We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Savannakhet”
Review of Cafe Chai Dee

Cafe Chai Dee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Japanese, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: Cafe Chai Dee is International and Japanese Food Cafe & Restaurant in Savannakhet, Laos. English, Lao and Japanese AVAILABLE. Free high speed WiFi
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best place in Savannakhet”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

There's not a huge range of cafes in Savannakhet and this is the only one we found with a real traveller vibe. Every backpacker in the whole town was there, drinking tea and reading. There's a book exchange, chocolate cake and I bought a bottle opener made of unexploded ordinances. The owner seemed laid back and friendly and the bathroom was Western and clean.

Helpful?
Thank gettinthere4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    41
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chai Dee - no false advertising!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

The name of this cafe - Chai dee - kind hearted people, is not wrong. The staff are excellent, helpful and very friendly. Food is great. Please try the the Chai tea (even though it's Indian tea haha) We will be coming back again. Have been here 3 times already. :) (Friday's are closed)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KeanuV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Perfect Chill Out Place”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is the perfect place to chill out for an hour or two; the atmosphere is really laid back, the seating is comfy and the food is absolutely delicious.
The owner is really friendly (without being pushy) and there's loads of things to keep everyone entertained i.e. novels, travel books, kids books.
I'd recommend the Japanese set menus as really good value for money, and the fruit shakes as mentioned are delicious.
It's a nice place for kids too, due to the books on offer and the welcoming environment.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LS6JAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Spot in SLeepy Savannakhet”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We first stopped here for a delicious shake then came back later a meal. Both of which were delicious. But the highlight was the collection of kids' picture books which my 8-year olds devoured, only having had kindles since we set off travelling. A lovely spot to stop off especially with ids.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank voidstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Fresh Food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I were in Savannakhet and seeking out some good, fresh food and luckily found Chai Dee. Run by a young Japanese guy it offers fresh salads, vegetarian food, Japanese-style meals and great fruit shakes and lassis in a relaxed setting. It was just what we needed! Japanese tune salad, tonkatsu pork and rice and fresh fruit drinks. Highly recommended if you are in Savannakhet!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClemenceandGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Chai Dee also viewed

Savannakhet, Savannakhet Province
Savannakhet, Savannakhet Province
 
Savannakhet, Savannakhet Province
Savannakhet, Savannakhet Province
 

Been to Cafe Chai Dee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing