We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
59
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews incredible experience private beach wonderful food national park amazing hosts white sandy beach beautiful place pacific coast spent days fish paradise on earth melissa flow bird butterflies destination bay
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 60 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

We just spent 3 days in this beautiful place and it wasn't nearly enough! Everything was just amazing! Nature, untouched and in all its splendor! The whales, PNN Utria, hikes through pristine rainforest, swimming in waterfalls! Divine! The private cabin is a must - so comfortable with magnificent views and Two hammocks to enjoy! The hosts were so wonderful! They went out of their way to attend to our very need, treated us like family and the food was simply delicious!! And plentiful! We have traveled to about 50 plus countries, have traveled all over Colombia in the 5 years we have been living here and Morromico is up there as an all time favorite! There is no internet here which was a wonderful gift to give ourselves as individuals and as a couple! We leave completely relaxed and refreshed! Thank you for everything!!!!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank NatalieM489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Myself, my boyfriend and his brother visited Morromico at end of June. I was quite nervous about travelling there as it is super remote and I had been in hospital the previous day with a particularly nasty tummy bug. Nevertheless, we were greeted at Nuqui airport by Sebastian, the owner's son. He took us by boat to Morromico bay. When we turned around the corner of the bay, we instantly knew we were in for a treat - soft sand, jungle as far as the eye can see and a greeting from Gloria and her 3 dogs (including a 2 month old puppy!). We were immediately welcomed in and invited for lunch which consisted of fresh fish,coconut rice, salad and some fried plantain. Absolutely delicious! We spent the rest of the day playing in the waves and travelling to a waterfall hidden in the jungle (aaaahhhh).

Everybody slept well. Be wary that there are LOTS of insects here but that's just part of the experience, we saw giant moths/butterflies/crickets. You just have to embrace it! I would suggest wearing some good mosquito repellent as there were quite a few around and we trapped one in our mosquito net and woke up with a few pesky bites (our fault). Anyway, day 2, Sebastian took us to the national park around the corner. It was beautiful and unspoilt. It was clear the park staff wanted it to remain that way. We had a swim/snorkel in the lake followed by a fabulous picnic that Morromico prepared for us earlier. Yum! We then returned to Morromico for a spot of fishing.
We were sad to leave the next morning, Gloria and Sebastian were so friendly and honest, they made the stay particularly enjoyable. I hope they receive lots more business so they can show off the beautiful place in which they live.

Tips
1) the place is very animal friendly (3 dogs and a cat) which I loved but some people may not.

2) Again, wear 50% DEET repellent spray

3) Maybe bring some beach shoes as there's a lot of on land/in sea overlap

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank JuliaW95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2016

The best destination in Colombia by far, probably the best in South America and up there with my all time favourite places.
Javi and family are wonderful hosts. The food is all fresh , cooked to perfection, not over complicated. The accommodation is simple but perfectly in keeping with the setting.
If you want a discrete and utterly secluded location, stunning beach, warm ocean, bracing jungle waterfalls to cool down and treks to keep you active. Then this is it.
Thank you guys for a wonderful time. Getting there was part of the fun , leaving was tough !

Room tip: The separate house is sublime.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2015

We stayed at Morromico for four nights in November 2015. Overall we had an excellent experience and a great time. We made our plans very last minute and Morromico really went above and beyond by helping us put the trip together by helping find flights and otherwise assisting with travel logistics. Once we got to Nuqui everything went smoothly and we were very well taken care of.

We stayed in a simple, open air room in the main building that was clean and well maintained. Everything overlooks a black-sand beach and is surrounded by tropical forest. You can always swim in the ocean (where the water was pleasantly warm) or in the natural pools of the many streams that surround the property. There are hammocks you can relax in when not hiking or swimming. The food was always excellent and very fresh. They typically served four or five different types of food per meal; typically coconut rice (which was always delicious), fish, salad and one or two other side dishes. Other proteins were available for people who didn't like fish which was great (though the fish was always extremely fresh and delicious). Javier and the rest of his family really go above and beyond to make sure that their guests are having an enjoyable experience. All of the staff are also excellent and very friendly/helpful.

We were especially interested in viewing wildlife and so we did several hikes along a few different trails. When we did guided hikes, the guide was excellent at spotting wildlife and we saw a variety of different animals including monkeys, birds, reptiles and amphibians. The forest and beaches around Morromico are beautiful and extremely pristine. I'd recommend this place to anybody who enjoys the outdoors and enjoys being off of the beaten tracks.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2015

This was the highlight of a holiday of a lifetime - that is how good it was. I cannot quite put into words how amazing Morromico is. The fact that tripadvisor only allows me to give 5 stars doesn't do this place justice.
The view is unbelievable and we saw dolphins just on the trip from airport! Javier the friendliest and best host ever - he arranged a magical trip to the nearby national park.
Paisa did the poison dart frog trip with us and was a mine of local knowledge on the jungle. We even saw monkeys right on the beach!
Melissa helped organise all the flights for us (highly recommended that you do this as the system is quite difficult) and even came to the airport in Medellin to ensure we got off ok.
If you are looking to go to the pacific coast look no further. There aren't even mosquitoes!
Couple of tips - a torch and dry bag are useful. There is no wifi or anything so make sure you have bought books and prepare to relax completely.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews