We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Best War History Tour Guide in Vietnam

Mr. Vu is unquestionably the tour authority on Vietnam War history in Vietnam. He's well read, well... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Traveler O
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
An Excellent Day Out on the Khe Sanh - DMZ - Vinh Moc Tunnels Tour

We did the Khe Sanh - DMZ - Vinh Moc Tunnels Tour with Mr Vu in early May 2019. Booking the tour... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Paradise803533
,
Hitchin UK
Read all 169 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Dong Ha
from $38.00
More Info
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
156
7
2
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
156
7
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr vu hamburger his knowledge khe sanh vietnam war military history vinh moc tunnels answer any questions national cemetery background information his passion central highlands both sides these areas historical photos great guy dmz area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 169 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

We did the DMZ full day tour with Mr. Vu. His driver picked us up in Hué at 7:30 hours and dropped us off again at 18:00 hours. It was an extremely interesting day tour and very well organized. Mr. Vu brings an iPad along to show photos and videos of how the sites looked like during the war and his explanations taught us so much -- his English is simply excellent. If you do not visit the DMZ with a guide, you will surely be disappointed because it is impossible to know what to look for without an experienced person. For us, this day trip was among our highlights of 2 weeks traveling in Vietnam and we would highly recommend it. We paid 120 USD in total and it was worth the investment!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank SoerenLeif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

Superb tour by Vu. His english is excellent and he's very knowledgeable about the whole Vietnam war. He gives a very balanced view on what took place there.

If you're going anywhere near Hue, you should take a day out to do this tour. You can book Vu either in the DMZ bar in Hue or online.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank jameskelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

We chose this tour starting from Hue because of good TripAdvisor reviews. When we reached Dong Ha we learnt that unfortunately Mr Vu was not able conduct the tour himself due to illness so another guide accompanied us. The tour was quite pleasant and we covered a lot of ground. I enjoyed speaking with the guide but he was not able to give me any information beyond what I had already gathered from general reading.

At $120 for two people the tour was not good value for money. I would have learnt the same things if I had taken a less expensive tour as part of a small group.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank DdraigBach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile

Mr vu gave us an history lesson of the start of the war in the morning. Then we went to all the sights of the tour. He can be very detailed about the war, so it is really worth your money to book this tour.
Do it!!!!!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Lennart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

Mr. Vu is very knowledgeable and adds to the experience with his iPad, photos, and maps. His car is clean, new, and has great AC which makes for a comfortable long day of sightseeing. Would recommend for a DMZ tour especially if you are an English speaker as his English is outstanding. I was shocked he did not study overseas as his English is that good. A war history tour from a former history teacher seems a great combination.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews