We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dictator's Heritage” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sto. Nino Shrine and Heritage Museum

Sto. Nino Shrine and Heritage Museum
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Tacloban
Attraction details
Marawi, Philippines
Level Contributor
160 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Dictator's Heritage”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Sto. Nino Shrine. It displays the fortune and previous properties of the Marcoses. Managed now by the PCGG, the Santo Niño Shrine, one of the 29 presidential rest houses that the late Pres. Ferdinand Marcos had built. There is an Olympic sized swimming pool the behind the building. The entrance to the Shrine, you could see the Santo Niño is at the far end of the entrance. On both sides are a number of guest rooms with various themes. Santo Niño, a representation of the infant Jesus Christ, is the patron saint of Leyte. I wonder why the hell it was called the Sto. Nino Shrine where all I can see are the relics and antiques of the Marcoses. It just reminds me of how poor Filipinos are while the family are enjoying all the glamor in the world. The entrance fee was ridiculous and there was even a what they call "camera fee". And i wonder where will the money will proceed then. I suggest this Heritage should be sold and the earnings will proceed to the victims of injustices and their families, during the Martial Law era. I didn't enjoy the whole tour actually, I went out and ate and drank a lot of buko juice for i was thirsty already half of the tour. It was humid inside the buildings and I'm not really getting my money's worth or at least it was not worth of my precious leisure time. What a waste!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph Bernard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    39
    23
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

No shoes insight for the ladies, they must be kept somewhere else. Dirty, musty unmaintained place with no aircon or even fans. All it shows is how much money was wasted whilst people were starving. They never lived here. You would to think with the entrance fee they would pay someone to maintain it.. Typical ...

Helpful?
1 Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not a Must See”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The museum was decaying and didn't seem to be maintained well. I also did not like the fact that we had to change into slippers which I wasn't sure was sanitized. The whole place was old and you could certainly smell the damp. Some parts that had wood work were broken.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank QCMotherD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The Sto. Nino Shrine”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is one of the 29 presidential rest houses that the late Pres. Ferdinand Marcos has built. It boasts an Olympic size swimming pool behind the building. This place was built for Imelda Marcos who was born here, the "Rose of Leyte". This shrine and heritage museum is built where the Romualdez nipa hut used to be. While the museum is built like a house, not one of these rooms has ever been used...although the 20 seater dining table was used after Marcos inauguration year 1965. This was built to store Imelda's souvenirs from all get travels abroad. Excessively extravagant - unfortunately not well-maintained. Enough said. But still worth the visit. Pay for entrance and for camera.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank allcurves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
141 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Pay PHP200 to see the excesses of the Marcos era”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

For one, two or three people, the rate is the same. PHP200 Entrance fee. Although as a solo traveller, they did not charge me an extra PHP50 for using my camera. The tour is quick. This is because the guide will turn on the light in a room for you to see, and then he/she has to turn it off right after you leave to save on electricity bills.

The Sto Nino Shrine is the fusion of a decadent hotel, an equally opulent church, and the presidential palace. You just have to imagine what it looked like when it was new. In real terms it was a five star hotel/resort/church if there ever was one.

The ground floor was constructed for visitors and guests. The upper floor was made as a private domain of the first family. The bedrooms, specially that of First Lady Imelda Marcos is the pinnacle of excess.

The Museum is strangely run by the Presidential Commission of Good Government, and not the Department of Tourism. The small amount of funds generated by walk-in tourists may not even be able to maintain the salaries of the caretakers, much less the upkeep of this large vacation house.

If you have never seen the inside of Malacanang Palace, spend your P200, tour the place for 30 or 40 minutes, and close your gaping mouth because this is proof that what they said about the Marcos' is true. They lived unparalled lives when the rest of the country was starving.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Capt Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sto. Nino Shrine and Heritage Museum also viewed

Tacloban, Leyte Province
Tacloban, Leyte Province
 
Tacloban, Leyte Province
Tacloban, Leyte Province
 

Been to Sto. Nino Shrine and Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing