We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly nice hotel and a very good value too!”
Review of Hotel Alejandro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tacloban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Alejandro
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Tacloban
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Stayed here last week of April 2009 for 3 nights visiting friends in the provence... First thing is that the hotel has a very nice-- if not imposing-- front view.. It is a historic site for Tacloban town and has history that you can see for yourself in the many photos on the walls and a Tacloban history book in the lobby area..
Check-in is swift and a bellboy takes your bags.. I reserved a basic standard room. and was quoted a off-peak rate of PHP1000/night nett.. Luckily at check-in I got a room that had been renovated about a year ago (according to front desk staff).. The room is--like virtually all of the Philippines-- hard tile. this is nice as it keeps the room cool.. It was suprisingly large for the room category.. Basic small bed-- like a US twin size or similar.. like almost all beds in asia-- it was firm-- to say the least.. light blanket and pillows.. A/C was overhead type and strong and quite.. TV was a smaller (maybe 25 in or so) color with remote.. all your standard cable channels including english movie and news channels.. some programs in Chinese/Japanese/Russian too.. Only one small desk by the bed-- not enought space to work from, but enough for your basics..
Bathroom was a western style with only a standup shower. The hot water was a "water on a wall" type of hot water system... It had decent pressure, but like all "water on the wall" systems, the water never gets really hot-- some dont care, but for me I like a nice hot shower.. All fixture worked and were very clean..
Overall the room was basic but very clean, no signs of roaches or similar and everything worked-- no exceptions..
Hotel does have an odd "swimming" pool on the roof.. I'd suggest you go look for yourself.. Why is it "odd"? Well, when you look at it.. It's small... and it looks out-of-place... It looks like it was an "after thought"... It ocupies one corner of the rooftop.. Shaped in an "L" shape that wraps around the corner of the hotel.. no diving board and it can only be 5ft deep or so at best.. There are a few small tables with chairs next to it if you want to have a bite to eat or drink.. Nice place as most of the hotels in Tacloban dont have a pool at all-- it's just a funny looking set-up... Like someone thought to add a pool AFTER the hotel was done..
Hotel facitlites are suprisingly good.. a restaurant that is 24/7 (room service 24/7 also) that has a very diverse menu-- western/philippino and thai foods are featured.. A feature that I like-- I call it "off-menu" ordering.. I asked the hotel for a simple grilled cheese sandwich, it's not on the menu. But they made one for me. A nice touch.
The front desk staff were very helpful in anything I wanted.. They even called the airline to confirm my seats for my departure, arranged for a taxi to the airport.. everything..
The hotel is in a fairly good location and is walking distance to most things in downtown Tacloban..

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GOPBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 124 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2009

While agreeing with everyone else, I find it strange that no one has mentioned the pool on the roof that was finished while I was there. The roof top has a rather nice veiw of the city and a very nice pool. It's funny how people go to see something and don't really look around. The place has a very detailed photo history of various things that have happened going back to WWII. It took me a little effort but I finally talked the staff into selling me a carton of beer to take out with me, they insisted it would be cheaper elsewhere, But even thier high price was a lot cheaper than in my country hehe. I'll be going back soon

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sickem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Hotel Alejandro must be the most charming Hotel in this side of town.The hotel facade tells one of History w/c adds charm to this Hotel.
It's surely not a 5-star hotel but the attentiveness & friendliness of the staff compensate for it.Besides the Rate is so reasonable, the food in the restaurant is also okey & the rooms are clean.
We surely enjoyed our stay excep,t for the old towels that they still use & hope the management notice that.
Generally, the Hotel is great & we will still come back next time.

Stayed: January 2009
4  Thank MaryPhilippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

During November 2008, my Filipina girlfriend and myself stayed twice in this hotel. First for 3 nights at the beginning of my stay, and again 3 nights near the end.
The first room we were in had somewhat older plumbing, but the staff was very helpful in showing a trick to use it. The room we had the second stay was simply perfect, a bit smaller, but recently renewed. Rooms were cleaned quite thoroughly, so nothing to complain about that either.
Food in the restaurant is the best we had in the town, staff there (cafe Teresa) also very friendly.
The hotel is situated on walking distance from shopping streets, but as everywhere in the Philippines, a tricycle can bring you where you want to be for almost nothing.
Before going back to Europe, we stayed in another hotel near Manila airport. Having been in the Alejandro... it was like from heaven to hell.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank polowonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

Hotel Alejandro in in downtown Tacloban. Its a very clean hotel and staff is great. Front desk is very helpful and the cleaning crew is so attentive. Its not a 5 star but its propably the best hotel you can find in Tacloban. Prices are very reasonable and food at the restaurant is good and priced right. I recommend going to Ocho Ocho restaurant. They have great grilled fush and barbecue. Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LATRADER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

A little piece of history.
Parts of this hotel are like stepping back in time. Not because its old, but because its steeped in the history of WW2.
The staff were pleasant and helpful. The Hotel very clean and it was good to get a greeting from every member of the staff as you walked past.
If you are looking for a good standard of hotel, this is the place to go in Tacloban.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Kram18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: suchen Sie sich ein Zimmer nach hinten raus (der Ruhe wegen)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinoy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacloban hotels
0.7 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Estrella
Hotel Estrella
#4 of 21 in Tacloban
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#2 of 21 in Tacloban
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 21 in Tacloban
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosvenil Pensione
Rosvenil Pensione
#9 of 21 in Tacloban
55 reviews
2.4 mi away
Go Hotels Tacloban
Go Hotels Tacloban
#10 of 21 in Tacloban
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alejandro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alejandro

Address: Paterno Street, Tacloban, Leyte Province 6500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Tacloban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Tacloban
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Alejandro Hotel Tacloban
Hotel Alejandro Tacloban, Leyte Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing