We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town”
Review of Inthira Thakhek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inthira Thakhek
Ranked #3 of 19 Khammouane B&B and Inns
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place in town”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great spacious, traditionally decorated, well equipped rooms with balconies. Loads of hot water big comfortable beds. No complaints from us! The restaurant downstairs with it's clean open kitchen was an added bonus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank artychoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    92
    46
    22
    7
See reviews for
26
118
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
835 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Everywhere in the hotel only western guest and lao workers.
Breakfast and wifi are included.
Room is OK, but small, with a small window and inside a shower and a toilet, no real bathroom. Only for 1 night.
Everything is going down! we could not pay by credit card, because the machine did not work; in the evening there was already a short of fruit, and so the next morning they did not buy again fruit; the building is very, very noisy; toiletseat is falling, ...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouenStephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Khammouane hotels

Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

During a trip through southeast Asia we arrived at Thakhek. The facilities and rooms are beyond pleasing, the place is built amazing and the rooms are squeaky clean! The price is a bit high, not for the place but for Thakhek. The only downfall in our opinion was the staff, didn't know English too much and weren't very helpful. Not always necessary, yet when you pay for a hotel in these areas you might expect better..

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edokon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

If you really must go to Thakhek - and honestly the town has absolutely nothing going for it - this is probably the best place to stay. The hotel itself is fine. Rooms are good - big, comfy bed, power shower, air con and good wi Fi. The restaurant serves quite acceptable Western (real chips!) and Asian food from the clean open-plan kitchen. Staff must have reading previous negative reviews as they were positively chirpy. The only drawback was the noise. It was horrendous. Our room was at the front and in addition to the chatter and clatter coming up from the restaurant there was constant traffic outside. After the hotel had quietened down there were motorbikes revving up outside until all hours and at 4am the drum at the temple down the road got going. It was also National Day and at 5am the loudspeaker across the road started up with martial music and rousing Communist speeches. We needed a rest after our stay!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Inthira is centrally located, has a very friendly staff and provides an excellent atmosphere from which to enjoy Thakek. The rooms are stylishly appointed and the beds were just right for firmness. I have stayed here three times and every time has been a good experience. They are connected to several travel guides and are well informed on the region. I would recommend the Inthira to anyone who wants a comfortable place from which to explore Thakek and the Khamoune province!

Room Tip: The stairs are steep for the second floor. I recommend the back rooms on the first floor, 103 and 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 95MOI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
988 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Understanding that 4 stars is relative to where you are at...meaning 4 stars in Thakhek does not come close to 4 stars in Bangkok. I found this hotel to be very good for the location. The room was clean and very comfortable. I had both breakfast and dinner here and the food very good as well. I found the service to be friendly and attentive. Unless you are an early riser or a sound sleeper I would recommend an upper level room. I was on the lower level and the noise from the kitchen getting ready for breakfast starts pretty early. Fortunately I was already awake.

Room Tip: Get an upper level room unless you are a sound or late sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubfaninco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We actually went to the 'top choice' in lonely planet first and paid 110,000kip for the worst room in history (we have been travelling for a long time and we don't mind a bad room) within ten mins we got a refund and shot over to inthira and were welcomed by a really friendly guy immediately got a gorgeous glass of homemade lemon juice checked straight in (a little bit on the expensive side to be honest, due to thakek not really being a massive city or anything??) We paid 204600kip for a lovely twin room with fancy ensuite area, tons of towels, cable TV, wifi, ree brekki, really comfy beds, fan, aircon, amazing shower (best one we've ever had...even our own at home!!) Everything really....and breakfast is big for Laos standards especially the fruit salad but small for western standards (just saying this cos of small brekki reviews others have left)

To be honest the only two complaints (and not really complaints) are that its pricey for the area and we stayed in the closest room to the entrance/kitchen/restaurant and around 10am (normally u would be out at this time to be fair) there is a REALLY loud machine whirring noise that goes on for agesss. Again...not a problem unless your a complete ar** and complain about snotty things. :-)
9/10 very good :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonTally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khammouane
0.9 mi away
Fortune Viewkong
Fortune Viewkong
#3 of 3 in Nakhon Phanom
15 reviews
1.5 mi away
The River Hotel
The River Hotel
#1 of 3 in Nakhon Phanom
96 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fortune River View Hotel Nakhon Phanom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riveria Hotel
Riveria Hotel
#1 of 6 in Khammouane
39 reviews
1.4 mi away
777 Hometel
777 Hometel
#1 of 21 in Nakhon Phanom
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Bouton D'or Boutique Hotel
Le Bouton D'or Boutique Hotel
#2 of 29 in Khammouane
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inthira Thakhek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inthira Thakhek

Property: Inthira Thakhek
Address: No 079, Unit 4, Anou Road | Thakhek, Khammouane 2351124, Laos
Location: Laos > Khammouane Province > Khammouane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Khammouane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inthira Thakhek 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely renovated colonial building hotel located in the very centre of Thakhek and a 1 minute walk to the Mekong river. The hotel caters to all accommodation needs and houses a fantastic open area kitchen that is very popular with the locals and tourists alike. The hotel has been designed with a contemporary feel and has all the necessary luxuries associated with Inthira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inthira Thakhek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inthira Thakhek Laos/Khammouane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing