We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it needs renovation, good enough for a short period”
Review of Sabin Resort Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ormoc
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sabin Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ormoc
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Located in a quite green place close to the sea, far from the noisy streets of Ormoc. Forniture, bathroom and air conditioning system need to be updated and better maintained. Staff belonging to the hotel and to the restaurant is kind and professional. Wifi coverage is good in the lobby, poor in the rooms. Advisable for a short holiday or for a business trip in Ormoc.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LUIGI S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Sabin Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 166 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2011

Lets start like this --> room --> food (restaurant) --> service --> facilities (swimming pool) --> location --> overall first impression.

<1>The room I stayed in faced the swimming pool, it was a separate section by the end of the pool. It was higher in price, however the noise from people chatting, yelling by the pool make the stay quite uncomfortable. The room size was good, just like other hotels in Barocay, it was okay clean as it was supposed to. The room decoration was sort of tasteless if you have been to some 5 star hotels, you know what I mean. Overall, the room was okay.

<2> Food was only so-so. I have a hard time understanding why some reviewers say that the food there was great. The cake was dry, the sandwishes were small and the bacon was hard to chew on, meaning over-cooked! The pineapple juice was nice, however, as I know that the company owns the pineapple lands here in Ormoc area. Well, lucky folks.

<3> Service was acceptable. We sat by the pool side, and sometimes the waitor was gone, and minutes later were we able to start our orders, but we thought that may be he was busy, so we dismissed this incident. Once we order, he took our order correctly, this was to be expected as any hotels, so nothing special and nothing stands out.

<4> Facilities. The swimming pool was big, and there was the children and moms area for kids to play in the water. I guess the area is not that deep so children can remain in the water more easily. The pool was big, but when weekends come, there were so many people that it was sometimes hard to find a space to swim, did they allow people from outside of the hotel to get in and swim? May be that was the reason? However, the bottom of the swimming pool was sometimes dirty, and the concrete bottom seems to have deterioated and lacked care. There were occasional burges which could hurt your feet if you step on them, and some parts saw paints peeling off also, hence the lack of care. The restrooms or changing room by the pool or the restaurant side were very smelly. Can this be acceptable for a so-called top hotel in Ormoc City? Is this your standard here in Ormoc? So smelly and dirty, and the water came out slowly from the faucets. Boy, it was not a good memory and experience.

<Location> The location is a bit far from the city, you always have to take an extra trip to the city. So if you drink by the bars in the city, be sure that you have a secure way of coming back and nobody will hurt you if you fall asleep on the way back. Yet, the upside is that the faraway location makes it better to enjoy the sea view or better air quality. By the way, talking about air quality, be warned that the emission of harmful smog by cars are crazy in Ormoc City, the smog from cars are crazy and dark, the tricycles are just everywhere also and are not that comfortable compared to the taxi in Cebu City and Manila.

Overall, my first impression of this so-called by local people the best hotel in Ormoc City isn't that great, and actually my first impression of this Sabin hotel was a letdown. For the price, and for what Sabin Hotel is known for, as the top hotel in Ormoc City, one expects the highest standard of both service and quality. However, their quality level seems sort of low compared to other local hotels I have been to in other places of Philippines. I would hope that the management of Sabin Hotel start looking at each part of their property and start to make a plan to remodel the swimming pool, the restrooms and changing rooms and the interior decoration of their hotel rooms. Also, if possible, please put a limit on how many people you allow to swim in the pool during weekends. It just get so noisy and overcrowede sometimes.

Room Tip: Do not choose the rooms by the swimming pool.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JustVisited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The location was very great as it is a little far from the noise of the city. The swimming pool is large and super beautiful. The room is great, with ample space, nice furniture, clean and well-lighted. A very relaxing stay indeed. Staff are friendly and accommodating. The food taste great and reasonably priced. If you want a stress-free, relaxing stay, Sabin Resort Hotel is the place to go.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the pool and restaurant for easy access.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cacai_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights and experienced a very relaxing and customer friendly atmosphere. The room was very good size. Price for the room was very reasonable and better than anticipated. Room was pool-side so it did experience some of the noise from wedding receptions, etc., but it was not a big detractor. The hotel restaurant was a complete surprise. Extremely well appointed, service was impeccable and prices on the menu were an average 20 pesos less than other restaurants in Ormoc City. Quality was always very good and portions are very generous. Try one of the soups, but be prepared with 4 people to help consume it. The hotel swimming pool was very nice, but not top-notch. Overall enjoyed a very relaxing and most enjoyable stay. Try it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed it very much. The room was clean but I did learn a trick while we were here. Like some other hotels, the guest is supposed to insert their room key holder into a slot inside the room to turn on all the power inside the room (including the air conditioner). You are supposed to return the key to the front desk when you leave the room but that then turns off the air conditioning. We were shown how cardboard folded a couple of times will keep the power enabled when out of the room. This came in handy at the Hotel Alejandro in Tacloban when we left here. One problem at breakfast was the staff was sweeping the floor and cleaning the dining room while we were eating breakfast. We had to ask then to stop raising dust in the windy conditions while we were eating our meal. Other than that, it was an enjoyable stay. The staff sent us to Sal's Bar and Restaurant which was one of the best restaurants where we ate during 5 weeks in the Philippines. Also on their advice we tried Big Roy's but were disappointed after Sal's. Transportation to both restaurants was via tricycle.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kentucky_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

hotel room was dainty, and neatly designed..bathroom was spacious..nice, friendly staff..restaurant staff was even more friendly..there's a few entertainment goin on at night..food was good althought a little overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelikeagypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I never thought that Im going to have my wedding here, and so it happened... Well the first time I went in the front desk well I AM NOT SATISFIED WITH THE GIRLS. they do not accomodate their guests as they were kings and queens..Oh my gosh i was really shock with the kind of attitude they rendering towards us...
I am a hotelier for 5 yrs and i can really see the poor service and the rooms they have.
Although I love ormoc becos i was born in that city (currently working in 5 star hotel in cebu city) they should improve to the highest level..that senior girl in the desk whose in charge in bookings for the wedding together with her collegues should undergo an extensive customer service training and proper attire and carry themselves...

hopefully the next time i will visit your hotel it will improve as much as i expected :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bagnetncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormoc
1.2 mi away
Ormoc Villa Hotel
Ormoc Villa Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ormoc
63 reviews
1.3 mi away
Don Felipe Hotel
Don Felipe Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ormoc
76 reviews
31.3 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#2 of 21 in Tacloban
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
112 reviews
24.5 mi away
My Little Island Hotel
My Little Island Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poro Island
21 reviews
29.2 mi away
Basic Rooms Hotel
Basic Rooms Hotel
#7 of 21 in Tacloban
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabin Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabin Resort Hotel

Address: Bantigue, Ormoc, Leyte Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Ormoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ormoc
Number of rooms: 248
Also Known As:
Sabin Hotel Ormoc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing