We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good Mexican food”

3 Gringos Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Vincentia
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good Mexican food”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Finding s decent restaurant in Vincentia/Huskisson has been difficult in the past. The 3 Gringos restaurant has raised the standard. The food is surprisingly good. The fajitas are, in particular, wonderful. Good service combines for a great night at the 3 Gringos.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leylandbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    54
    17
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top Mexican food”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We live in Wollongong and everytime we come down to Vincentia we go to the 3 Gringos. We have been going since they were a small business of one shop to having two shops. We have ever been disappointed . Atmosphere is always good, setting is modern, service A+ and the food is one of the best Mexican food I have had. We had the three course meal this time with good value of $37 a head. We were rolling out when finished ;) Can't say enough good things about this place... Support this family business by eating there fine food. You will not be disappointed ...Can't wait to go back again ;)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellyhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great night out.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent service, good food and generous helpings, plus comfortable surrounds made this a fun night out. Had 2 entrees and that was plenty - ask about portion sizes because some appetisers are for sharing! Friends loved the prawns, the beef fajitas, the steak, salad & Mexican rice, and I ordered the chicken quesadilla which was tasty too. Too full for dessert! BYO makes it extra reasonable... and the birthday pair were welcome to try on the hats for a photo finish!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervis Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Vincentia”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We've happily been to 3 Gringos almost every week for the past 3 years while living in this area. The chicken and beef fajitas are wonderfully delicious and filling - make them yourself at the table from super fresh warm tortillas. Kids love the nachos.

The service has been universally friendly and welcoming, even for large groups of families and jostling 3 year olds. It can get very crowded, even on weeknights. The food generally comes fairly quickly.

The restaurant is arranged well so that it doesn't feel crowded. It is well padded for decor so that it is never noisy, even when busy. I have seen couples having dinner near families, and the lighting is perfect to give everyone a good amount of privacy.

Make a booking in high season as it gets full very quickly. There is a big stack of Mexican hats (1 metre diameter) behind the counter which kids love to wear while parents are sorting out the bill - just ask them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Patience_and_Jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always been a favorite!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Before reading some of these reviews, I never thought that anyone ever had a bad experience at this restaurant because I certainly haven't, EVER! I'm a local and have always enjoyed coming here for dinner, the food is always delicious and the atmosphere is delightful! I feel like I'm in a fancy restaurant in the middle of Sydney. The service is always welcoming and kind and I always feel good after eating here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ledger918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Gringos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Huskisson, Jervis Bay
Vincentia, Jervis Bay
 
Huskisson, Jervis Bay
 

Been to 3 Gringos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing