We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and to be better.”
Review of Hotel XYZ

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel XYZ
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Tacloban
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Good hotel, standing proud after the typhoon. Considering what has occurred in Tacloban, its remarkable that this hotel exists. Rooms are modern and good. Elevator works and that's a blessing as I am always suspect of there abilities. Food good. Restaurant good. Staff very good. I happily recommend and I will be staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front, no noise. Fine.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kram18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Hotel XYZ, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the newest hotel Xperience in Tacloban City!

Thank you for your wonderful words about your recent stay here at Hotel XYZ. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team as your words of appreciation never fail to inspire us to be consistent in providing excellent service.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and able to appreciate the services extended by our hotel staff. We are very humbled by your kind words and delighted to know that our guest sees and appreciates all our efforts. Your patronage and loyalty are very important to us.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Hospitably yours,

Jerick M. Florano
Resident Manager


Hotel XYZ
P. Zamora St., Tacloban City, 6500, Philippines
Tel No.: (+63 053) 321.3888
Fax no.: (+63 053) 523.3888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Hotel XYZ
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 174 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great for business travellers because of its amenities & location. The room was quite small but very comfortable, classy & complete. I loved the two memory pillows and the comfy bed. The room had an led tv, cable, ref & snacks. Wifi was also available & had decent speed. Bathroom was likewise complete, even had a comb & shaving kit.

Was a bit bothered by the noise from the wall mounted inverter air con at first, but it went away after a few minutes. The windows show some damage from Yolanda but it did not affect any part of the room.

For a couple of hundred pesos added to your room rate, you can have breakfast which was better than i expected in terms of food quality.

All in all, highly recommended. If you book near to your travel date, their website will tell you its fully booked. But you can ask your local office or contact to book for you in person, you may still get a room.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike321ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Hotel XYZ, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the newest hotel Xperience in Tacloban City!

Thank you for your wonderful words about your recent stay here at Hotel XYZ. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team as your words of appreciation never fail to inspire us to be consistent in providing excellent service.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and able to appreciate the services extended by our hotel staff. We are very humbled by your kind words and delighted to know that our guest sees and appreciates all our efforts. Your patronage and loyalty are very important to us.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Hospitably yours,

Jerick M. Florano
Resident Manager


Hotel XYZ
P. Zamora St., Tacloban City, 6500, Philippines
Tel No.: (+63 053) 321.3888
Fax no.: (+63 053) 523.3888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel has only just been opened and as the city rev covers from Yolanda, it is a surprise to get such a nice cozy hotel, clean with great pillows, a nice huge bathroom and overall very comfortable. The service is good and the food in the restaurant is also very good. I spent 2 nights here and I just loved the place. There was not much view from my room as the fire escape was just outside but then most of the hotels in Tacloban do not seem to have much of a view. However the cozy room made up for the lack of view. It is also centrally located so you can pretty much walk around the center of of the city

Room Tip: I think if you ask for rooms facing the front you would get a view of the street below. But do ask f...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Hotel XYZ, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the newest hotel Xperience in Tacloban City!

Thank you for your wonderful words about your recent stay here at Hotel XYZ. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team as your words of appreciation never fail to inspire us to be consistent in providing excellent service.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and able to appreciate the services extended by our hotel staff. We are very humbled by your kind words and delighted to know that our guest sees and appreciates all our efforts. Your patronage and loyalty are very important to us.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Hospitably yours,

Jerick M. Florano
Resident Manager


Hotel XYZ
P. Zamora St., Tacloban City, 6500, Philippines
Tel No.: (+63 053) 321.3888
Fax no.: (+63 053) 523.3888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed here for 3 days and the experience was SUPERB! The room is very modern and clean. The bed is very comfortable. The memory pillow was the best! The staff was great! VERY NICE SERVICE! The hotel is in the heart of the city and very near to any establishments. The restaurant was probably the best restaurant in town. They serve American, Italian, filipino, Chinese and Thai cuisine. The food is really SUPERB! ITS VALUE FOR MONEY!

Why go far? Hotel Xyz is my second home in the east and my experiences here will stay with me forever...:)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zionwoody88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Hotel XYZ, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the newest hotel Xperience in Tacloban City!

Thank you for your wonderful words about your recent stay here at Hotel XYZ. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team as your words of appreciation never fail to inspire us to be consistent in providing excellent service. .

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and able to appreciate the services extended by our hotel staff. We are very humbled by your kind words and delighted to know that our guest sees and appreciates all our efforts. Your patronage and loyalty are very important to us.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Hospitably yours,

Jerick M. Florano
Resident Manager


Hotel XYZ
P. Zamora St., Tacloban City, 6500, Philippines
Tel No.: (+63 053) 321.3888
Fax no.: (+63 053) 523.3888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel was surprisingly good considering the recent disruptions from Typhoon Yolanda. The best things about it were the large bathrooms, the excellent airconditioning and the restaurant. The beds and pillows are just wonderful. The staff are very friendly and try harder than those in most hotels I have stayed in (European). The drawbacks of the hotel (no lift) are all minor as far as I am concerned. When you experience the fierce heat of the day it is a great relief to come back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Hotel XYZ, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the newest hotel Xperience in Tacloban City!

Thank you for your wonderful words about your recent stay here at Z Pad Residences. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team as your words of appreciation never fail to inspire us to be consistent in providing excellent service. Regarding your concern with the service elevator, I am very glad to inform you that it is now being fixed.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and able to appreciate the services extended by our hotel staff. We are very humbled by your kind words and delighted to know that our guest sees and appreciates all our efforts. Your patronage and loyalty are very important to us.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Hospitably yours,

Jerick M. Florano
Resident Manager


Hotel XYZ
P. Zamora St., Tacloban City, 6500, Philippines
Tel No.: (+63 053) 321.3888
Fax no.: (+63 053) 523.3888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This place must have been modelled on Fawlty Towers.

We checked in before some colleagues & jokingly said we'd take the best rooms - we were told all rooms were the same. Clearly this was not so as my room had a large pillar 6" from the foot of the bed which meant I had to go sideways to get from one side of the room to the other. We were given the wifi codes but were NOT told that the wifi hadn't worked since the previous day (it did come on later).

There were no fire evacuation instructions in the room. I went to check out the fire exit door - it did open but led on to a part of the hotel which was still being constructed and then to the fire escape. Whether or not this fire escape did go down as far as the ground I was unable to discover. As someone else has said, this hotel is still being constructed by the looks of things and I too suspect that this is the reason why the lift doesn't work. I was on the 6th floor which meant some good exercise, especially with my luggage (although we were lucky in that someone did carry our luggage up to the room).

There is a fridge in the room but this has a glass door with a light inside so that I had to cover it with a towel at night. Bathroom was good.

Restaurant was reasonably ok although quite chaotic on our first evening - dishes were on, then they were off, then they were on again. Breakfast was poor as I don't eat meat - I requested something in lieu of the bacon which came with the eggs (eg hash browns, tomatoes etc) but there was nothing available. I requested a glass of water to take my malaria pill but had to purchase a bottle of water. There was no fruit juice although there was some very good mango which bizarrely came on the same plate as the egg & toast. Breakfast came with coffee included but when I asked for a second cup, this had to be paid for additionally! I said that I'd never before had breakfast in a hotel where I had to pay for a second cup of coffee; "Well that's the way we do it here" I was told.

I was working in my room for most of one of the days (continually having to go crab-wise between the bed and the pillar) and decided to go down to the cafe at lunch time for a sandwich; "No sandwiches until 2pm" I was told.

Compared with other hotels I've stayed in in the Philippines where service is really excellent, this place was dreadful

Room Tip: Try to get one on as low a floor as possible; not just because there's no lift but also from a s...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

It is a small nice hotel in downtown Tacloban. I stayed here for a night. The room was nice and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was relatively big considering how small the room was and the amenities were okay. You can really tell that they're trying to be hip and modern. Even the bathroom mirror was cool! Their wifi was okay.

The cake I had at Illy was great and the prices were reasonable. I had breakfast at Q Kitchen. I was hoping to eat something else but I was only given the breakfast menu so it was okay.

There were a few quirks which were understandable since they're still trying to recover from the typhoon.

The elevator was still not working. It wasn't really a long walk going to my room in the 4th floor anyway so this wasn't a big issue.

The cable was not working so I had no tv during my stay, or maybe I just didn't know how to use the remote. I don't watch a lot of tv anyway.

There were bugs on the table when I had breakfast. These were not the gross type of bugs but I'm hoping they could manage them better next time.

The view from my window was not nice. The small space between the window and the wall was full of trash, but again this was understandable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ferdinand L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Hotel XYZ, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the newest hotel Xperience in Tacloban City!

Thank you for your wonderful words about your recent stay here at Z Pad Residences. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team as your words of appreciation never fail to inspire us to be consistent in providing excellent service. Regarding your concern with our breakfast, I am very glad to inform you that we were able to revised our breakfast menu for more options and breakfast cravings. The service elevator is already fixed. And lastly please be informed that we are doing fumigation at least a month to get rid of the bugs.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and able to appreciate the services extended by our hotel staff. We are very humbled by your kind words and delighted to know that our guest sees and appreciates all our efforts. Your patronage and loyalty are very important to us.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Hospitably yours,

Jerick M. Florano
Resident Manager


Hotel XYZ
P. Zamora St., Tacloban City, 6500, Philippines
Tel No.: (+63 053) 321.3888
Fax no.: (+63 053) 523.3888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacloban hotels
0.9 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 21 in Tacloban
89 reviews
3.0 mi away
Go Hotels Tacloban
Go Hotels Tacloban
#9 of 21 in Tacloban
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Estrella
Hotel Estrella
#4 of 21 in Tacloban
16 reviews
3.0 mi away
Basic Rooms Hotel
Basic Rooms Hotel
#7 of 21 in Tacloban
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosvenil Pensione
Rosvenil Pensione
#12 of 21 in Tacloban
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel XYZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel XYZ

Address: P. Zamora St., Tacloban, Leyte Province 6500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Tacloban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Tacloban
Price Range: $55 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel XYZ 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at the exceptionally stylish interiors and you will know Hotel XyZ is not your ordinary accommodation. With the facade and lobby boasting a cozy and modish look and feel, you get quite a true glimpse of what awaits you during your stay in Tacloban City. Inside our premises, you’ll find an array of guestrooms that are not only beautifully designed, but also furnished with top-of-the-line amenities that guarantee truly satisfying relaxation. In addition to these indulgent lodgings, an excellent selection of facilities and services are also available, ensuring that your leisure and business demands are always promptly addressed. Complementing these conveniences is the property’s location. Hotel XyZ sits near the city center, providing you easy access to the historical sites that Tacloban is famous for. Parks, banks, supermarkets, bus terminals, hospitals, and government offices are also within easy reach from the hotel. Regardless of the purpose of your visit, Hotel XyZ is the perfect home away from home here in Tacloban. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel XYZ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel XYZ Tacloban, Leyte Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing