We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Hotel”
Review of Sabin Resort Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ormoc
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sabin Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ormoc
Philippines
Level Contributor
222 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Good Family Hotel”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed at Sabin Resort Hotel for two nights to attend a wedding. My family stayed in two Twin Deluxe Rooms. This resort is the biggest so far in Ormoc City and their facilities are good enough for a family trip. The ballroom is large, the swimming pool is clean and has a nice shape, and the resort has it's own beachfront. They also have a coffee shop/ bar. All in all the resort is good for a family weekend. The food that they served during the wedding reception was delicious, although service was quite slow. The rooms need a major upgrade though. The rooms looked dark and old, although the bedsheets, bed, pillows were okay. The bathroom was not so clean and had a bad smell. There is a queer smell inside the room also (maybe the draperies) , that maybe their housekeeping could check. I could recommend this hotel to my friends, although they should not expect much from the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saint28daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    43
    47
    27
    21
See reviews for
45
37
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ormoc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The structure is really beautiful but the rooms needs a lot of improvements... some rooms are not clean and needs to renew..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shengkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

While Sabin has a great pool and ambiance its rooms are a little worn down. The toilets arent kept well, in fact during my stay there were yellow stains (like urine) on the toilet seat and morsels of food on the table and in the in-room menu. Staff i guess dont take extra care in making sure that all things inside the room are cleaned whenever they do their housekeeping. The phone inside the room had this terrible smell, I didnt want to use it!The smell was strong that even if i was just on my bed i could smell it.Perhaps housekeeping should put some chemical to remove that smell. Lastly housekeeping didnt answer their phone whenever i called so i would always have to call front desk first before i can get things done like the leaking faucet in the bathroom.

Room Tip: the room is spacious and the beds are too so if you dont mind sharing your room with someone, feel f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank princesscat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have stayed at Sabin many times over the past decade and generally like it very much. The hotel and grounds have been expanded and renovated several times since our first visit in 2001. Some older rooms, such as the ones nearest the water on the southern end of the resort, are in great need of refurbishing. The rooms have been very clean each time, but some items need maintenance, especially the bathroom fixtures. We have found the service to be very good. My wife and I had our engagement party banquet in their (now old) ballroom. The caterers and coordinators did a great job for a fair price ($550 USD) One time, our baby became ill during the night and the front desk arranged for a tricycle to take us to OSPA Hospital. In 2008, the room service still delivered to our room during a typhoon! The poor server was very wet. Needless to say, we tipped him well. The new restaurant is much nicer than the old and the nightly entertainment is pretty good. The food has always been good, especially the breakfast. The one complaint I must corroborate from other reviews is the fact that the kitchen takes forever to make your food and get it delivered to your table. In fairness, this is common in Leyte and in many parts of the country. Sabin is a peaceful place away from the obnoxious buzz of the city. One drawback is the distance from downtown, requiring a tricycle ride. We look forward to our return next year.

Room Tip: Don't get a room too close to the restaurant, or you might have trouble sleeping, due to nightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deepsix2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

If its not for the pool, I wouldn't stay in this terrible hotel. Your food would take forever to be serve. They treat you like you couldn't afford to pay them. They only acknowledge foreigners coz of the tip! That poolside waiter is so Rude!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Titaguapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ormoc hotels

Uthaug, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I have stayed in Sabin Resort every time i have been in Leyte(5 times), and i`m sure that i will come back again. Its a great hotel with god service and a very good restaurant. My next visit to Sabin will be in march/april 2012. Per Skaret.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerSkaret62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield IL.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed this resort last Jan. 2 to Jan. 6, to attend a Wedding the reception was there too. the service was very good and the staff was very helpfull because its my first time in this resort. the swimming pool is big. this resort is good for a family vacation, next time i visit here i"m sure i will be with my family. I recomend this resort for a family vacation.

Room Tip: choose the ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junsosmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormoc
1.3 mi away
Don Felipe Hotel
Don Felipe Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ormoc
76 reviews
24.5 mi away
My Little Island Hotel
My Little Island Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poro Island
21 reviews
30.8 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#2 of 20 in Tacloban
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 mi away
Basic Rooms Hotel
Basic Rooms Hotel
#7 of 20 in Tacloban
4 reviews
31.3 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#3 of 20 in Tacloban
158 reviews
31.2 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 20 in Tacloban
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabin Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabin Resort Hotel

Property: Sabin Resort Hotel
Address: Bantigue, Ormoc, Leyte Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Ormoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ormoc
Number of rooms: 248
Also Known As:
Sabin Hotel Ormoc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing