We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like home from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nelsons Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nelsons Beach Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Vincentia B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Like home from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Our family had the whole house to ourselves and it was just bliss. The house is clean and tidy and sitting out on the verandah eating our breakfast was just heaven. The breakfast is continental but there is loads to eat including fresh strawberries, blueberries and croissants, yum. We loved staying here and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hezdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We just arrived home after our family stay at the Beach Lodge and we wish we were back.
We had a group of 10 with 3 children and we still had room to spare.
There were many places to eat, sleep, socialise, read a book, watch a movie or enjoy a glass of wine.
Great location with just a short stroll to the beautiful Nelson's beach and a good size yard for the kids to run around in.
I visited this property last year before Lilian had taken over and WOW- has she done a good job. The yard, the new "den" (as we named it) was perfectly renovated, the little bits and pieces that have made such a big difference
Highly recommend this to families, groups, couples or singles!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We recently stayed in this accommodation as a family group, since there were few reviews we were unsure of what to expect but decided to stay anyway since it was the only accommodation we could find that could accommodate our group of 5 plus the dog.
We noted as we arrived the B&B looked like an ordinary house, not commercial at all, and although that was at first a mild concern it ended up being a huge plus because we totally felt at home after our first day.

Our host was very friendly although we really did not see a lot of her. There were no out of bounds areas in the house so we made full use of both the TV lounge area and the games lounge, we also felt comfortable preparing our picnic lunch in the comunial kitchen.

Our bedrooms which included the family room ( a trilogy bunk) and a queen bedroom with private ensuite were both very comfortable, linen was clean and towels were soft and fluffy.

We were wakened early morning by kookaburras and parrots which we all really enjoyed.

Our dog was not allowed in the bedroom ( which is where she sleeps at home) but the host made her comfortable in the laundry and the garden area was fenced so there was no concerns about her escaping in a strange town.

The house is very close to the beach and parks, about 2 klm to the nearest shops and 5 klm to Huskisson where we went each night for dinner, all in all very central.

We would stay at this property again and look forward to seeing future reviews, we will be recommending to our friends.

Room Tip: Only one room has private ensuite ( a queen room ) all other rooms are share bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanddancer01, Owner at Nelsons Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thankyou for your review, its very refreshing and encouraging, Im very happy to hear you enjoyed NBL and hope to meet with you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

The location is a short walk to the beach. The bedroom was at the front of the house facing the road,. so some traffic noise in a morning. It was quite large, no TV and a little dark with the wood panelled walls. Bathroom was adequate in size with toiletries provided, in the shower the soap dishwas dirty.
Guest lounge is at the top of the stairs with TV, tea, coffee and biscuits supplied. A little dark with the wood panelling not helped with a bulb missing in the light fitting.
Breakfast was fruit, yogurt, cerials, toast and home made jams.
The owner and other guests were very friendly.
You have to make your own beds
The dog in the downstairs lounge made the hoiuse a little smelly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanddancer01, Owner at Nelsons Beach Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
I came accross your review when updating Nelsons Beach Lodge web presence, I purchased NBL in January this year, since Im keeping the name I decided to leave your review but respond to it as an update.
The two dogs that lived at the property are nolonger here, they left with the previous owner.
All light fittings have been replaced and ceiling fans installed in all bedrooms and the games room which was formally the guest lounge.
Guests are now invited to use the whole house including the entrance lounge, sunroom, kitchen and laundry.
The wood panels on the walls have to stay! but the whole house has been brightened with fresh furnishings and decorations which reflect a beach theme since we are just 300 mtrs from Nelsons Beach.
The ensuite bedroom ( which from your review is probably the one you had) has been fitted with a TV and Ipod clock radio, the bathroom fittings have been replaced and new locks have been installed on all bedroom doors.
All windows have been fitted with new dressings which offer privacy when needed and assist with eliminating street noise.
I hope when your next in the area you can pay a visit to see these changes for yourself and you may consider staying at the property sometime in the future.
Thakns for reading
Lilian
Nelsons Beach Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vincentia
1.2 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanddancers
Sanddancers
#1 of 4 in Vincentia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.7 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Huskisson Beach B&B
Huskisson Beach B&B
#4 of 6 in Huskisson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
4.1 mi away
By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments
By The Beach B & B Self-Containe...
#2 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelsons Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelsons Beach Lodge

Property: Nelsons Beach Lodge
Address: 404 Elizabeth Dr, Vincentia, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Vincentia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Vincentia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelsons Beach Lodge is a large 5 bedroom 3 bathroom traditional guest house which can also be rented as a self cater holiday house. Situated in Vincentia a beautiful beachside suburb of Jervis Bay on the NSW South Coast of Australia, Nelsons Beach House is just 300 mtrs from the white sands and blue waters of Nelsons Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nelsons Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing