We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fleeced in Thakhek”

Southida Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khammouane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southida Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Khammouane
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My partner and I just stayed two nights at the Southida Guesthouse in Tha Kek and I must say the place left a rather bad taste in my mouth. While the rooms are decently clean and the amenities are there (wifi, hot water, and air con) the owner insisted that we pay him for three nights instead of two. He had gotten us to pay for the first night when we checked in and again on the second day when we told him we’d stay another night. Then when we were about to hop into a tuk tuk to the bus station he told us we hadn’t paid for the previous night (always get a receipt being the lesson for us I suppose). Certainly mistakes happen, but I don’t believe that was the case. I don’t recommend staying there unless you enjoy being ripped off.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danica414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Southida Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 20 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

To get here head toward the centre of town and the fountain (which is usually turned off), turn right at reaching this junction and go past the green discovery offices and Inthira hotel, I believe its the 1st or 2nd left turning about 100m up the road - you should be able to see a sign. Room rates as of Sep 2011 were 80-120.000kip for ensuites with AC and TV, more expensive rooms are larger and have fridges. The owner speaks some english.

Its clean and well apointed, they have individual lockers for each room behind the reception desk for valuables provide towels and its close to the town centre and a few westernised eateries (Sabaidee Cafe - opposite the Inthira - does great breakfasts but appauling coffee). They have wi-fi in the rooms but you need to restart it every 10 minutes and many of the rooms are chock full of mozzies so bring a plug-in insecticide. Check the AC in your room, mine gave me a terrible cough but then the owner had no problem with me changing rooms.

All in all a very average hotel for the price and nothing special - that said its in my oppinion one of the only centraly located and 'cheapie' options in town as rates at the opposite Inthira hotel can be heavy.

Room Tip: Check the AC in rooms, if your sneezing/coughing ater 30 mins change rooms
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteacrosschina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Stayed here after riding 400km on a small motorbike and needed a place for a hot shower and restfull sleep - it fitted the bill. There are maybe 20-30 guesthouses in Thakhek and there will be more when the new bridge to Thailand is complete, but this is a bargain - 80000(USD10) for a big room with AC and hot shower and 120000 (USD13) for a huge room - more of a suite.
Clean sheets, cold fridge, balcony, hot showers. All good.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluecramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We choose this hotel because of the balconies and were not disappointed. We took a VIP room for 120.000 KIP, which was a bargain compared to what we paid in Vientaine. The room was huge with a huge bed, a table, a writing desk, TV, hot-shower bathroom and 2 balconies. The guy in the lobby was helpfull and they had a fridge full of drinks for sale (nice for Beerlao in the evening). Apparently there is a restaurant too, which we did not try.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angi-MUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank BenCana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Chris0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank camillefgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khammouane hotels
0.0 mi away
Inthira Thakhek
Inthira Thakhek
#3 of 19 in Khammouane
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Bouton D'or Boutique Hotel
Le Bouton D'or Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Khammouane
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riveria Hotel
Riveria Hotel
#1 of 6 in Khammouane
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanhak Guest House
Sanhak Guest House
#3 of 29 in Khammouane
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Thakhek
Villa Thakhek
#4 of 29 in Khammouane
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sabaidee Donkhong
#5 of 19 in Khammouane
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southida Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southida Guesthouse

Address: Kouvoravong, Ban Nabo,Thakhek, Khammouane, Laos
Location: Laos > Khammouane Province > Khammouane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Khammouane
Number of rooms: 174
Also Known As:
Southida Guesthouse Laos/Khammouane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing