We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Best War History Tour Guide in Vietnam

Mr. Vu is unquestionably the tour authority on Vietnam War history in Vietnam. He's well read, well... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Traveler O
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
An Excellent Day Out on the Khe Sanh - DMZ - Vinh Moc Tunnels Tour

We did the Khe Sanh - DMZ - Vinh Moc Tunnels Tour with Mr Vu in early May 2019. Booking the tour... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Paradise803533
,
Hitchin UK
Read all 169 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Dong Ha
from $38.00
More Info
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
156
7
2
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
156
7
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr vu hamburger his knowledge khe sanh vietnam war military history vinh moc tunnels answer any questions national cemetery background information his passion central highlands both sides these areas historical photos great guy dmz area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 169 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2016

We booked a DMZ tour with Mr Vu in December 2015 for March 2016; we were picked up at our hotel in Hue at the appointed time by his driver Mr Tan in a fairly new 4x4. We were then taken to Mr Vu home which doubles as his office in Dong Ha from here the tour starts.

Mr Vu's knowledge of the Vietnam War and politics of the war were exceptional, and his enthusiasm to pass this information on was obvious.

Whilst we stopped to view the Rockpile he found some old sand bags and part of an old Flak Jacket which had been exposed due to current building works, this made his day!! He is clearly a keen collector of military memorabilia.

This tour does contain a lot of driving, as the sites are quite a long way apart, but between sites Mr Vu has many stills and videos on a tablet to explain in even more detail of what you have just seen or are going to see and he is only too willing to answer any questions. At the sites he escorted us around and explained everything and also gave us some free time.

Mr Vu’s English is excellent, the whole day was organised and the tour delivered perfectly.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile

I was staying in Hue with my children and they organised the tour for us.
We were collected and returned to our hotel in Hue and met up with Vu at his home in Dong Ha.

The hospitality & comfort were second to none throughout the day, as was the tour itself!

The countryside around the old DMZ is in itself impressive.

When combined with the detail of both the local/specific historic facts that Vu has on instant recall as well as the overall general perspective of the history of the Vietnam conflicts with both the French and USA, this tour is a "Must Do!" for anyone with more than a passing interest in the Vietnam conflict.

The tour visits the major sites but gives a much broader perspective than you would ever have seeing the western reporting of the first TV war. If like me you got your source information from the BBC reporting the "Five o clock Follies" from the Rex Hotel in Saigon go on this tour.

Thank you Vu.!

Tony J (dad)

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank TonyCountrymans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2016

Vu is definitely the go-to-guy for a tour of the DMZ. I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. From start to finish, it was excellent. We had an action packed day visiting sight after interesting sight, and Vu's knowledge of the locations, events and historical context is really very impressive. He also brought the various places to life with military maps and photos from the time. He has excellent English and is great company.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2016 via mobile

I have traveled all over the world and have never felt a need to give a review on the Internet before. Mr. Vu was such a great tour guide that I feel it necessary to spread the word in hopes that others will benefit from choosing ANNAM Tours and allowing Mr. Vu to spread his knowledge of the Vietnam War. He was so well prepared and knew an amazing amount of information, dates, places etc.
If you are interested in the Vietnam War, do yourself a favor and book a tour with Mr. Vu.
He was also helpful throughout my trip in other parts of Vietnam in helping me book private cars from place to place. The drivers always arrived on time and had a clean car.
Thank you Mr. Vu.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank JasonB3897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2016

Mr. Vu arranged a personal tour for me that included all of the places my dad was stationed, during the Vietnam War. Mr. Vu is very personable and knowledgeable. He shares photos of how the places used to look like. He also does not rush you and allows you plenty of time to take photos. He even offers to be your photographer. His drivers are on time and responsible. I would highly recommend him as a tour guide.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank m f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews