We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New, Clean, Fresh but not a happy customer”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Z Pad Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Z Pad Residences
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Tacloban
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New, Clean, Fresh but not a happy customer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The place is nice, clean and safe. The rooms are small but very comfortable and cleaned well. It really is a nice, quiet, relaxing, cosy place. Unfortunately I feel ripped off by this hotel. I have been charged for a night that I changed; I arranged with the staff to bring a night forward by a couple of days and they confirmed there would be no charge to do this by cancelling the original night and creating a new reservation. My bookings were via booking.com so I had no receipt or bill to pay on check out in which to query or dispute. The charge appeared on my Credit Card. Ironically, I was back in Tacloban at the time of the original night and went to see if I could book in as an extra night, but it was fully booked ! So I was charged for a night despite being told I would not be and the hotel was fully booked on that night anyway. It's a good place but I feel let down by the staff and will not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salstu4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerick Jao F, Manager at Z Pad Residences, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the hippest hotel in Tacloban City!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Z Pad Residences. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. However, upon reading your comments I immediately asked the concerned persons who handled your inquiries/ concerns. And upon double checking, they informed me that they were able to give you the complete details on how to cancel your booking and its corresponding charges. And since you cancel a day prior your arrival instead of canceling it 3 days before or 72 hours, indeed, there will be charges for the cancellation which is stated on the booking policy of booking.com. With this regard, I'd like to apologized for such miscommunication and to help you further just feel free to contact the hotel to assist you with your concerns. Also, thank you for giving a good rate in cleanliness and ambiance. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team and rest assured that all key points of comments and suggestions will be given a high regards.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Best regards,

Jerick M. Florano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    45
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
10
28
13
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I booked a zpad mini. I was exhausted from the flight only to find out shower heater is not working. No choice, i had to deal with the cold shower. It was 10pm. I was upgraded to a single room which is bigger free of charge. I asked if the shower heater is working. And they said ok its perfectly working. In the morning the heater is still working. I informed the front desk and they said to wait for 10mins so it will heat. I have no time to wait so again i had to use the cold water. I took a bath for 15mins and still not working. I let the water run until the housekeeping checkd the unit. Its past 30mins already and still its not working. And all they could say was sorry. The front desk was irritating to talk to. I made several calls to follow up regardin the matter all she said was 'we will have it checked'. Duh. Im checking out thar morning so its useless. It could have been a nice stay i not for the heater and the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingking17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Z Pad Residences, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the hippest hotel in Tacloban City!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Z Pad Residences. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. In relation to your concerns regarding the malfunctioning of hot shower and the inefficient service of our Front Desk Officer, I was able to evaluate the lapses and made some corrective actions, for us to correct and not to repeat the same problem/concern to our valued and future guests. To discuss it further, the hot shower was able to fix by our maintenance team and found out that the hot water machine itself needs replacement;which we already did and lastly, we made sure that we will be giving more training in customer service for us to render quality service to all our guests. These kind of comments are very important to us. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team and rest assured that all key points of comments and suggestions will be given a high regards.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Best regards,

Jerick M. Florano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Property and furniture in good shape.
It is secure.
It seems to be converted from a small apartment complex.
A little out of the center of Tacloban but transport is available and cheap.
Jolliebee just a 1 minute walk away, with some small stores and food places.
Friendly Staff.
No real w3indoes in the rooms, but this is not atypical of budget rooms in Asia.

Room Tip: Queen size room OK. Choose the larger rooms if you havefamily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandsoft_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Z Pad Residences, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the hippest hotel in Tacloban City!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Z Pad Residences. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team and rest assured that all key points of comments and suggestions will be given a high regards.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Best regards,

Jerick M. Florano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I booked in this hotel coz all the hotels downtown were fully booked during that time. It is quite far from establishments like restaurants, groceries, coffee shops etc but it is near a hospital and jollibee so thats were i ate all the time given no choice. I didn't appreciate how i had to pay extra 500 for early check in even if i booked in advance. Well if i had to pay extra at least they could have helped me with my bags which they did not offer plus i didnt know where my room was which they didn't offer to show. I later figured there were 3 rooms sharing the living area and sort off a kitchen.. Supposedly a kitchen.. I say so coz it has no refrigerator or even kitchen utensils. I say its a waste of space coz nonevof us used it anyways. I still prefered if they used the space to make the rooms bigger. The rooms even got smaller coz you had to go through a small hallway after entering the common living area entering your room. Anyways, if the hotels dowtown are not booked i would still prefer to stay there than in zpad

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siberianhuskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Z Pad Residences, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the hippest hotel in Tacloban City!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Z Pad Residences. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. In relation to your concerns, I would like to discuss it further, regarding the Php. 500.00 for the early check-in, we do have fees for this even you booked in advance since the standard check-in time is by 2PM, also, with the luggage assistance we apologize for this matter, nonetheless, we are currently conducting more training for us to render quality service and exceed the expectation of all of our guests. And with regards to the 3 bedrooms sharing in one room, basically, this is the concept of Z Pad Residences which is a "pad-type", however all of our guests has the option whether they want to get the whole Suite or one bedroom only with the common living area and kitchenette; this matter has been stated in most of our websites for reference and information. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team and rest assured that all key points of comments and suggestions will be given a high regards.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Best regards,

Jerick M. Florano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at Z-pad whilst working in Tacloban. I haven't stayed at other places in Tacloban so I can't compare with them, but the location away from the city might be a problem for some travellers.

Pros: Very comfortable bed, good wifi signal, clean, good air-con, on-site secure parking, quiet area.
Cons: Single rooms are tiny with barely space to use the desk provided, the location is not in the ciy centre so without your own transport you have to use tricylcles or jeepneys (of which there are plenty), no food available on site despite a menu in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puzzlemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Z Pad Residences, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the hippest hotel in Tacloban City!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Z Pad Residences. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. To discuss further your concern regarding the location of the property, we are just 5 minute away from the downtown area and there is enough means of transportation within the vicinity, we also provide shuttle service on site if in any case you'll be needing one. And lastly, regarding your food concern, though we serve breakfast and all day snacks, we are still improving our menu for guest's comfort. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team and rest assured that all key points of comments and suggestions will be given a high regards.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Best regards,

Jerick M. Florano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Zpad Residences was not we expected it to be. Just in their soft opening, we ended up wanting to check out minutes after checking in. There was no mobile signal in our room, no wifi signal, we couldn't order food because they don't have any and the list just goes on and on. The only thing that kept us from checking out was their hotel manager who was really apologetic and faced us. We moved to a better room now with mobile and wifi signals. The food situation though we had to stick out. So if you are looking for your usual hotel, this is not it.

Room Tip: Make sure your rooms have mobile phone signals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Z Pad Residences, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the hippest hotel in Tacloban City!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Z Pad Residences. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. However, upon checking your reviews of the property, there are some concerns that are merely beyond our control, especially with regards to the signal of any mobile company. To discuss further, in relation to your concern regarding our food, we offer choices of plated breakfasts and snacks and the lists is placed inside the room which I personally mentioned. Also specifically, during your stay we are encountering a system maintenance with our service provider and for that we apologized but then again, it is beyond our control. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team and rest assured that all key points of comments and suggestions will be given a high regards.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Best regards,

Jerick M. Florano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Very happy with our stay at Zpad Residences. Clean, well appointed rooms. Good location. Short walk to local transportation. Close to airport. Very friendly, helpful staff. Excellent value. Will stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WhiteKnight0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Z Pad Residences, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the hippest hotel in Tacloban City!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Z Pad Residences. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team and rest assured that all key points of comments and suggestions will be given a high regards.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Best regards,

Jerick M. Florano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacloban hotels
2.2 mi away
Basic Rooms Hotel
Basic Rooms Hotel
#9 of 20 in Tacloban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#2 of 20 in Tacloban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 20 in Tacloban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Go Hotels Tacloban
Go Hotels Tacloban
#8 of 20 in Tacloban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rosvenil Pensione
Rosvenil Pensione
#14 of 20 in Tacloban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Estrella
Hotel Estrella
#4 of 20 in Tacloban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Pad Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Pad Residences

Property: Z Pad Residences
Address: Dadison St, Tacloban, Leyte Province 6500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Tacloban
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Tacloban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Z Pad Residences 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Zpad Residences Tacloban City, Leyte, Philippines, where all the things you need to relax, enjoy, and take pleasure in come at budget-friendly rates. Our newly opened hotel in Tacloban presents travelers with a great place to stay, offering superb features and various services that ensure a hassle-free vacation. All guestrooms boast a soothing ambience and are designed in such a way that they evoke a sense of inviting warmth - perfect after a day of touring around the city. Each space is equipped with fittings and amenities that provide comfort and convenience every time. Aside from all these, our hotel's location is very much accessible to restaurants, shops, and other establishments, while the Tacloban City Airport is just a few minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Z Pad Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z Pad Residences Tacloban, Leyte Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing