We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Best War History Tour Guide in Vietnam

Mr. Vu is unquestionably the tour authority on Vietnam War history in Vietnam. He's well read, well... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Traveler O
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
An Excellent Day Out on the Khe Sanh - DMZ - Vinh Moc Tunnels Tour

We did the Khe Sanh - DMZ - Vinh Moc Tunnels Tour with Mr Vu in early May 2019. Booking the tour... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Paradise803533
,
Hitchin UK
Read all 169 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Dong Ha
from $38.00
More Info
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
156
7
2
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
156
7
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr vu hamburger his knowledge khe sanh vietnam war military history vinh moc tunnels answer any questions national cemetery background information his passion central highlands both sides these areas historical photos great guy dmz area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 169 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

It was an interesting trip and lots of background information. Mr Vu speaks fluent English and has a good knowledge. Thanks!

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank bjoernl931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017 via mobile

Mr. Vu was an absolute master of Vietnam war knowledge. It was a pleasure to listen to his stories and to walk with him among the old combat sites and abandoned bases. Anyone who is at all interested in learning about the Vietnam war should take this tour with Mr. Vu. You will not be disappointed.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank DayTrip614270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2017 via mobile

We took the overnight train from Hanoi to Dong Ha and Mr. Vu picked us up from the train station. He was an incredible tour guide, an encyclopedia of knowledge. Took us to different war sites in the DMZ area. He speaks perfect English and had original photos from the war of all of the sites he took us to. He took us to a great local restaurant for lunch. He helped us arrange rides for later in our trip. Overall a wonderful tour, great guy and a big help for the rest of our trip!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Trip184629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile

Mr Vu and his driver picked us up from our hotel in Dong Ha. Mr Vu, a very good English speaker, proved to be exceptionally interesting and knowledgeable about the military history in the area around the DMZ. We drove along Highway 9 and stopped at various key locations along the way. At Khe Sanh his animated description of the scene in 1968 was very instructive. After lunch we visited the Freedom Bridge in the DMZ and the tunnels at Vinh Moc. Once again his knowledge really enlivened the scene. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

We decided to get off night train in Dong Ha vs Hue, to do the DMZ tour, to avoid long sit in the bus
We arranged this about 3 days in advance and also booked the Melody Hotel thru Amman tours (this hotel was also recommended in rough guide)
We were picked up from train station and brought to hotel for quick refresh (there was no hot water), when we left the room the door wouldn't lock from outside, and had to change rooms. Finally we could go on the DMZ tour, we first went into a mine/bomb museum. Then the the old border bridge followed by the Vinh Moc tunnels
Quite an experience
We are not sure if our guide was Mr Vu or not (definitely not of veteran age, as read on reviews here before). Spoke good English, showed some original photos on iPad
Overall trip was ok, and would not want to have missed it, but felt price was high, and hotel highly over charged, it was not clean, lot of humidity / moult on walls, people not friendly

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank NL_DINKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews