean, decent room, everything worked, it was very comfortable. Quiet.

Centrally located in the business district.

Inexpensive.

My favorite hotel in the Philippines.

Only downsides: Room was a little small, and I like having a kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heyjoewash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Clean (no bugs or dust), strong shower, cool air-con, central location (close to McDo, Chicken Joe's, pizza, bakery, etc.), safe/secure (guard at front door), restaurant downstairs with bottled water available, friendly efficient staff, overnight laundry available low cost, quick elevator, quiet rooms, great beds (best I've ever slept in).

  • Liked — great beds
  • Disliked — a little on the small side
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KoalaShaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2007

Noise Noise Noise- Noise from the street, noise from the stairwell, a cheap crimmy 3rd world hotel experience.

I was forced to stay here 2 nites recently when the PBA was in town and the Leyte Park and Alejandro were fully booked (there is a reason they fill up first).

The rooms are old and drab and the furniture is worn. The linen smells like mold. Run down. The 1st floor resturaunt is average. The service is slightly above average but thats it. The only advantage is the location in downtown Tacloban and even that is a DISADVANTAGE due to the grating 3rd world noise which echoes through the hotel at most hours.

I paid about $30 a nite for a triple room and felt a little overcharged. Stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Very Little
  • Disliked — Noisy Dump
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't Stay Here
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2006

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights upon recommendation of a local: The room was fairly tidy, the plumbing was OK. There was a TV and an aircondition (of which I'm not sure whether it was working or not).

There's an adjacent restaurant that serves good breakfast for P100 (about $2).

Cons: The bedsheets and towels were greyish and stained. So much so that I didn't dare creep underneath the bedsheets.

This is a convenient place to stay at if you're not going to be fussy about the details. Price: P700/night (about $14).

Helpful?
7 Thank j-m-suliban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacloban hotels
0.9 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#2 of 20 in Tacloban
106 reviews
3.0 mi away
Basic Rooms Hotel
Basic Rooms Hotel
#7 of 20 in Tacloban
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosvenil Pensione
Rosvenil Pensione
#11 of 20 in Tacloban
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#3 of 20 in Tacloban
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asia Stars Hotel
Asia Stars Hotel
#15 of 20 in Tacloban
45 reviews
3.0 mi away
Go Hotels Tacloban
Go Hotels Tacloban
#8 of 20 in Tacloban
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canelsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canelsa

Property: Hotel Canelsa
Address: Rizal Avenue, Tacloban, Leyte Province 6500, Philippines (Formerly Hotel D'Angelo)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Tacloban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Tacloban
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Hotel Canelsa Tacloban, Leyte Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing