We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent Tour would highly recommend

A personal 2 day tour spanning 3 days began at our hotel in Hue at midday and ended in on day 3 in... read more

Reviewed March 10, 2020
D T
,
Coventry
Tour of the former DMZ

Mr Vu is an excellent guide with deep knowledge of the area and the history of the Vietnam War. We... read more

Reviewed March 3, 2020
Talbotcp
via mobile
Read all 194 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Dong Ha
from $60.26
More Info
from $75.65
More Info
from $87.18
More Info
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
181
7
2
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
181
7
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr vu hamburger his knowledge khe sanh military history vietnam war vinh moc tunnels background information recommend mr excellent english his passion central highlands historical photos da nang excellent driver dmz area positive reviews
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 194 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed an excellent tour with Mr Vu and Annam tours. We were collected from Phong Nha National Park (for a small incremental fee) and travelled for a day through the DMZ where we stopped along the way at points of interest before arriving at our destination Hue. Mr Vu was a fantastically knowledgeable guide and very professional. The tour included Vietnamese coffee mid morning and tasty authentic Pho Bo for lunch. We learned a lot about the American war and were shown some remarkable photos on an IPad which were incredibly insightful. The tour was an excellent way to travel (by very comfortable car) and a great way to see some of the remarkable history of Vietnam. I will be recommending this tour to all my family and friends.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank First_stop_hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

We took a tour with Annam Tours and learned more about the Vietnam/American war history than in school. He is very knowledgeable and eager to answer any questions throughout the trip. Highly recommend!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

This was my third tour with Mr. Vu. It was a four day tour, April,‘18, of the Southwest Highlands, (The former Central Highlands). As in the past, I wasn’t disappointed. We left from Hue down Hwy. 14 as far as Pleiku and turned east to the coast for Quy Nhon. We then headed up Hwy.1, back to Hue. As expected, great trip.
I can’t add anything that I haven’t already said in previous reviews. Read the other reviews and you see a familiar pattern,—all good. For the Central Vietnam Area, with an emphasis on the American War, there is none more knowledgeable and flexible as Mr. Vu’s, Annam Tour. Dong Ha, VN.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank billmE4110HV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

After doing some research and reading reviews I contacted Vu from Annamtour a few weeks befor our trip. I booked a 2 day tour and can now say it was one of the highlights of our vacation. Vu picked us up at our hotel in Hue and we headed north toward the former DMZ. At the Vinh Moc tunnels we met 3 Veterans (Marines) that Vu had helped the day before to get up to hill 558 near Khe Sanh. They joined our visit of the tunnels which was very interesting! Rest of the day included several stops at former firebases and of course Khe Sanh and Lang Vei. We stayed overnight in Lao Bao. 2nd day we drove through the beautiful Da Krong valley and into Ashau valley. There we hiked up Dong Ap Bia (Hamburger Hill). Definitely the highlight of the tour! From the Ashau we headed back east towards Hue with more stops at former firebases. Vu has an awesome knowledge about the war and showed us a lot of pictures and maps on his Ipad. He is a great guide and driver! Would definitely recommend this tour to people who are interested in history and of course to Veterans.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank samTheman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked Mr Vu for a day tour of the DMZ from Hue. We had a fantastic day - Mr Vu’s car was very comfortable and had surround sound which was great for when we were watching the Vietnam War programs on his iPad. The programs helped to pass the journey (which is long, but didn’t feel it) and set the scene for the places we would visit. The scenery is also beautiful.

Mr Vu was extremely knowledgable about the war and activities around the DMZ (he acts as driver and guide) and his passion of the subject shone through. He had pictures on the iPad of what the places had looked like during the war which really added to the visits. His English was also impressive.

We would definitely recommend taking a tour with him, it’s more expensive than a group tour but is really worth it. Thank you Mr Vu!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank RS2491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews