We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensational!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annam Tour - Day Tours

Annam Tour - Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Dong Ha
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
sydney
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We do not generally book 'tours' when we travel but wanted to visit the DMZ. After reading the many reviews on this tour it was quite obvious this was the one to do. We were picked up from our Hue hotel and driven to Dong Ha where we met Mr Vu at his office before heading off along Route 9 to Firebase Elliot and Khe Sanh.
Vu is a passionate historian and has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the DMZ and the Vietnam/American War and answered our innumerable questions in detail and in perfect English. His Ipad is also chock full of fantastic photos & maps which further helped illustrate what we were seeing.
Back to Dong Ha for a wonderful (and very cheap) lunch before heading to the 17th parallel and then the Vinh Moc tunnels.
It was a long day but one I'd highly recommend to anyone with an interest in this turbulent time in history. The $120 fee was outstanding value for money.
Back at his office, we were fortunate enough to meet two of Mr Vu's other guides, Mr Vinh & Mr Tam - both delightful men with good English.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    7
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Mr Vu's tours are excellent , we did ours yesterday to Vinh Moc tunnels - Mr Vu majored in history and his knowledge is outstanding with perfect English . Thank you Vu. Derek , Shannon and Lawson xx

Helpful?
1 Thank liebens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service, an amazing day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Mr Vu organised a full day DMZ tour for us with minimal notice. We were picked up on time by his lovely driver from our hotel in Hue and we drove to Dong Ha to meet with Mr Vu. The driver has lots of good knowledge also and he filled us in on many details of local history and local life whilst we drove. Mr Vu is polite, well spoke and has amazing knowledge of the area. He showed us many important locations from the American War and drew them together to form the larger picture.
We particularly enjoyed the Vin Moc tunnels, and he was very encouraging with myself as I am not keen on enclosed spaces.
Be prepared for a long day, inevitable given the distances between locations.
A truly great experience, can not recomment Mr Vu enough.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LSim88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful, informative tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful day with Mr Vu who speaks very good English and was a pleasure to converse with. He has a degree in history and specialises in military history and has a passion for the subject which is evident. We went on the DMZ tour from Hue and it was a long day but excellent value as we saw lots of interesting sites and he showed us some of his fabulous collection of photos. This is a tour that we can highly recommend for those interested in this subject.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank helenb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changwon, South Korea
1 review
“Full Day Your to DMZ, Khe San, HCMT, and Tunnels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Before coming to Vietnam, my friends and I wanted to do a tour of this part of the county...I did a lot of research and realized that Annam Tours was the best way to go. We all had a lot of interest in the war and lots of questions about French colonization and Japanese occupation...Mr Vu knew it all. He's a true historian with extremely detailed knowledge. He also shows pictures on his i-Pad of what the sites looked like before which helped us better visualize the battles/sites.
Mr. Vu, thank you for a great day, the time spent with you was the highlight on my month on the road!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelinman83567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annam Tour - Day Tours also viewed

Dong Ha, Quang Tri Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Dong Ha, Quang Tri Province
Dong Ha, Quang Tri Province
 

Been to Annam Tour - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing