We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic reception after 40 miles on bikes!”
Review of Domaine de Joreau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine de Joreau
Ranked #1 of 1 Gennes B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We arrived tired and hungary after a days cycling, Petra met us and explained our eating options. We decided to stay put and enjoy food cooked by her. We showered , sat in the garden, had two different locally brewed ales followed by a three course meal with wine! It certainly revived our sprits! We had a splendid breakfast before we resumed our journey down the Loire. We would recommend Petra's place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephinebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joreau, Owner at Domaine de Joreau, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you very much for this splendid review. I am well aware of the difficulties for cyclists to go out again after a full day on the bikes and try to prepare at least a simple meal. Sitting in the garden and relaxing in the sunset is well deserved and appreciated. Happy to read that you appreciated too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Domaine de Joreau
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 65 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in August for 3 nights at this B&B. Very nice host, excellent breakfast and the garden was just awesome. Also for our kids, playing football in the garden. Our host gave us good tips for restaurants, sight seeing etc.
The rooms are very spacious and clean.

Room Tip: have dinner in one of the "cave restaurants" along the Loire.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nietje3571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joreau, Owner at Domaine de Joreau, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

I was very pleased to welcoming you at our place with your family. Unfortunately I couldn't offer you the additional night you were asking for.
Our family apartment with almost 50 sqm is very appreciated by families with 2 children or more. Parents can relax in the garden while there children are laying football, jumping on the trampoline or feeding the donkeys. Thank you very much for having chosen Domaine de Joreau.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Domaine de Joreau is tucked away in woodland on the outskirts of Genne. It is convenient to a supermarket and very suitable to walkers and cyclists as well as tourists like ourselves.
The establishment is very clean and comfortable and the host speaks numerous languages very well. A very friendly environment exists and privacy is guaranteed. A very relaxed atmosphere in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Our room was in an upstairs duplex with the bathroom on the ground floor. Plenty of space and endles...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ganda568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joreau, Owner at Domaine de Joreau, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you very much for this excellent review. I felt very lucky to welcoming you. We had a very pleasant time together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for a night during our month honeymoon in France- absolutely perfect!! We arrived on Easter Monday to find all the restaurants in town closed- our hosts very generously prepared a delicious meal with no fuss. Beautiful rooms and surrounds- this place is just brilliant!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennopardis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joreau, Propriétaire at Domaine de Joreau, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this review. I am glad and proud to be one of the selected places you have kept in mind during your long trip through Europe. Whenever you find the time to come back to France I will be more than happy to welcome you again and to show you many special places to visit in the Loire Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our second stay at this property. We were again warmly welcomed and Petra provided an excellent meal on our first night. The property is set in beautiful grounds, it is quiet, very relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable. It is also handy to Saumur and Angers and many other places within this region.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this property with many beautiful features to anyone seeking true comfort in a lovely part of France.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed excellent, large, comfortable and overlooking the gardens.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benmark95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joreau, Propriétaire at Domaine de Joreau, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

We are delighted to see that your 3 nights stay this year has confirmed the overall impression of your 1 night stay 3 years ago. Thank you very much for having taken the time to recommend our place so warmly to future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had booked a nights stay here on the return from a holiday in the Dordogne for oursleves and my 82 year old father, on Saturday 8th September. After a 6 hour drive, we arrived at 5pm to be told that we could NOT stay that night, as she had family staying.!!
I was SO incredulous at the fact that she reneged on our written agreement, and was understandably upset, as I was looking forward to staying in such pleasant surroundings, to round off a lovely holiday.
She had booked us into a nearby hotel, which was not of our choice,and furthermore, had passed on our details, without our knowledge, so we felt we had no alternative but to stay there!
I have never been treated so appallingly, in the many years that we have travelled through France, and consider our treatment very unproffessional and suggested she should have asked her family to stay at the hotel and not let down paying guests.
I suggest you find a alternative stay to ensure you actually are 'RECEIVED!'

Room Tip: Cannot rate the rooms as we were not permitted to stay!
Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank caroline n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joreau, Propriétaire at Domaine de Joreau, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Mrs N.,
I can fully understand your disappointment and anger about your booking at our B and B. I have made a mistake in accepting your booking and I feel very sorry for this.
When I became aware of this mistake, I contacted you via email approximately 12 days prior to your stay. As I received no answer within the next couple of days, I tried to join you on your mobile, where unfortunately I could only leave a message.
The 8th September was a very busy week-end in the Loire Valley and it was very difficult to find an alternative place for the 3 of you. All my B and B colleagues were fully booked and with no answer from you I booked 2 rooms in a very nearby hotel. My intention was to avoid any further long drive and to provide you with a very correct place to sleep and dine. All additional costs have been taken in charge and no confidential information has been passed on to the hotel.
If ever you want to give us a second chance, you are very welcome and I will do everything to prove that we do not act unprofessionally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

A destination to die for. It's got it all. So good we don't want to tell anyone about it!

Room Tip: Any room is delightful
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gennes
0.8 mi away
La Longue Vue
La Longue Vue
#1 of 1 in Gennes
59 reviews
8.2 mi away
Premiere Classe Saumur
Premiere Classe Saumur
#14 of 24 in Saumur
165 reviews
3.8 mi away
Logis Domaine de la Blairie
Logis Domaine de la Blairie
#1 of 1 in Saint-Martin-de-la-Place
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
559 reviews
8.7 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
7.3 mi away
Les Terrasses de Saumur
Les Terrasses de Saumur
#1 of 2 in Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Joreau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Joreau

Address: 11, La Croix de Joreau, 49350 Gennes, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Gennes
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gennes
Price Range: $90 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy bed & breakfast in the Loire Valley between Saumur and Angers. We are situated in a huge park with many beautiful old trees between the Loire River and the forest. The Domaine de Joreau offers 2 double rooms and 1 family apartment, all very comfortable with en suite bathrooms that can sleep up to 10 people.The cycling trail of the Loire and the hiking trail GR3 path directly in front of the property. All day to day facilities are nearby (<1 km).Ask for more information about Wine tours and hot air ballon flights. Personalized recommendation about chateaux and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Domaine de Joreau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing