We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot hot loud. Good value, but not for summer!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gasthof Hottl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gasthof Hottl
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deggendorf
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hot hot loud. Good value, but not for summer!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I ignored the hot room warnings and volume warnings from other reviewers to our peril. The fellow at the desk said the beer garden was quiet after 11. That was not true. It was very loud much later, and again in the morning with bike tour groups leaving at 5 :30 am!!! Unfortunately the window was open because the room was stifling. And I was disappointed that there was no fan, and the curtains were opened in the day which let in more heat. On the plus side, the people were helpful enough and the restaurant food and service was fantastic. I would only go back in the winter when the beer garden was closed and a hot room is a plus!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank notatoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    48
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
31
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is a lovely hotel very well appointed, spotless with a resturant that served one the best meals I had in Barvaria. The significant problem was a room facing the square (east) and encountering a hot spell. The noise from the street was significant all night even with all the double glazing closed (The last of the revellers finishing at 4.15am). Temperature of the room was unbearable with no airconditioning. Not a good choice for summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niseko_Wine_Supply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

The owner was genuinely very friendly and most helpful. Great place to stay. Very clean, comfortable room. Fabulous restaurant. I had duck with dumplings, my husband had pork. Very reasonably priced.
All you could possibly want for breakfast. Sorry to leave.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in France
Level Contributor
227 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel is centrally, and invitingly, located on the main square of Deggendorf.

Everything is clean, the welcome is warm and friendly, especially if you are able to communicate in German. The hotel staff did not seem to speak English very well, but they did made every effort to be friendly and helpful.

We had reserved a superior double room, and didn't regret it. It was tastefully decorated with a small sitting area with comfortable armchairs. The bath room was perfectly clean and the shower worked perfectly, soap was in dispensers. Our room overlooked the beer garden, and the conversation could, occasionally, be loud enough to disturb sleeping, it happened once on our 3 night stay. The curtains were thick enough to allow us to be among the last for breakfast. Not all rooms are wheelchair accessible, ours was on the 2nd floor but was in the newer part of the hotel accessible along a corridor with a few steps in it, and then down a short flight of stairs.

The breakfast buffet, served in the hotel's restaurant, was very good, only the juices being average, everything else being excellent and abundant. Speaking of the hotel's restaurant, we ate there twice. Think Bavarian food, no surprises, excellent quality, and large portions. Very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stopeter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

My son lives in Deggendorf...but I am non-German speaking, and American. I would highly recommend this "boutique style" hotel..it was clean and modern, yet retained the old world tradition and feel of Bavaria.....with plush down filled duvets, and pillows.....great bathrooms which are very modern and clean. A bier garten, and a delicious restaurant...so you can get virtually anything you want. The breakfast was hearty, and delicious.....The staff speaks enough English to help you navigate and is kind and helpful..... the owner, Alexander, is fluent in English, as is his wife, and so is : Manuela, a great staff person. Family owned and operated...and a joy to stay there!! Highly recommended.and I will be back soon, as will more family! Situated in the middle of the town center....an easy walk to everything you need! Drive to all the sites from here...and feel happy to be well cared for.....!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgolberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deggendorf
0.3 mi away
NH Deggendorf
NH Deggendorf
#1 of 5 in Deggendorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Donauhof
Hotel Donauhof
#3 of 5 in Deggendorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gut Altholz - Landhotel
Gut Altholz - Landhotel
#1 of 4 in Plattling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Burgwirt
Hotel Burgwirt
#4 of 5 in Deggendorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel am Ohewehr
Hotel am Ohewehr
#1 of 1 in Hengersberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
11.7 mi away
Landgasthof Hotel Zum Hirschenstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gasthof Hottl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof Hottl

Property: Hotel Gasthof Hottl
Address: Luitpoldplatz 22, 94469 Deggendorf, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Deggendorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deggendorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gasthof Hottl 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gasthof Hottl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing