We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bridge to remember”
Review of San Juanico Bridge

San Juanico Bridge
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Tacloban
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The San Juanico Bridge, is an arch-shaped truss bridge in the Philippines stretching from Samar to Leyte crossing the San Juanico Strait. It is part of the Pan-Philippine Highway. It is the longest bridge in the Philippines spanning a body of water with a length of 2.16 kilometers.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bridge to remember”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Be cautious at all times when you attempt to walk across this beautifully-engineered bridge. (We were lucky enough to be allowed to do so.) It's a thrilling experience as you walk over this bridge; feeling the vibration of the ground with each passing vehicle, and enjoying the panoramic view of (part) Leyte, Samar, and San Juanico Strait. If your lucky, you will also enjoy seeing the sunset from the bridge. Enjoy the walk, but remember, this bridge is a National Highway so be cautious and don't do anything foolish. There are checkpoint securities, just follow their instructions for your own safety. Also, vehicles are STRICTLY NOT ALLOWED to stop, for whatever reason, at any point of the bridge.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AGV_1419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    119
    31
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Engineered to perfection”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I was on a trip to go to Tacloban and I was told to prepare my camera. I actually don't know what I should be ready for until I say from afar this very long bridge.

And then they said it's the famous San Juanico Bridge. I'm amazed cause this is my first time to see it with my own eyes.

FYI, this famous bridge was a brilliant project of the late Pres. MARCOS.
You are not allowed to take a picture on the bridge (so make sure you won't be caught.hahahah) you would see the arc of Welcome to Leyte.

Sad to say this bridge has been heavily damaged because of typhoon Yolanda that struck Visayas. A lot of dead people are stuck under the bridge which is really heart shredding.

I hope they can recover soon. I was there last January to Deliver some relief good for our Muslim friends and you would still see the damage that Typhoon Yolanda has left.

Still I rated it as 5star. Even though it was damaged now good memories still remain.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rOcKcHiQ_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice bridge”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Could only go to the security check point. They let us take pictures of the sign and couldn't really see much of the bridge. I would have to recommend a taxi or something to actually drive over the bridge which we didn't have.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The greatest Marcos achievement!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Even though it was constructed in the seventies, the bridge is still breathtaking in form and figure! Truly one of Marcos' greatest achievement at that time when the Philippines is still 2nd in Asia in terms of growth in the economy. Spectacular!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Adel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“It's a bridge. It's pretty. I'm not sure it's worth the long drive unless you are going across anyway”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It's very pretty, but if you've been across any bridge, it's about like that. I was a bit worried our Jeepney would not quite make it up the incline. Luckily it did, and there doesn't seem to be a safe spot to stop along the way-despite other reviewers suggesting it, there really isn't space and large trucks go past so it might just be best to go all the way across and back.

The roads leading to it are pretty, with grassy fields and even water buffalo, and the area feels very remote and rural and scenic. The idea to rent a boat is an interesting one for the future when the area has returned more to normal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hopeimaginepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juanico Bridge also viewed

Leyte Island, Visayas
 
Tacloban, Leyte Province
Palompon, Leyte Province
 

Been to San Juanico Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing