We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful day in the Loire Valley”

Le Tasting Room Wine - Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Gennes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 1-3 day Loire wine tours led by experienced English trade professionals. Discover the diversity of Loire valley wines, visit wineries and vineyards. All tours available as day trips from Paris.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
“A Wonderful day in the Loire Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Thank you Cathy and Nigel for being such gracious hosts! My husband and I appreciate your hospitality and kindness. Our visit to Le Tasting Room was one of the highlights of our trip! We cannot say enough nice things about our experience. Not only did we enjoy learning about the wines in the Loire Valley region but we enjoyed the company! Thank you for sharing the day with us. Cheers to Cathy and Nigel!!!

Sincerely,
Kendra & Jeff

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kendra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loirewinefan, Propriétaire at Le Tasting Room Wine - Day Tours, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thanks Kendra and Jeff for your lovely review. We thoroughly enjoyed our day together and I have a lovely photo of you that I shall send you by email. You were terrific company, it was a real pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience and Great Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Le Tasting Room was easily one of the highlights of our Trip to France. Cathy and Nigel are wonderful people, fantastic hosts, and incredibly knowledgable. Should you be considering spending and amount of time in the Loire Valley, do yourself a big favor and reach out to Cathy! Our experience was so special, and our gracious hosts took care of our every need, every step of the way. From our delicious lunch in the wine cave, to our excellent education about French wines, to the tastings and vineyard visits, we could not have asked for more. The truth is, that I would love to share our whole experience, but then I would have to write a novel. Lets just say that we were sad to leave, and cant wait to go back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyfespeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“So good we went again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

In 2012 we had a wonderful day with Cathy and Nigel learning a huge amount the wines of the Loire region. In fact we enjoyed the day so much we booked again this year but asked if we could combine the tasting with a boat trip on the Loire. Nothing was too much trouble including a wonderful lunch suitable for my wife who has coeliac disease. After lunch we went on a traditional Loire river sailing craft discovering the complexities and shallows of the river including some impromptu team work to hoist the sail and run downwind. All in all we cannot recommend highly enough the expertise, knowledge and hospitality of Cathy and Nigel.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fabulous day trip from Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent a lovely day in July with Cathy and Nigel. From start to finish, the day flowed effortlessly--from Cathy's warm welcome at the Angers train station, to the wine tasting and onto a gourmet lunch followed by a visit and tasting at an impressive 14th century chateau. We are very interested in wine and Cathy and Nigel's knowledge of wine in general and Loire wine in particular made for an excellent educational experience. Visitors staying in Paris should know that this is a very easy day trip (we took the TGV from Gare Montparnasse directly to Angers) and we were back in Paris in time for dinner. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CatandMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recommending this Tour for any Loire visitor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was the most informative, laid-back, enjoyable wine tour I've ever experienced. Cathy and Nigel were the most knowledgeable couple who not only have extreme book smarts about the subject, but also decades of experience to back up every word. Their humor and kind-heartedness made for a lovely day of learning, drinking and dining in the beautiful setting of their renovated country home and cave. The meal they prepared for us was fantastic, and the private tour of their friend's winery was such a uniquely intimate experience. The six of us who attended this tour had a fantastic day and will always remember the Loire in a very special way.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jette209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tasting Room Wine - Day Tours also viewed

Saint-Macaire-du-Bois, Maine et Loire
Saint-Germain-sur-Vienne, Chinon
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Le Tasting Room Wine - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing