We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth checking out” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inthira Thakhek

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Inthira Thakhek
Ranked #3 of 17 Khammouane B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
384 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Worth checking out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

This is my second time here. Seeing as I have returned it must be pretty good which it is. Clean, friendly and a half decent location. Get a room towards the back otherwise the kitchen noise might keep you awake. The mozzies are pretty bad here so be careful. Food is just ok. Rooms are small but well laid out. Beds are comfortable given what Laos and Thailand hotel beds are usually like! I paid $26 and left quite happy. Free wifi is at a fairly decent speed. Check out the photos that I uploaded.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeMock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Inthira Thakhek, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your positive review and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you also for posting some photos as well.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends in the not too distant future.
Regards,
Thavone,
General Manager
Inthira Thakhek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    88
    45
    20
    7
See reviews for
24
115
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We had a lovely room with a balcony facing the street of sleepy Thakhek for $29 a night which included a decent breakfastt. Good comfy bed and great shower. The hotel has a french influence and is quite sylish. A good choice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janinelau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerzens, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

We had a great stay in Inthira Thakek. The people are very nice and helpful, the rooms are nice and clean and the kitchen is great.
We really can recommend to stay in Inthira hotel in Thakek!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akbarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

It was very great hotel that I stayed in Lao PDR. Nice decoration, clean room, best service. Front guys are very helpful and friendly. There is a famous restaurant on the 1st floor which also serving good breakfast and you can have a best dinner in the town. I would recommend my friend and others who will go to Thakhek to stay here. If possible, I will go to stay at this hotel (if they can give me a special discount) :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperNoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijk bij Duurstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

It was a surprise to find such a pleasant hotel in the middle of sleepy Thakek. The hotel is centrally located with a nice open restaurant and verandah where you can eat or enjoy a drink whilst watching the street bustle. Leaning forward you can catch a glimpse of the Mekong.
The food at the Inthira is absolutely delicious. Even though we were there in low-season, the restaurant was full most evenings. It is more expensive than neighbouring restaurants but definitely worth it. The staff was very friendly. We sometimes had problems communicating, but these mostly gave rise to hilarious situations and were always solved with a smile. A great place to relax and enjoy Laos, and in low-season affordable. The hotel is small, but has a lot of facilities; restaurant, bar, green discovery agent for trips, and "business-centre", 4 computers with wireless internet, free access for guests - unfortunately during our stay, without keyboards! No worries, next door is an internet café.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimosa95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

It is a good location. The mountains arounf thakhek is very beautyfull!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zapatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagnolet, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

Good room with all the facilities you expect in a 4 stars hotel. WiFi is OK (it's good for surfing on the internet) and the room service is very kind.

If you stay in Thakhek this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maitrenem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khammouane
0.9 mi away
Fortune Viewkong
Fortune Viewkong
#3 of 3 in Nakhon Phanom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fortune River View Hotel Nakhon Phanom
1.5 mi away
The River Hotel
The River Hotel
#1 of 3 in Nakhon Phanom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mekong Hotel
Mekong Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thakhek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Bouton D'or Boutique Hotel
Le Bouton D'or Boutique Hotel
#1 of 28 in Khammouane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chantha House
Chantha House
#1 of 17 in Khammouane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inthira Thakhek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inthira Thakhek

Property: Inthira Thakhek
Address: No 079, Unit 4, Anou Road | Thakhek, Khammouane 2351124, Laos
Location: Laos > Khammouane Province > Khammouane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Khammouane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inthira Thakhek 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely renovated colonial building hotel located in the very centre of Thakhek and a 1 minute walk to the Mekong river. The hotel caters to all accommodation needs and houses a fantastic open area kitchen that is very popular with the locals and tourists alike. The hotel has been designed with a contemporary feel and has all the necessary luxuries associated with Inthira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Inthira Thakhek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inthira Thakhek Laos/Khammouane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing