We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
52
26
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
26
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus enjoyed our stay kaiseki dinner beef flower arrangements registration ikebana master artisan michiko clouds sword
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 87 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile

Our stay at Kifu no Sato was wonderful, one we will always fondly remember! We stayed in a spacious Japanese suite with western style beds and a well equipped bathroom. The Japanese shower had a thermostat, a great feature, the water temperature was always perfect. We arrived by car and were warmly welcomed, they were clearly expecting us. We were offered a drink in the lounge while they took care of our registration.
We were assigned a very kind English speaking young woman who took care of all of our needs during our stay. Michiko served the Kaiseki dinner in our room, explaining every single dish. The dinner was exquisite and delicious and every dish was beautifully plated, a feast for the eye. In the morning Michiko served us a delicious breakfast in the room as well. The second day we enjoyed a local beef dinner which was equally delicious, the local beef was incredibly tender and flavorful.
We very much enjoyed our stay at Kifu no Sato, it was Omotenashi or Japanese hospitality at its very best.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 791annd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017

Kifu No Sato is a truly authentic luxury ryokan experience.
Located not too far from Okayama(where the gardens are well worth a visit), it is a really nice drive through beautiful countryside. The ryokan can arrange transfers. We continued on to Osaka from there and were dropped off at Sayo station (very nice drive again)by them.
On arrival, you are politely greeted by friendly staff and a feeling of calm oozes. There was a stunning arrangement of cherry blossoms branches by the check in desk and there was several beautiful ikebana arrangements throughout the hallways and public spaces which are apparently changed twice a week so always looking very fresh.

We had the suite which was very spacious with large windows offering district and mountain views. The beds were as comfortable as any 5* property I have stayed at. The private onsen was very welcome after a night flight. Public onsen just as good with very large windows when indoor and outdoor bath overlooked a perfectly manicured Japanese garden. The hot stone sauna (you put a towel on hot small polished stones which cover the floor and then lay on it) was a first for me and loved it. Room and public onsen were impeccably clean.

Fantastic food completed this perfect experience. We had the sophisticated Seasonal Kaiseki Spring Menu for dinner and were impressed by the variety, presentation and of course it was beautiful food. Japanese style breakfast was also a very good experience the following morning. Both meals were had in our yukatas in the comfort and privacy of an enclosed table overlooking beautiful garden.

English is not widely spoken at the ryokan however the delightful Ms Ice is fluent and more than helpful. It is away from the typical western tourist itinerary so well worth it if you want to get off the beaten path and a truly authentic ryokan experience.

Room tip: Go for the suite with private onsen
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016

My wife and I have tried a few onsen hotels in Japan with similar price range and Kifunosato is the best we ever stayed. Our room is on the ground floor with a private onsen overlooking a big garden. The private onsen is great and it would be much better if the shower place is indoor. The entire hotel is laid with Tatami which is very comfortable to walk on. All hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The dinner is rich and delicious. The young lady serving us dinner is very friendly. We feel so pleased that the lady owner even came to greet us before dinner.
The hotel offered 3 kinds of pillows and the pillow of pearl I chose is very comfortable. The morning trip to the nearby mountain is the program that you should not miss out. Thanks to the beautiful weather, I've seen the most awesome sea of cloud in my life. I definitely would like to come back again.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkoon115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2016

I have a chance for 1 night stay at KIfuno Sato and actually it's not enough. I'd love to come back to explore more.
Breakfast and Dinner are great.
Room is excellent.
Best taking care of all staff, indoor and outdoor on-sen are both excellent

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Asutthida F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

Special note should be made of Tatami corridor.( Tatami is Japanese straw floor coverings. Tatami matt)
Japanese authentic dishes are served at special dining room(booth).
Good hospitality shown toward guests.
You can see the sea of cloud in the certain early morning from top of the hill in the vicinity of the hotel. It's great.

畳の廊下が気持ちいです。お料理は正統派和食が食事処で出されます。おもてなしは良いですよ。早朝近くの山頂(200mくらい?)から雲海が見えます。(ホテルからマイクロバス出てました) 夜明けの雲海は素敵でした。

Date of stay: November 2015
Thank Mikkytag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews