We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms and food, unfriendly staff”
Review of Inthira Thakhek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inthira Thakhek
Ranked #3 of 18 Khammouane B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This place was a wonderful break from staying in backpacker dorms for weeks.
Lovely comfortable beds in twin room, cable tv, air con, good food at the restaurant.
The staff however are quite unfriendly and make you feel like you're inconveniencing them every time you approach them or order food.
All in all a lovely place to sleep at a decent price!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wander1uster_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 221 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is the best one in town. However, service can be very patchy and the rooms, though nicely restaured, are not that pleasant. Maintenance is on the slow side, even for Laos. Too expensive for what it is, this place does not live up to its reputation. The travel agency on the premises can be helpful... but sometimes misleading.

Room Tip: Turn down the "deluxe" rooms on the main street. Way too busy and noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFLR187198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We loved Inthira hotel at first sight and enjoyed our stay. Everything was made to let us appreciate every moment. The hotel doesn't offer family rooms but gave us discount on the 2 doubles we rented. The rooms are charming, well-decorated, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is included and very good, you have a choice of Asian or western meals. I included more details on my review in http://howtotraveltheworldwithchildren.blogspot.be/2013/07/a-touch-of-luxury-inthira-hotel-takhek.html

The hotel is very and the surroundings of Takhek have great sites for kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful wooden room in a restored French colonial building. Lovely furnishings and very comfy bed. Friendly helpful staff. Great open kitchen, tasty food. The only downside was the traffic noise. We had one of the front rooms with a balcony, nothing earplugs didn't help with. Very central.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kiwibikerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in Thakhek. We booked through Agoda and got a nice clean twin room for about £13. We stayed two nights.

The room was lovely, very clean and modern. Brilliant shower and good wifi.

The restaurant was expensive but ok.

What lets the place down is the staff and I note it's been said on a couple of reviews. Usually I'm not too bothered about service, but here it seemed like the front desk staff just didn't want to help and that you were inconveniencing them even by checking in. Don't expect help with onward travel. The exception was the young lady behind the bar who helped extend our stay.

Not much to do in town at all. If you are stopping for onward travel to Ban Nahim/kong lo- note that the only bus out is very early so you will need to get up early (if not you will find yourself spending another night in Thakhek)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Probably the best hotel we made in Laos. Charming wooden room in a restored French colonial house. Perfectly located a right center of city. Professional and nice staff, very good restaurant. Can organize transfer to Vientiane by bus. 35 dollars for room with AC and TV, maybe a little overrated for this small city but it was a kind of relief to find a clean and charming room after some bad experiences in champasak and savannakhet.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Honestly I cannot understand the reviews about unfriendly staff. I have stayed in over 20 hotels along the Mekong between Vientiane and Pakse and I am 99.9 % sure that this hotel is the best option concerning value for money but also by absolute standards. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the welcome drinks etc. were offered promptly. I made a mistake in my booking and had a reservation for a day later. This was absolutely no problem and the staff just booked me into two separate rooms for two nights. No worries since this was my mistake, I was glad we even got a room.

The food is very good and reasonably prices. Most importantly for us: there was a wide range of tasty vegetarian options.

The rooms themselves are very stylish and the finish is of superb quality for Laos standards. Personally I liked the standard room better than the superior from a design point of view although the latter was more spacious, had a balcony and windows to the outside (the former only had a window to the stair well). The rooms come with powerful tropical showers with toilet and shower tucked away in separate cabins which I loved. They are not too big though.

The breakfast was good too although probably on the small side (especially the baguette). If you walk 20 m across the intersection there is a baguette lady so if you're still hungry go there. I can just repeat: this is your best stay between Pakse and Vientiane and if you did not stay there you missed something hotel wise on that stretch. The options in Pakse, Savanakhet, and Paksan (and the other options in Thakhek) are far behind this hotel...

Room Tip: Standard is more stylish but smaller maybe now window. Superior has windows and ours had a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khammouane
0.9 mi away
Fortune Viewkong
Fortune Viewkong
#3 of 3 in Nakhon Phanom
17 reviews
1.5 mi away
The River Hotel
The River Hotel
#1 of 3 in Nakhon Phanom
103 reviews
0 mi away
Mekong Hotel
Mekong Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thakhek
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fortune River View Hotel Nakhon Phanom
0 mi away
Riveria Hotel
Riveria Hotel
#1 of 5 in Khammouane
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Bouton D'or Boutique Hotel
Le Bouton D'or Boutique Hotel
#3 of 29 in Khammouane
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inthira Thakhek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inthira Thakhek

Address: No 079, Unit 4, Anou Road | Thakhek, Khammouane 2351124, Laos
Location: Laos > Khammouane Province > Khammouane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Khammouane
Price Range: $22 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inthira Thakhek 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely renovated colonial building hotel located in the very centre of Thakhek and a 1 minute walk to the Mekong river. The hotel caters to all accommodation needs and houses a fantastic open area kitchen that is very popular with the locals and tourists alike. The hotel has been designed with a contemporary feel and has all the necessary luxuries associated with Inthira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Inthira Thakhek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inthira Thakhek Laos/Khammouane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing