We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, great location.”
Review of Riveria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riveria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khammouane
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Decent, great location.”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We arrived at the hotel without a reservation and initially the frontdesk staff weren't overly welcoming, but they 'warmed to us' after a while :), and consequently became friendly and helpful.
The room was what was to be expected for this type of hotel: decent, ok size, standard bathroom, clean, comfortable, A/C. The whole hotel looked immaculate.
Most rooms have river views and some have balconies.
Good wifi in the room and common areas.
This is certainly the 'flashest' hotel in town and hopefully they can keep it up (maintenance will have to kick in though.... all was ok with our room but the tell-tale signs were becoming visible).
Slightly overpriced maybe.
Breakfast buffet selection was good.
Off street parking.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
16
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is probably the best hotel in Thakhek. At USD 65 per night it's reasonably priced, perhaps a tad expensive, but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The only downside, particularly if you're staying over the weekend, is the noise coming from the street side vendors stalls, along the riverfront, created by the locals as they party into small hours of the morning. I had to sleep with ear plugs.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the river front wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megaworldasia360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Yes, the hotel's position at the Mekong is o.k. I spent 4 days there in late October 2011 (28 Oct -1 Nov). But in comparison to the high price of 60 dollars per night for a simple room, the service performance was very low, bordering the unacceptable. In addition, the management violated contractual agreements concluded with me: Upon arrival I had cut my stay short one day (4 days in advance), from 5 to 4 nights. The female hotel owner/manager had agreed that there would be no cancellation fee (which Riveria Hotel usually charges for cancellations less than 7 days in advance) as I had frequented this hotel a couple of times before and because I argued that 7 days is an unusally long period for a hotel cancellation policy. After my return to Germany I found out that she had charged me for the cancelled day anyhow.
The unaceptable service performance started on Day 1 with check-in when hotel staff was unable to cope with a conference that took place at the same time: I had to carry my suitcase into the lobby and, after registration, to my room by myself. The room was small and noisy as it faced a buys night market street with boom boxes blaring beyond midnight. The bathroom had definitely seen better days, with mold collecting in the bathtub curves.
Breakfast the next morning at 7:45, Day 2, was coffee and omelette, no choice of bread, cheese or jam because - according to hotel staff "conference participants had eaten up the rest".
Later that day, water and coffee and fresh towels were missing in the room. House keeping didn't speak English and it took Reception almost an hour to provide the service. The same happened when I ordered food from the room service on Day 3.
In the evening, a group of 8-12 female and transvestite sex workers from Thailand occupied rooms on my floor, and there was a lot of shouting and banging on doors in the hallway, and noise from adjacent rooms. A pimp even knocked on my door and offered services at a minimum of US$ 500 which I declined.
This type of very bad service lasted until the very end: When checking out, the hotel was unable to print an invoice due to "problems with the printer". This is why I was not able to check my bill. As mentioned before, I later found out that the hotel had charged me for a cancelled day. Even though I communicated with the hotel and Booking.com a couple of times, the hotel and booking.com refused to pay back the charges for the cancelled day.

All in all, I will definitely not book Riveria Hotel any more. Due to missing support and goodwill from Booking.com I will also not do any business with this hotel reservation portal any more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACT4u2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Khammouane hotels

Vientiane, Laos
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

A pleasant surprise along the Mekong River in Thakek. Nicely appointed rooms with great view of the river from the balcony. Polite staff who spoke English and a breakfast spread worthy of a hotel of this calibre. Would love to return for another visit.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chunkysaurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights and never had any major problems (our A/C broke one night, but they just moved us to another room. The staff was friendly, the service was good and the rooms were clean. The view of the Meekong was fantastic. And the view of Thahkek from the hallway was equally stunning. One tip, make sure you write down what you are paying for in kip when you eat at the restaraunt. Anything charged to the room they list in US dollars and then charge you a horrible conversion rate to kip. I was actually kind of peeved about this on check out. To be honest the accommodation options in Thakhek are fairly limited and this hotel was one of the top options in the area. At $50 a night it was a bit overpriced compared to other options like the Ithira.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed 1 night on 13 Aug 13. Arrived at 4.30 pm after a drive from Vientiane, and were shown to our room (room 5513) with no problems. On entry the room was like an oven – it was just a room, on the small side, nothing special – great view of the Mekong River 100 metres away. The balcony was useless. The air conditioner had little effect and we had to leave the room for the bar/foyer area, as soon as we could, to cool down. The bar staff were not that friendly, had poor English and were grossly undertrained. Ordering drinks was not easy. As a result we decided to take a tuk-tuk on a 7 kilometre ride around town, great value. On our return we went for dinner in the hotel dining room – we were the only people there. After being seated it was explained that the air conditioners on that side of the room did not work so we were repositioned to the other side. As the staff were the ones from the bar area ordering meals was difficult. We got thru our starter and main and were looking to order dessert. Unfortunately for us about 4 or 5 loud males (obviously drunk and with what appeared to be ladies of the night) arrived and received all of the staffs attention. As a result we went without our dessert. Breakfast was from a limited menu, acceptable and served in short time – the staff were far different from the night before.

The hotel needs a refurbishment, the air conditioners need to be overhauled and the staff needs more training.

What a let down from our stay at the Green Park Boutique Hotel in Vientiane. We would not recommend this hotel, however it is purported to be the best in town. Rating 5 out of 10.

Room Tip: If you must stay at the property, make sure the air conditioner works
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Riveria in Thakhek overnight for work. It is a reasonable hotel having stayed here a couple of years ago on a road lay over. It's centrally located with majestic views of the mighty Mekong however the rooms are old and the decor looks a bit cheap. But most importantly, it feels pretty clean. The rooms and bathroom are generously sized and have all your creature comforts - hot water, TV, A/C, hairdryer and ammenities.

It was an enjoyable stay with friendly staff and efficient checking in process (checked in at 12pm instead of 2pm) but with the price that I'm paying 58 USD, I feel there's not really a lot of value and I'm sure I can stay equally as comfortable for a lot less in the area. The hotel does have a gym (didn't go) and also a restaurant bar in the lobby which from a couple of years back was pretty decent (and reasonably priced food for a hotel).

Overall, comfortable stay but on the expensive side.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youers_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khammouane hotels
0.0 mi away
Inthira Thakhek
Inthira Thakhek
#3 of 19 in Khammouane
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Bouton D'or Boutique Hotel
Le Bouton D'or Boutique Hotel
#2 of 29 in Khammouane
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chantha House
Chantha House
#1 of 19 in Khammouane
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Thakhek
Villa Thakhek
#4 of 29 in Khammouane
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanhak Guest House
Sanhak Guest House
#3 of 29 in Khammouane
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sabaidee Donkhong
#5 of 19 in Khammouane
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riveria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riveria Hotel

Property: Riveria Hotel
Address: Sethathirath Rd., Nabo Village | Thakhek City, Khammouane, Laos
Location: Laos > Khammouane Province > Khammouane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khammouane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riveria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riveria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riveria Hotel Laos/Khammouane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing