We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A famous bridge”
Review of San Juanico Bridge

San Juanico Bridge
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Tacloban
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The San Juanico Bridge, is an arch-shaped truss bridge in the Philippines stretching from Samar to Leyte crossing the San Juanico Strait. It is part of the Pan-Philippine Highway. It is the longest bridge in the Philippines spanning a body of water with a length of 2.16 kilometers.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A famous bridge”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Caught a jeepney from downtown to the base of the bridge and walked all the way across into Samar. Waited there for a bus to take me back to Tacloban. If you have time to kill its an OK activity

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Longreach74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    119
    31
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“San Juanico Bridge, Leyte”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

like
longest bridge in the Philippines made under regime of President Ferdinand Marcos as a sign of his love to his wife- Imeldda Marcos who was born and native of Leyte.

Dislike
hard to get there
public transport: ask tryc driver/taxi to bring you to the Basey Jeepney Terminal
Ride a jeepney with signboard "Basey" and dont forget to tell the driver/conductor to drop you at San Juanico Bridge
how to go back to Tacloban City: Ask the police at the checkpoint of San Juanico and just wait a jeepney to Tacloban

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great engineering marvel”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Rode across this beautiful bridge twice during our Big Biker Unity Ride. Great picturque views!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank krazytomdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Still a transport engineering marvel”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My father who traveled a lot during his younger days had a photo taken in this bridge that connects the provinces of Leyte and Samar. As a child, he would show me a photo of this bridge which in those days is considered an engineering marvel.

I am fortunate to have had a chance to see this bridge and I am still awed by the thought of how it continues to be of good quality throughout those years.

I just had to have a photo taken on a spot where I believe my dad has his own photo taken.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBaldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level Contributor
191 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Bridge”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Finally had the chance to cross this bridge last week. The weather was good, the view was amazing. I would say this bridge helped a lot commercially, not only Samar and Leyte, but the whole nation.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juanico Bridge also viewed

Leyte Island, Visayas
 
Tacloban, Leyte Province
Palompon, Leyte Province
 

Been to San Juanico Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing