We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Best War History Tour Guide in Vietnam

Mr. Vu is unquestionably the tour authority on Vietnam War history in Vietnam. He's well read, well... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Traveler O
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
An Excellent Day Out on the Khe Sanh - DMZ - Vinh Moc Tunnels Tour

We did the Khe Sanh - DMZ - Vinh Moc Tunnels Tour with Mr Vu in early May 2019. Booking the tour... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Paradise803533
,
Hitchin UK
Read all 169 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Dong Ha
from $38.00
More Info
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
156
7
2
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
156
7
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr vu hamburger his knowledge khe sanh vietnam war military history vinh moc tunnels answer any questions national cemetery background information his passion central highlands both sides these areas historical photos great guy dmz area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 169 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2016 via mobile

Our tour with Mr. Trung was about as good as one could hope for a one-day DMZ tour. He was full of stories and information, but also was able to answer any questions we had with ease. I'm a history lover, but was never really well versed on the specifics of the war. I'm still no expert, but I certainly have a broader understanding of it all, from the the lead up to the war through the long term consequences. Every site was individually unique, and we were able to interact in some way with each (very few "drive-bys"). Top notch, 10/10, one of the best tours you can do in Vietnam.

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank jallenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

Our first time to Vietnam and this area of Central Vietnam. We found this company under tours with good reviews and Mr Vu's company was offering multi-day tours and customised if required. So some back and forth emails and a slight change to one of his 5 day packages we visited Hoi An, Hue, the battlefield areas, DMZ and the one area we wanted included - the caves around Dong Hoi - he fitted into the itinerary They were spectacular and whilst the history of Hoi An and Hue was good to see, we particularly enjoy natural scenery around Dong Hoi.

Whilst it would be nice to have Mr Vu as your guide if you had a particular interest in history of the battlefields and the DMZ, we were not disappointed with Mr Tam (our guide) and Mr Thang (our driver). He may not be as experienced as Mr Vu but we found him sufficiently knowledgeable in all our questions on Vietnam and the history of the various areas we visited.

On our way north Mr Tam called into his office at Dong Ha and we met Mr Vu which was nice.

Mr Tam is a reserved man but we found him engaging and personable and thoroughly enjoyed our time with him. He is an asset to your company Mr Vu.

Mr Thang likewise is a reserved man but a good driver and always happy and keeping us well supplied with water.

The whole trip was made most enjoyable by Mr Tam and Mr Thang - we had no worries as they looked after us the whole time.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2016

We booked a DMZ tour with Mr Vu in December 2015 for March 2016; we were picked up at our hotel in Hue at the appointed time by his driver Mr Tan in a fairly new 4x4. We were then taken to Mr Vu home which doubles as his office in Dong Ha from here the tour starts.

Mr Vu's knowledge of the Vietnam War and politics of the war were exceptional, and his enthusiasm to pass this information on was obvious.

Whilst we stopped to view the Rockpile he found some old sand bags and part of an old Flak Jacket which had been exposed due to current building works, this made his day!! He is clearly a keen collector of military memorabilia.

This tour does contain a lot of driving, as the sites are quite a long way apart, but between sites Mr Vu has many stills and videos on a tablet to explain in even more detail of what you have just seen or are going to see and he is only too willing to answer any questions. At the sites he escorted us around and explained everything and also gave us some free time.

Mr Vu’s English is excellent, the whole day was organised and the tour delivered perfectly.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile

I was staying in Hue with my children and they organised the tour for us.
We were collected and returned to our hotel in Hue and met up with Vu at his home in Dong Ha.

The hospitality & comfort were second to none throughout the day, as was the tour itself!

The countryside around the old DMZ is in itself impressive.

When combined with the detail of both the local/specific historic facts that Vu has on instant recall as well as the overall general perspective of the history of the Vietnam conflicts with both the French and USA, this tour is a "Must Do!" for anyone with more than a passing interest in the Vietnam conflict.

The tour visits the major sites but gives a much broader perspective than you would ever have seeing the western reporting of the first TV war. If like me you got your source information from the BBC reporting the "Five o clock Follies" from the Rex Hotel in Saigon go on this tour.

Thank you Vu.!

Tony J (dad)

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank TonyCountrymans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2016

Vu is definitely the go-to-guy for a tour of the DMZ. I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. From start to finish, it was excellent. We had an action packed day visiting sight after interesting sight, and Vu's knowledge of the locations, events and historical context is really very impressive. He also brought the various places to life with military maps and photos from the time. He has excellent English and is great company.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews