We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
GV Hotel Tacloban City
Ranked #16 of 22 Tacloban B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel is a great a place to stay if you're looking for budget accommodation. We paid 650 pesos for a standard room with a matrimonial bed. We were able to call the day before and reserve a room. They gave us with bottles of water at check-in. Soap and towels were also provided in the rooms.

BUT, be warned, you do get what you pay for. The room was small, especially the bathroom. The walls need some touch ups. The window was really small and there wasn't a view at all- just a brick wall.

There was aircon and a TV with plenty of channels in the room. The bed was comfortable. The best thing about this place (besides the price) is the location. You can catch many multicabs, jeepneys and tricycles right outside. The drive to Robinson's is about 10 minutes. It's walking distance to the downtown area where there are many bars and restaurants. It's also walking distance to Gaisano, the waterfront, and other places of interest.

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay and is centrally-located, this is definitely the place to go.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for GV Hotel Tacloban City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

There's nothing to set this hotel apart from the standard budget options you find all over the Philippines. It's not luxurious, but it has the basics: aircon, cable TV, a bathroom/shower. The room we stayed in was actually on the small side, even for my wife and I, and we have very low expectations.

BUT for travelers on a budget, I highly recommend this place. Our room (as well as the hotel in general) was pretty clean. The bed seemed to be a legit western-style mattress, not the cheap foam ones that are common here. They have an elevator in case you don't feel like walking up four flights of stairs. The staff was friendly enough, and efficient (we reserved by phone the day before). They use electronic key cards, which is convenient for taking your roomkey with you. The BEST thing about GV is the location, on the corner of Veteranos and Real, which means you can catch multicabs to Robinson's mall, and you can comfortably walk to anything downtown.

At 650php for a room with a double bed, this is one of the cheapest options in town, and definitely one of the best values.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

as i dont want to bring my parents along searching for accommodation spontaneously, i tried booking at GV hotel online. Sure and easy. I've researched and found that its the cheapest. we needed rooms for 2 non-consecutive nights, just for few hours each night. Upon check in, You've to produce your own photocopy of the credit card you used for booking. I brought the original but they asked me to look for a photocopy shop outside. They don't have their own.

We got room 334 for the 2 nights. Both nights, they provided 1-3 items with stain (looked like blood or rust, im not sure) towels and a bed sheet. At first, we actually asked them to change it for us, afterwards, we discovered about the other stains, we didn't anymore bother to ask again.

There was only one electrical socket, so, even the television's plugged on it. Since we needed to charge all our gadgets, no watching tv for us (lazy to ask them for an adaptor with more sockets).

Toilet was clean with hot shower but a bit dim.

During our last night ( a weekend) there was an outdoor band?bar? playing music just in the opposite street. They were playing great music but the intensity wouldn't be very ideal for someone who wants to rest and have peaceful night asleep.

Staying at GV was not the best experience but if you're always in search for cheap, basic accommodation, like me, I can say, I was able to sleep soundly despite all these.

Also, its close to Duptour van terminal (and I heard its also close to vanvan's terminal too), if your are planning to travel using these companies to go other places just like what we did.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miss_piaalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacloban hotels
0.5 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
113 reviews
2.7 mi away
Basic Rooms Hotel
Basic Rooms Hotel
#7 of 21 in Tacloban
5 reviews
2.7 mi away
Go Hotels Tacloban
Go Hotels Tacloban
#9 of 21 in Tacloban
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rosvenil Pensione
Rosvenil Pensione
#12 of 21 in Tacloban
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#2 of 21 in Tacloban
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Asia Stars Hotel
Asia Stars Hotel
#17 of 21 in Tacloban
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GV Hotel Tacloban City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GV Hotel Tacloban City

Address: Avenida Veteranos Cor. Juan Luna St. | Leyte, Tacloban, Leyte Province 6500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Tacloban
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Tacloban
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your GV Hotel Tacloban City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GV Hotel Tacloban City Leyte Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing